We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best way to start a holiday. ”
Review of The Fairview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fairview
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Rooms very nice. High quality of service & staff. Absolutely nice Breakfast caters for all your dietary requirements. Full marks. We are delighted to recommend this venue. It is listed as a 4 star guest house and is by far should be a hotel. First Class.
Thank you all.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Martinangela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Dear . Martinangela T
Thank you so much for sharing your experience of the Fairview. We greatly appreciate all guest reviews..We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.and that every thing was to your satisfaction.We hope to have you back as a guest in the near future.

Kind Regards

Jim O'Neill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 1,513 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

Having stayed at the Fairview for 3 nights we really didn't want to leave! It has a lovely unique feel and the staff are wonderful! Especially Les, who is so welcoming and professional with a great sense of humour!! It is listed as a guest house but is better by far than a lot of hotels I've stayed at! The whole place is immaculate and decorated and furnished to a very high standard. There is a great breakfast choice but recommend the full Irish of course!! The location is perfect too! Can't wait to go back! Very Highly recommended and great value!

Room Tip: We had a superior room which was very comfortable family rooms were great too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Mary M

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review on
tripadvisor. We passed on your kind comments to Les.
You can be sure of a warm welcome the next time you
decide to stay at the Fairview.

Kind regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The place was great, Very comfortable and spacious room-we had the Jr. Suite, great Location for shopping and pubs. Hotel manager helped arrange our Ring of Kerry tour. Breakfast was good. Perfect place, will stay there again next time.

Room Tip: JR. Suite was very roomy for the little bit extra $$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Sarah M

Thank you for deciding to stay at The Fairview And posting such a positive review on
tripadvisor. All tours can be prebooked at hotel reception and a courtesy pick up
service is provided.
Hope to welcome you back some time in the future

Kind regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Killarney is very touristy and crowded, especially during the summer. It will take you 30 minutes to travel 1 mile when you get in town. However, the Fairview is centrally located and good for exploring the city and other tourist sites. Check in is lengthy during the summer. They were overbooked in July 2013 and offered me an upgrade for two executive rooms for my family for only $20 per room. I didn't have to take it, but it was worth it. Don't expect Ritz Carlton amenities, but it was very clean and charming. My daughter and Niece especially loved it. There is no parking at the hotel, but there is parking (for free) only a 1 minute walk away.

My one huge recommendation, but you have to have a car and be willing to give up a whole day, is to take a boat trip to Skellig Michael - an island that takes about two hours to get to by boat. To get to the boat takes about an 1 1/2 hour drive. The island is a World Heritage site that includes the ruins of an ancient monastic village, but also allows you to get up close to some rare sea birds. The highlight are the Puffins (only in season from early to late summer). Look them up online. You can get within inches. Fun, fun, fun! But you have to have fortitude. No bathrooms on the island. If you are prone to seasickness then you will get sick. We used Skellig tours which was a Father and teenage son with 3 dogs and ten passengers. A once in a lifetime experience. My poor niece who has not been on a boat was miserable on the way to the island, but she said it was the best thing she ever did.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMJVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear SMJVirginia

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of The Fairview on Tripadvisor.
As you stated the fairview is one of the most centrally located guesthouses
in Killarney.Close to all the shops ,pubs ,restaurants.and nite clubs.We are
delighted that ye enjoyed skellig Michael so much. We hope to welcome you
back to the Fairview some time in the future

Kind regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We staying at the Fairwiew 2 nights and I had my best rest.
Place was immaculate, lovely rooms, service 1st class.
I could not praise the place enough.
There is no doubt that if I go back to Killarney that will be where I will stay again.
Perfectly central to the whole town which is a step outside the door.
Thank you to all the staff for making my stay relaxing and memorable.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rochateresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Killarney was the third stop on our recent honeymoon trip in Ireland, and we decided on the Fairview. For price, quality and location, this charming hotel can't be beat! The staff was attentive, breakfast delicious, and you're literally right in the heart of Killarney Town. The car park was just a block up the street, easy to access. We booked a junior suite at a fabulous off-season rate, and loved every moment of our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gretchen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

When we checked in we were shown an executive room in an effort to entice us to upgrade our superior room which we declined. We had been traveling all day and left right after check in to get dinner. Upon return we noticed that our room smelled of cigarette smoke and asked to change rooms. We were told that there were none available and the night manager argued with us stating that it was impossible that we smelled smoke as the hotel had a no smoking policy. She offered to come up to check it herself but also said she was a smoker so that was a ridiculous offer. And it makes me wonder where she smokes while on duty at night if their non-smoking policy is so strict? It was late at that point so we stayed the night here anyway with the window open which was a disaster as the hotel faces a busy street so we got no sleep. Breakfast was a fiasco. The dining room is far too small to accommodate the guests who literally bump chairs and elbows The dining room attendant was very kind but she was the only one to take all the orders and bring coffee and food. I would suggest hiring another person to help but there literally would not have been enough room for one more person to work. When we checked out the day manager inquired about our early checkout. He offered several reasons why the room may have smelled like smoke and said that the hotel had been fully booked the night before but gave some strange nonsensical story about how their website shows they have rooms available even when they are fully booked in case someone wants to change their room category. The only good thing I can say is that the location of the hotel is excellent and our handicapped (not requested and not user friendly for tall people) bathroom seemed to have a heated floor. We went to the International Hotel and had a wonderful stay. I would recommend booking there over the Fairview as the accommodation and staff were far better for the same rate.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WorldTravelers003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#11 of 38 in Killarney
1,001 reviews
1 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,326 reviews
2.5 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#11 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $77 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing