We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of The Fairview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fairview
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Central, really clean and shiney!, reasonably priced, staff really nice and helpful, lovely breakfast, plenty of choice, and a lovely man serving. Lovely lounge area to chill out in, rooms big enough, there is a car park a minutes walk away, will definatly stay here again and will recommend it to anyone staying in Killarney

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aoife132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

715 - 721 of 1,513 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

We recently returned from our lovely trip to Ireland. This is a very welcoming little hotel/bed and breakfast. It is located very close to all the shops and restaurants. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff could not have been friendlier or more accommodating. I would suggest if you stay here to request a room on the 2nd floor. My room was there but my sister's room was on the 1st floor. She was near an alleyway that adjoined a neighboring pub to perhaps the street. She had quite a bit of noise down there but we heard nothing on the 2nd level. We would absolutely stay here again. We stayed at 5 different hotels on our trip and this was one of the top hotels we stayed in.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor did not get the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IllinoisKathy310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed at the Fairview late march and it was good! When we arrived we were greeted by a lovely women at reception. The hotel was very glam and pretty! everything was up to scratch! Our room was nicely laid out with a nice view out over Killarney town.A jacuzzi in the bathroom was an extra treat.!
My only problem was the room was very hot even with the radiators turned off. It wasn't ideal to open the window with the noise from the street as it is situated in the centre of the town. Another problem was the floorboards creeked a lot.
We ordered breakfast in bed the following morning and ticked the 9:15 arrival. When it hadn't arrived i rang down and asked and received a smart answer like "Ya, it's on it's way", and it didn't arrive for another 10 minutes!
The breakfast was glorious with a paper to read.
Free wi-fi in the room was a must and i would recommend this place to anyone looking for a treat in the town.
Unfortunately there was no swimming pool in this hotel.

Room Tip: The suites are most beautfiul
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelL9495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were a group of eight who were warmly greeted after a long wet day of travel by a very helpful lady and once our bags were stashed, she was very helpful with giving us directions to where we could relax and unwind.
The Fairview is within easy walking distance to shops where we could find many fine Irish treasures.
Their breakfast is delicious and a picture of elegance. The staff was helpful with our quirky food and drink choices always with a smile both mornings were there.
This was my second stay and I hope there will be more.
MKQ

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6xirelandtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Fairview was one of the hotels that was on our small spiritual group tour through Ireland. Having stayed in a castle the night before, I had no idea what to expect when we rolled into Killarney, and what a WONDERFUL SURPRISE indeed!!
The Fairview had a kind, friendly gentleman greet us all and show us each to our rooms. The rooms were lovely and immaculate. Many in our group raved on about the generous sized tubs with whirlpools in their rooms. Each morning, the breakfast served was as good as any 5 star hotel that I've been to, each table fully set with linen and silver. This boutique hotel has an intimate feel with 5 star charm and service! I truly felt like an honored guest here! And the location was perfect for enjoying the shops and great pubs around every corner. I would return in an Irish second!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Watchb4go.com
Thank DHB624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed again this time in JUNE 13 & returning in July 13 in the Copper Kettle which a few metres close to The Fairview 4* Guest house B&B little cheaper & James & Les & support services for breakfast is absolutely brilliant and the cleanliness & hygiene is 1st Class . The staff performance is high class they bend over backwards to make you feel at home away from home . We will return soon . And Recommend anybody going to Killarney to take a look before booking elsewhere .
Credit were Credit is due to all staff working hard to make you feel very comfortable.
They cater for diets including Ceoliac Gluten free.
If you have any questions to enjoy your stay from their services to enhancing your Holiday just ask at reception that is what they are there for . Don't be shy about it . Let the staff know about your plans they can help you enjoy your stay even more than you might know . You will not forget Killarney and will want to go back again.
Angela & Martin
Thanks to all in The Fairview.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very conveniently located at end of College St in Killarney, with entrance on Lewis St (though name of street seems to vary with the map!!!); can pull up on sidewalk to unload and then cheap car park is just 100m up road on Lewis St. Les met us and welcomed us and helped us with the baggage; hotel has elevator to 2nd floor, but we had penthouse suite on 3rd floor (only us) so we were happy to have help with bags. Penthouse was fabulous, large room and bed and huge jet tub and separate shower. Room was air-conditioned. Could have used more drawers, shelves or storage space (but that SEEMED A FAULT WITH ALMOST ALL IRISH OR UK HOTELS).
Breakfast was great, freshly cooked and they were flexible with start time if you told them you need to leave early. They washed laundry right next door, very convenient, we dropped it off and picked it up as we returned from our day out. Staff were great (especially Les), everything clean, we would stay there again!!!

Room Tip: Penthouse is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#12 of 38 in Killarney
1,001 reviews
1 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,325 reviews
2.5 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#11 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $76 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing