We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of The Fairview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fairview
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at this "Guest House" for three nights during our tour of Ireland. It was in a convenient location for walking anywhere in the town. Lots of pubs and shops nearby. Breakfast was included. Fruit, cereals full Irish Breakfast and individually prepared items nice selection and personal service. The rooms were clean, we had a window overlooking the town. We called for assistance with the heat and they quickly responded. It is a great base for exploring the city or countryside.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackpearl1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

682 - 688 of 1,500 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in the Fairview, on the 18th of July. we had a lovely time. The room was a bit small but very clean and very close to the town centre. The beds were extremely comfortable. the shower was good and powerful and very clean. Breakfast was great, a good selection of food and nice and hot too. Overall nice central place to stay, happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank ElaineMcc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

A wonderfully charming hotel with friendly and very helpful staff. Rooms of a high standard, clean and tidy. Superb breakfast and a convenient central location. ¨ Easy to get to by car and good parking nearby. We were very pleased with this hotel and send a greeting to the receptionist Les.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed in The Fairview for four nights last week and could not have been more impressed. The location is first class just off the main busy streets but yet easy walking distance to everything. The bedroom was immaculate, large and so very quiet. I think it is the best sleep we have had in a hotel in a long time. Breakfast was alsolutely wonderful with so much to choose from and all cooked freshly to order. The staff were also very helpful, friendly and polite. We really enjoyed our stay in The Fairview, Killarney and will definitely be back in the future with our families. Thank you all for a wonderful stay.

Westport Couple

Room Tip: We stayed in an executive room on the second floor, Brilliant and the Air Con was such an advantage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I spent a night here on 28 th July 2013 and could not have been happier. I will definitely stay here on my return with my wife and three kids. I live in Australia but have family in Ireland and am glad to see the high standards of accommodation and service are alive and kicking at this great hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EamonnCough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Mu husband and I and our two boys(ages 6 and 7) spent three nights here at the beginning of July and had a great time! Our room was on the second floor, a family room, and had a king size bed in the middle with 2 twin beds on either side. Perfect for our family and very clean.

The Fairview is in an excellent, safe location (off the main road so a little quieter) within walking distance to tons of pubs with live music and fab restaurants (that had kids menus). It was a great hub to visit Killarney (nice, but very touristy) the Ring of Kerry (gorgeous), Ross Castle (pretty nice) and Blarney Castle (sensational). Also, the hotel is near a nice shopping mall (my son needed some new shoes) and a small fair which the kids liked.

The staff were beyond professional and accommodating. We got a flat tire on out tour of the Ring of Kerry and the staff directed us to a nearby tire center that fixed it on the spot.

Free parking was a bonus and we had free breakfast that was unbelievably good. The traditional Irish breakfast was the grown-ups' favorite, while the boys loved the pancakes and cereal.

I'd recommend visiting this part of Ireland and if I were going to stay in Killarney I would stay here without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loup29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

stayed in this hotel a few times,would be my first choice of places to stay in killarney with out a doubt,all the staff were very accommodating,rooms and hotel itself spotlessly clean,in a perfect location in the town to explore the town etc, breakfast was just outa this world, and so much to choose from,manager/owner a true gentleman,helped with advise and directions etc for where to visit and not to miss,all in all definitely 5star accomodation not to be missed :) S Lyness/co Armagh N.I

Room Tip: any rooms a good room in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,367 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,448 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,592 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,285 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#11 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $90 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing