We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and beautiful room”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fairview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fairview
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location and beautiful room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here Feb 4-5 for part of our honeymoon. It was in a great location and we walked all over Killarney. There were quite a few pubs and restaurants within walking distance.

We were offered the option to upgrade to the Penthouse suite. While the room wasn't quite as large as I was expecting it to be, it was a beautiful room. The bathroom had a HUGE jacuzzi tub, a multi-head shower and heated floor. There was a skylight and TV also in the bathroom. The room had a 4-post Queen bed and a lovely balcony overlooking the mountains and city. There was a separate seating area with a large TV. There were not very many channels, but I wasn't there to watch TV.

We did not partake in the daily breakfast, but had many options available to us around town. We did have to pay for parking in a public lot about a block away, but it was less than 4 Euro a day.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquababy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    992
    286
    66
    47
    49
See reviews for
298
674
43
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
snjmom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were greeted by Anne O'Neill. She won our hearts. She had the warmest Irish welcome in all of Ireland. She was gracious, helpful and kind. We found the hotel to be small and cozy, but it was very clean, well appointed and had all the amenities that we needed. We felt like we were in a real Irish hotel. It was not too fancy nor expensive, but the service was amazing. The room was clean and had a full bathroom with excellent facilities and offerings by Irish standards. The television and phone were modern and operational. Reception helped us book a tour of the Ring of Kerry, rang us a free taxi, and gave us a lot of useful information. I only wished we had stayed longer in this location.

Breakfast was WONDERFUL and PLENTIFUL.

Car park was up the road in a town lot, but it was accessible and self-park. It wasn't the best parking arrangement as we had to pay a small amount to keep our car in this lot during the day but the lot was spacious and the car was accessible to us throughout our trip. There were about four "set down spaces" directly at the hotel for check in and check out... no porter service per se, but I am sure any of the staff would have helped with that if they had been asked. There was luggage storage, and good directions to the proper parking lot upon arrival.

Room Tip: We paid a few extra euros upon arrival to upgrade our room to the executive suite, and it was worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snjmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Snjmom

Thank you for writing a very fulsome report on your stay with us. It is clear you enjoyed your time in Killarney and this was in no mean way helped by Anne. Anne is a warm and caring individual who has a genuine interest in people. We treasure her and many of our guests truly appreciate her welcoming chatter and endless information about Killarney and its points of interest.

We spend quite some time reviewing our menu for breakfast and are pleased that you enjoyed the quality and quantity. As an AA 5* property we invest heavily in maintaining our standards of cleanliness and we thank you for acknowledging that we are succeeding in doing this.

We hope we may have an opportunity to welcome you back to Killarney in the not too distant future.

kind regards

Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a few days in the Fairview for our wedding anniversary. I must say we really enjoyed our stay.. The hotel beautiful and spotlessly clean.. The staff were friendly, and helpful. I had the best pouched eggs I have ever eaten!. All in all, we loved it and will definetly be returning and recommending the Fairview to our friends and family..

Room Tip: Check online, great deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hi Sally O,

How wonderful that we added to the enjoyment of your Wedding Anniversary. We are so pleased that you found the rooms spotlessly clean and the staff friendly. We spent a lot of time improving our breakfast menu and are so pleased you enjoyed your poached eggs.

You can be sure a friendly welcome awaits you when next you return.

kind regards

Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Kerry, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

stayed on wed 6th feburary, 2 adults and 2kids, staff were friendly and very helpfull,we stayed in a beautful big room with super king size bed with pull out sofa bed which was great for us because we had loads of space in the evening for the kids and plenty sleeping space by night,there was a fine big tv in the room and a gas fire, the bathroom was massive with a jacuzzi bath and a huge power shower, hot towel rail and heated floor, definately the best we have stayed in,staff came up with extra sheets and pillows for us and offered to make the sofa bed, very helpful and friendly girl, breakfast was excellent with plenty of everything in the buffet and on the menu, this hotel was great value for money... we definatly be going back

Room Tip: go for the executive suite i think its called, fab room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hi Margaret T,

You certainly gave us a great endorsement. Many thanks for that. We are family friendly and our executive room with super kingsize bed and the pull out couch bed is ideal for two adults and two children. You have described perfectly the positives of staying with us - cleanliness, friendliness, location, excellent breakfast and great value for money.

You can be sure that a warm welcome awaits you when next you return to Killarney.

kind regards

Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just home from a 3 night stay at the Fairview, booked the junior executive suite was well worth it. Couldn't ask for a better location right in the centre of town. The staff were lovely and friendly, room was spotless and very spacious. Will definitely be returning in the near future and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leanne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hi Leanne t

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to recommend the Fairview for future guests. As you point out our location is perfect, within an easy walk of pubs, restaurants and shops. Each room is individually decorated and we place a huge emphasis on the cleanliness of the property. Great to have this endorsed.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future,

kind regards

Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed in the penthouse of this Guest house during September.To call it a Pent house is a stretch of the Imagination. Its a little more than the size of a family room with a tine lounge area fitted it.As it was a very special treat a bottle of champagne was ordered for the room as a special greeting gift. The charge was e50 for what turned out to be sparkling wine.Staff were not as friendly as one would expect and Im uncertain if it was due to the language barrier.Breakfast room very small and service rushed.Breakfast to me was disappointing due to the service of member of staff,We checked out and the following weekend we stayed somewhere else in Killarney and it was a much nicer experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irishkittenIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Booked this hotel for a mid-week stay on business. Overall found the hotel to be a decent enough place to stay and the location in the centre of Killarney was fantastic. The welcome from the staff was a little under par from what I would have expected. The room itself was a decent size and was reasonably clean but some more attention wouldnt go amiss. Breakfast was also very good and considering it was included in the price they had a great selection. Overall a good stay and great value for money and will be on the list next time I head to Killarney.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_TravelChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hi Mr-SM-UK-1

We are delighted that you will put our property on your list for your next visit to Killarney. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and your praise for our breakfast menu is very gratifying.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future,

kind regards

Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
2.5 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Property: The Fairview
Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#11 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing