We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest, polite, helpful staff, hotel located in the heart of downtown”
Review of The Fairview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fairview
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the penthouse suite at the hotel, and the penthouse did not disappoint. The bathroom was gorgeous with a gigantic jetted tub, and the living area included a sectional for lounging. I will forever be loyal to this hotel because the staff member who cleaned my room was honest. I left a $500 ring on the nightstand and only realized it once I had traveled 3+ hours to Dublin. Going back wasn't an option. I've left things at hotels before and I've never once gotten them back - even inexpensive items - so I expected much the same when I called the Fairview. I was floored when the hotel manager confirmed that the ring had been turned in and he helped make arrangements to get it back to me. This experience really sweetened my vacation in Ireland, and I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Penthouse was a luxurious treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank changmitbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Hi Changmitbo,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Fairview. We pride ourselves on the quality and honesty of our staff and thank you for pointing out how positive your experience with our staff was in securing the return of your expensive ring.

We are so pleased you found the Penthouse to your liking and enjoyed the double jacuzzi bath.

We hope to welcome you back in the future,

kind regards

Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

811 - 817 of 1,500 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

It was a wonderful experience during my stay at Mapple Abhay. Rooms and restrooms were clean. Special attention has been given on hygine and cleaniness of sheets, mattresses and towels. Their restaurant is good. Very warm and cordial staff with good service. Food quality is good. Even the shops in the hotel are good with reasonable rates. I would definitely stay in this hotel in case of travelling to Jodhpur again.
Overall pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank MeenakshiTDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Meenakashi

Thank you for letting us know how wonderful you found your stay with us.

We hope we may have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

kind regards

Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed for a weekend in this hotel. At arrival we were asked if we wanted to upgrade for an extra 35 euro. We would get a jacuzzi and a gas fire. We accepted and paid for the upgrade. The room we got was spacious enough but had no gas fire as promised. So paid extra for a jacuzzi that was used once. It was freezing in the room the first night but managed to figure out the heater for the rest of the stay. The cleanliness of the room wasn't as clean as you would expect from a 4*. Window blinds were filthy and artificial flowers looked like they had never been dusted. Breakfast was very good. Good selection in the breakfast menu. The hotel staff were friendly. Teh location is spot on. Close to everything in Killarney town. Despite the location we were not disturbed by noise.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_Smith354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear S_Smith345,
Thank you for your comments. Yes, you were upgraded for an extra cost of €35 to a Junior Suite. As discussed with you on arrival all rooms have their own unique design. This is also applicable to our selection of six Junior Suites. Of these six three have fireplaces and the other three have features that the ones with the fireplaces don`t. If we were aware that this was a problem to you we would be more than happy to switch you to your preferred option. In relation to the room temperature, your room had central heating, air condition heating, heated mirrors and underground heating in the bathroom. Again if we were aware that there was a difficulty in operating our multi heating system we would have been more than happy to assist. We are delighted that you enjoyed our cooked to order a la carte breakfast and our unique location. In a future visit, please do not hesitate to contact me personally, so that I can try my best to accommodate your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

While back home in Ireland for Christmas/New Years we stayed at the Fairview in Killarney as well as other places around the country. It was by far the best for service etc. The Breakfast the next morning was the best I have seen with an excellent variety of fruits/cheeses/cereals and juices as well as a selection of cooked food on the menu which was cooked fresh. Our family had between them a Cooked irish breakfast,Omlette, poached eggs and Pancakes. Everything was delicious and fresh and the service was second to none.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gab2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Hi Gab2013

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. You certainly seemed to enjoy the food and we appreciate your positive comments about the quality and quantity. As you point out you certainly samples a large portion of the menu between all members of your party.

We are so pleased to rate as the best for service etc. on your trip around Ireland.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

kind regards

Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

my fiancee and i stayed there for one night. the rooms were immaculate and the bathroom. very comfortable and relaxing. breakfast was excellent with a great selection. staff very friendly. would highly recommend it top class accomodation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Hi Jackie O

Its always great to get away for a night and when its as good as you point out then the Fairview is the ideal location. Thank you for your recommendation about the rooms, the food and the staff. We really appreciate your positive comments.

We hope you will be able to stay with us for a longer period next time

kind regards

Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I loved this place! the accommodations were excellent! We couldn't get over the price of our luxury room in a hotel located so very conveniently in the city (and what a bathroom!). It was a short walk to have our laundry done (washed, dried, folded, boxed!).

The owner and staff were the best of the best!

The perfect atmosphere, the perfect size...it was just perfect for us in every way!

The breakfasts were to die for! The dining room was so relaxing and upscale; well, the whole hotel is upscale really! We look forward to a return visit as soon as possible!!!

Room Tip: We got a room with a view down the main street and had no noise problems whatsoever. It was fun, ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garth H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Hi Garth HH

What an endorsement!! You certainly enjoyed your stay and appreciated the quality of our product. Location is prime and you can walk to all the attractions easily.

Your comments on the breakfast is appreciated as we spent a long time perfecting our menu.

We hope you will have an opportunity to return to us in the future,

klnd regards

Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Spent 2 nights here last April when we were in Ireland for a week and absolutely loved this place. Located in the hub of the town, it was surrounded by great pubs at night and good shopping during the day. Rooms were charming and clean and the breakfast was really good. Walking distance to a spectacular national park. It was a nice break from the small B&Bs but charming in its own way. I have recommended this place to friends who also loved it. I agree the parking was a bit of a pain but I guess that is to be expected in a more urban setting.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyler K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Hi MichelleK

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location perfect for either viewing shops, pubs and restaurants or walking to the National Park. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to the Fairvew in the future.

kind regards

Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,367 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,448 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,592 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,283 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#11 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $90 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing