We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of The Fairview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fairview
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My son and I spent a night at the Fairview Guest House during a trip to Ireland in November. The hotel was right in the middle of town--very easy walk to everything we wanted to do in Killarney. The room was lovely, very well appointed, and exceptionally clean. The beds were very comfortable, the decor very, very nice. Breakfast the following morning was excellent. The staff were extremely courteous and friendly. I look forward to staying there on our next trip!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ngoudey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear ngoudey,

Thank you for your very positive comments about your stay with us. We would certainly love to welcome you back in the future.

kind regards

Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

850 - 856 of 1,519 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night in December and loved its central location and nice, updated, large rooms. The staff was wonderful and the breakfast room was beautiful. Parking was free at a lot a block away. The bed was comfortable, as were the pillows and even though our room was on the main street it was quiet at night. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmac1238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear pmac1238

Thank you for your very positive comments about your stay with us and we certainly hope you will return in the future.

kind regards

Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stylish, Clean, Spacious, Quiet, Affordable accomodation. Only complaint was that the room was too warm, so bad nights sleep and there was no control for the air conditioning that I could see. Great tea/coffee facilities. Its very conveniently located. Nice place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieSheehy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Marie Sheehy,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We note your comments about the heat in the room. In your executive room the control panel for the air conditioning is on the wall beside the light switch. It is unfortunate that you did not alert our night porter who would have remedied the situation immediately. However, we do appreciate all your positive comments about your stay.

We hope we may welcome you back to the Fairview in the future.

kind regards

Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My husband and I traveled through Ireland for a week for our honeymoon and we spent 3 nights at The Fairview. The staff was wonderful and provided excellent service, the room was beautiful and the breakfasts were delicious. The hotel is located right downtown, so we were able to walk to all our activities/meals with no trouble and the parking is very convenient too. The prices were extremely reasonable for a hotel of such high quality. Would recommend to anyone staying in Killarney!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissSarahJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear MissSarah J

We are delighted that we were able to be part of your honeymoon stay in Ireland and contribute so positively to your experience. We wish you well in your future together and hope we may at some time welcome you back to Killarney.

kind regards

Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I would highly recommend the Fairview guest house, killarney. It is very well located in the centre of town making it convenient for all shop's restaurant's/pub's and attractions.It has ample parking
adjacent to the premisses .
My room was clean, spacious and quiet. The staff are friendly efficient and professional
Breakfast was excellent in taste and presentation
This guest house sets a very high standard and represents good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear William C

Thank you for your very kind comments about your experience at the Fairview Killarney. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

kind regards

Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

me and my new husband stayed here in the penthouse for 2 nights. it was amazing. massive jacuzzi bath with tv in the wall over the jacuzzi and a huge shower. under ground heating as well. the bed is a 4 post bed AND so soft. there is a lovely cosy L shape couch in the sitting area. 40 inch flat screen tv on wall with dvd player hooked up nice little balcony with lovely views of the mountains and a lovely wall mounted fire.
LOCATION is just perfect, everything around u. no need for taxis all right on the door step. it really should be classed as a hotel.. we can gauruntee you would not find a better place to stay

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NATASHA O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Natasha O

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in our Penthouse Suite. We are so pleased everything was to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

kind regards

Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I chose to stay in the Fairview after reading the many great reviews on Trip Advisor and happily the Fairview lived up to them all. We stayed in the amazing penthouse suite, which was reasonably priced for such a fantastic room. The staff were very helpful at all times, arranging taxis and giving advice on places to visit. Great selection for breakfasts and located right in the town but we heard no noise on the top floor. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arch_ie161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Hi Arch_ie161

Thank you for send your review of your stay in the Penthouse. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. The penthouse, at the top of the house, offers a quiet retreat for guests (only people on that floor!) and with the double jacuzzi bath, a little decadence.

Our breakfast is getting great recognition and you mention Tommy who has been with us many years and offers a warm yet dignified service. He's a gem.

If you are coming to Killarney again, be sure to stay with us.

kind regards

Les

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#11 of 38 in Killarney
1,008 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Great Southern Killarney
Great Southern Killarney
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,357 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
604 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#20 of 38 in Killarney
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#11 Business Hotel in Killarney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $78 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing