We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of The Fairview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fairview
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was an excellent choice of hotel for me, my husband and elderly parents in law. The rooms (executive) were very spacious , clean and comfortable. The hotel was quiet and we got a great sleep. The staff were extremely helpful, and the breakfast service was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitzyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hi Fitzyann,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so pleased that all aspects of your stay were so positive. Our executive rooms are large and spacious and as we are a 5 star property we invest heavily in ensuring that the cleanliness is second to none. Thanks for mentioning how helpful our staff were and that you enjoyed your breakfast. We upgraded the menu during the summer and now offer healthy and hearty options.

If you are in Killarney again you can be sure of a warm welcome here at the Fairview

kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,020
    294
    71
    47
    52
See reviews for
320
690
43
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just returned from our annual stay at The Fairview killarney. Excellent service, staff are wonderful, rooms are luxurious. Located beside all amenities, fab restaurants, bars etc. All rooms are decorated to a very high standard. Breakfast is a MUST. Irish Breakfast is delicious. Cannot wait to return in 2013.

Room Tip: Choose a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilamarydublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hi sheilamarydublin,

We are so pleased that you enjoy your stay at the Fairview so much that you return to us on such a regular basis. Indeed we count you as one of the extended family. I hope that you managed to get all your shopping done.
Thanks for endorsing our rooms, our service and our staff. We upgraded the breakfast menu during the summer and are pleased you enjoyed the changes.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in 2013

kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adare
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We have spent an amazing 2 nights in the fairview Killarney.
Beautiful entrance, gorgeous decor and very friendly staff! We will definitely be back again very soon!!

On arrival we were offered an upgrade to a suite and because we were celebrating my birthday we snapped it up!
We were in room 116, oh my god it was beautiful!! Fire place, plasma and jacuzzi bath!!

Location was perfect minutes away from everything!

A must visit!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hi msholland

Thank you so much for your very positive review of your experience in the Fairview Killarney. A birthday celebration is a special time and we are so pleased we were able to enhance your stay. As you mention room 116 is terrific with the Plasma TV and fireplace in the seating area and the jacuzzi bath with underfloor heating and heated towel rails that offers that little extra touch of luxury.
Our location is indeed superb just minutes walk from shops, restaurants and pubs. We hope you will have an opportunity to return to Killarney in the not too distant future and look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairview.

kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Wonderful only wonderful. Stayed for 3 nights end of October. Booked a room with disabled facilities. wasn't disappointed - due to toilet 'flushing problems', we stayed in rooms 116 and then 111. Breakfast was fabulous - pancakes went down a treat. all staff welcoming and very helpful.
We hope to get back in summer 2013, and enjoy the restaurant facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orla p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hi orla p,

Thank you for taking the time to review you stay with us. Sorry about the bathroom problems but as you say this was sorted and you enjoyed your time in room 111. We upgrraded our menus in the middle of the season and are so pleased you enjoyed your pancakes. These really have proven to be a big hit for breakfast. Our staff are a big part of our success story and we are so pleased you found them welcoming and helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the Summer of 2013.

kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights MI
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed here for 2 days in Sept. the hotel is very clean, rooms were set up perfect for the traveler.
breakfast in the morning was very good. and everyone we dealt with could not have been MORE
HELPFUL. Bart (the manager) thanks for making everything easy. Ann (the night manager)
great recommendations for dinner and a joy to deal with. the only thing that was a little tricky was at check in there are only spots for 3 or 4 cars. so we parked around the back and walked with our suitcases to the hotel. no big deal. I would highly recommend this hotel. we were very pleased.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evelynsgirl1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hi evelynsgirl1007

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Fairview in Killarney. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. As a 5 star property we invest heavily in ensuring that our rooms are spotlessly clean, with pristine bed linen and those little extras that give you a more homely feeling. Our staff are a very important part of our business and we thank you for recognizing the contribution made by both Bart and Ann. They are long serving members of our team and truly add to our guests experience. We have a set-down area for guests in front of the property an offer complimentary overnight parking in the Lewis Car Park just 70 meters from us from 6pm - 9am. Thank you for your breakfast recommendation we are so pleased that you found our new menu to be so good.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next you are in Killarney,

kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I travel a lot for work and I have stayed in the Fairview, Killarney five or six times in the past and I'll stay there over and over again. I have always found the atmosphere warm, welcoming and friendly from the moment one enters the door. The decor creates a lovely atmosphere and you just feel at home. The rooms are quite comfortable and cozyand the staff are very friendly. The owners are passionate about what they are doing which is clear from the way the staff deal with the customers.The breakfast is fantastic. I recommend The Fairview and I would give it 5 stars anytime.
Personally, I would prefer customer controlled heating so that I could have the heating at the time I need it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Owner at The Fairview, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hi Cleo D

A big thank you for writing so nicely about the Fairview and your experiences with us. We always enjoy welcoming guests back to the Fairview and you know that you will always be warmly received here. We have worked hard to create a home from home atmosphere and are so pleased that you find this to be the case. Our staff truly enjoy ensuring that guests have a great experience and this comes across in your review. During the season we upgraded our breakfast menu and offered a wider variety of healthy and hearty options. Thanks for the recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co clare
2 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2012

my wife anita and myself travel around the country and beyond,and we have to say that the Fairview guesthouse in Killarney has to be on top of the list for friendlyness cleanliness comfort,and fantasyic food. The staff could not do enough to make your stay more enjoyable, we would recomend this stay to anyone who is visiting killarney. (brilliant).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at The Fairview, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hi Patrick d,

Your very positive comments about the comfort, cleanliness, friendliness and fantastic food at the Fairview are very gratifying. We, as a 5 star property, work hard to ensure that our guests have a great experience and take away good memories. We are so pleased that you rate us so highly and thank you for taking the time to let other travellers know.

You can be sure if you return to Killarney that a warm welcome awaits you here at the Fairview.

kind regards

Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,217 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,222 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,177 reviews
2.5 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,545 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Property: The Fairview
Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#11 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing