We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”
Review of The Fairview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairview
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Killarney, Kerry, Ireland
1 review
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

stayed on wed 6th feburary, 2 adults and 2kids, staff were friendly and very helpfull,we stayed in a beautful big room with super king size bed with pull out sofa bed which was great for us because we had loads of space in the evening for the kids and plenty sleeping space by night,there was a fine big tv in the room and a gas fire, the bathroom was massive with a jacuzzi bath and a huge power shower, hot towel rail and heated floor, definately the best we have stayed in,staff came up with extra sheets and pillows for us and offered to make the sofa bed, very helpful and friendly girl, breakfast was excellent with plenty of everything in the buffet and on the menu, this hotel was great value for money... we definatly be going back

Room Tip: go for the executive suite i think its called, fab room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hi Margaret T,

You certainly gave us a great endorsement. Many thanks for that. We are family friendly and our executive room with super kingsize bed and the pull out couch bed is ideal for two adults and two children. You have described perfectly the positives of staying with us - cleanliness, friendliness, location, excellent breakfast and great value for money.

You can be sure that a warm welcome awaits you when next you return to Killarney.

kind regards

Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,020
    294
    71
    47
    52
See reviews for
320
690
43
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just home from a 3 night stay at the Fairview, booked the junior executive suite was well worth it. Couldn't ask for a better location right in the centre of town. The staff were lovely and friendly, room was spotless and very spacious. Will definitely be returning in the near future and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leanne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hi Leanne t

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to recommend the Fairview for future guests. As you point out our location is perfect, within an easy walk of pubs, restaurants and shops. Each room is individually decorated and we place a huge emphasis on the cleanliness of the property. Great to have this endorsed.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future,

kind regards

Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed in the penthouse of this Guest house during September.To call it a Pent house is a stretch of the Imagination. Its a little more than the size of a family room with a tine lounge area fitted it.As it was a very special treat a bottle of champagne was ordered for the room as a special greeting gift. The charge was e50 for what turned out to be sparkling wine.Staff were not as friendly as one would expect and Im uncertain if it was due to the language barrier.Breakfast room very small and service rushed.Breakfast to me was disappointing due to the service of member of staff,We checked out and the following weekend we stayed somewhere else in Killarney and it was a much nicer experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irishkittenIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Booked this hotel for a mid-week stay on business. Overall found the hotel to be a decent enough place to stay and the location in the centre of Killarney was fantastic. The welcome from the staff was a little under par from what I would have expected. The room itself was a decent size and was reasonably clean but some more attention wouldnt go amiss. Breakfast was also very good and considering it was included in the price they had a great selection. Overall a good stay and great value for money and will be on the list next time I head to Killarney.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_TravelChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hi Mr-SM-UK-1

We are delighted that you will put our property on your list for your next visit to Killarney. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and your praise for our breakfast menu is very gratifying.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future,

kind regards

Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscrea, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

my husband and myself recently stayed at the Fairview for three nights ,we enjoyed our stay but when we arrived home we realised we had left a lead beloning to our camera in our room, when i rang the manager answered, i asked was it found and all he said was housekeeping would know,we were then told that our lead had been found in the room and i was asked to send a S,A,E i could not believe it ,i felt it was very bad customer service and the manner of manager or owner was very stand offish.we always stay in the victoria house hotel but this was closed ,i dont think i would stay in the Fairview again.

Room Tip: i asked for a double ,the bed was very small only a 4ft
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the penthouse suite at the hotel, and the penthouse did not disappoint. The bathroom was gorgeous with a gigantic jetted tub, and the living area included a sectional for lounging. I will forever be loyal to this hotel because the staff member who cleaned my room was honest. I left a $500 ring on the nightstand and only realized it once I had traveled 3+ hours to Dublin. Going back wasn't an option. I've left things at hotels before and I've never once gotten them back - even inexpensive items - so I expected much the same when I called the Fairview. I was floored when the hotel manager confirmed that the ring had been turned in and he helped make arrangements to get it back to me. This experience really sweetened my vacation in Ireland, and I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Penthouse was a luxurious treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank changmitbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hi Changmitbo,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Fairview. We pride ourselves on the quality and honesty of our staff and thank you for pointing out how positive your experience with our staff was in securing the return of your expensive ring.

We are so pleased you found the Penthouse to your liking and enjoyed the double jacuzzi bath.

We hope to welcome you back in the future,

kind regards

Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2013

It was a wonderful experience during my stay at Mapple Abhay. Rooms and restrooms were clean. Special attention has been given on hygine and cleaniness of sheets, mattresses and towels. Their restaurant is good. Very warm and cordial staff with good service. Food quality is good. Even the shops in the hotel are good with reasonable rates. I would definitely stay in this hotel in case of travelling to Jodhpur again.
Overall pleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank MeenakshiTDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Meenakashi

Thank you for letting us know how wonderful you found your stay with us.

We hope we may have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

kind regards

Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,214 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,222 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,176 reviews
2.5 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#16 of 38 in Killarney
1,545 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Property: The Fairview
Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#11 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing