We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fairview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fairview
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We would Highly recommend the executive room, with the jacuzzi. The hotel feels cozy and is very clean. The executive room is spacious, and has most amenities and the jacuzzi is great - especially if you come in from the cold. The service is good and the breakfast too. Location is right in the center of town, near restaurants and shops and parking is also easily available. Good value for money.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fvdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Hi ftpd,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and outline the main advantages of staying at the Fairview. We do indeed have the best location in town just minutes walk from the shops, restaurants and pubs. As you mention, we offer complimentary overnight parking from 6pm to 9am in the Lewis Car Park just 70 meters from the front door. In winter the morning hours are extended to 11am. We find a lot of our guests choose the Executive room which offers little extras such as Jacuzzi bath, underfloor heating and heated towel rails, just what you need when you come in from the cold. As a five star property we spend a lot of time and energy ensuring we maintain our very high standards and are so pleased you recognized this.

If you return to Killarney in the near future you can be sure of a warm welcome at the Fairview.

best regards

Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    285
    66
    46
    48
See reviews for
295
668
43
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in the fairview in April of this year and I cannot recommend it highly enough.
I went not expecting much as it it is marked as a guesthouse but it is far superior to alot of hotels I have stayed in.
I have stayed in two other hotels in Killareny, they were more expensive and of a lesser quality.
Its a five minute walk into the heart of Killarney.
The rooms are huge, and extremely clean.
I am looking forward to returning here soon hopefully.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Puddin27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hi Puddin27

thank you for your review of your say in our property. We are delighted to have such a glowing recommendation of our property and its location. We are indeed just a short stroll from restaurants, shopping and pubs. With the public car park just 70 meters from the front door and offering free parking to our guests from 6 pm to 9 am (11 am in the winter) it is ideal for your car. We would be delighted to welcome you back when next you are in Killarney looking for a good value break.

kind regards

Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poyntzpass
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We upgraded to a junior suite, great room, very comfy bed & well decorated. Breakfast was fantastic, special mention for Tommy in the dining room who had spent many years in a top Killarney hotel, it shows - he had time for everone. James & Bart could cheer up a little. Location great for access to the towns many attractions all within walking distance. No car park at venue so had to use public car park a little distance away but overall very happy stay & will return hopefully

Room Tip: Although on a main street & beside hostel accommodation the rooms are quiet, definitely worth th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hgfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Hi hgfs,

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Junior Suites are well worth the extra cost with seating area, queen beds and outstanding bathrooms with jacuzzi bath, heated towel rails and underfloor heating. During the season we upgrade our Breakfast Menu and increased our selection, how wonderful that you really liked it. Thanks for mentioning Tommy who is a very valued member of staff. He has over 40 years experience in the hotel industry and bring that old fashioned graciousness to our breakfast room. We have drop off zone just outside the property and offer complimentary car parking at the Lewis Car Park just 70 meters up the road from 6pm to 9am. In the winter, there is free car parking until 11am.

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

kind regards

Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was an excellent choice of hotel for me, my husband and elderly parents in law. The rooms (executive) were very spacious , clean and comfortable. The hotel was quiet and we got a great sleep. The staff were extremely helpful, and the breakfast service was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitzyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hi Fitzyann,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so pleased that all aspects of your stay were so positive. Our executive rooms are large and spacious and as we are a 5 star property we invest heavily in ensuring that the cleanliness is second to none. Thanks for mentioning how helpful our staff were and that you enjoyed your breakfast. We upgraded the menu during the summer and now offer healthy and hearty options.

If you are in Killarney again you can be sure of a warm welcome here at the Fairview

kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just returned from our annual stay at The Fairview killarney. Excellent service, staff are wonderful, rooms are luxurious. Located beside all amenities, fab restaurants, bars etc. All rooms are decorated to a very high standard. Breakfast is a MUST. Irish Breakfast is delicious. Cannot wait to return in 2013.

Room Tip: Choose a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilamarydublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hi sheilamarydublin,

We are so pleased that you enjoy your stay at the Fairview so much that you return to us on such a regular basis. Indeed we count you as one of the extended family. I hope that you managed to get all your shopping done.
Thanks for endorsing our rooms, our service and our staff. We upgraded the breakfast menu during the summer and are pleased you enjoyed the changes.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in 2013

kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adare
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We have spent an amazing 2 nights in the fairview Killarney.
Beautiful entrance, gorgeous decor and very friendly staff! We will definitely be back again very soon!!

On arrival we were offered an upgrade to a suite and because we were celebrating my birthday we snapped it up!
We were in room 116, oh my god it was beautiful!! Fire place, plasma and jacuzzi bath!!

Location was perfect minutes away from everything!

A must visit!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hi msholland

Thank you so much for your very positive review of your experience in the Fairview Killarney. A birthday celebration is a special time and we are so pleased we were able to enhance your stay. As you mention room 116 is terrific with the Plasma TV and fireplace in the seating area and the jacuzzi bath with underfloor heating and heated towel rails that offers that little extra touch of luxury.
Our location is indeed superb just minutes walk from shops, restaurants and pubs. We hope you will have an opportunity to return to Killarney in the not too distant future and look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairview.

kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Wonderful only wonderful. Stayed for 3 nights end of October. Booked a room with disabled facilities. wasn't disappointed - due to toilet 'flushing problems', we stayed in rooms 116 and then 111. Breakfast was fabulous - pancakes went down a treat. all staff welcoming and very helpful.
We hope to get back in summer 2013, and enjoy the restaurant facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orla p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hi orla p,

Thank you for taking the time to review you stay with us. Sorry about the bathroom problems but as you say this was sorted and you enjoyed your time in room 111. We upgrraded our menus in the middle of the season and are so pleased you enjoyed your pancakes. These really have proven to be a big hit for breakfast. Our staff are a big part of our success story and we are so pleased you found them welcoming and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the Summer of 2013.

kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Property: The Fairview
Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#11 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing