We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Fantastic Place”
Review of The Fairview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairview
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a Fantastic Place”
Reviewed November 26, 2007

My wife and I were on a trip of Southern Ireland for our honeymoon and wanted to use Killarney as a base for the ring of Kerry.
We saw the reviews on Trip advisor and thought we would give the newly refurbed guest house a go.
We booked the penthouse suite, which at the time was not shown on the website. This was a truly fantastic room - massive bed, views towards the hills, fantastic spa bath, large TV and exceptionally presented and finished.
All the staff were friendly and highly professional, these guys put the other larger hotels in Killarney to shame.
The rest of the hotel is immaculate and great value for money for what you get.
Make sure you speak to Tommy in the morning serving breakfast if you want tips where to go off the beaten track - what a gent.

Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — didn't stay long enough
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomcattim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    287
    68
    47
    49
See reviews for
303
678
43
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2007

Only negative was that the room was somewhat noisy (overlooked a kitchen, and hostel). Room was very nice though; free parking just down the street, great breakfast, and central location. This was probably the most luxurious of the guesthouses we stayed in a trip of 5 Irish cities (all for approx. 80 Euro).

  • Liked — Cleanliness, location, free parking.
  • Disliked — Noise.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mallieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2007

Was driving around Killarney looking for somewhere reasonable to stay after no of nights travelling in West and staying in so-called 3/4star hotels. Stayed here and it surpassed all hotels we had stayed in during our tour. Would highly recommend this place and stay again. Rooms are extremely comfortable, staff very pleasant and helpful. Level of cleanliness second to none. Would never have been a person to choose guesthouses previously, however after this experience it was far superiour to many 3and 4 star hotels around

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dizzyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston,SC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2007

We were two couples and stayed 3 nights- wish I could LIVE at the beautiful Fairview! They have an ICE machine!!! For those who love a cocktail before going out to dinner, it sure beats begging the bar for ice. The rooms were so comfortably elegant, and the owner James called us a half hour after check-in to be sure everything was satisfactory. He was a wonderful host - I don't understand those few snobby complainers in previous reviews. As for noise, we now realize how enjoyable and convienient it is to stay in the heart of town. All the pubs, restaurants and shops were within a few blocks around the hotel. I am an extremely light sleeper and I always have earplugs with me. In Waterford we stayed in a lovely hotel in a quiet neighborhood and had to drive around and search for parking downtown. Everything about our stay was perfect, including the breakfast.

  • Liked — The beautiful rooms and common areas & the ice machine
  • Disliked — everything was great
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisymaescragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co.Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Fairview for two nights 12th-14th of Oct, 2007.I booked online and found the Gentleman Bart who handles reservations very efficient and helpful.
On arrival we were greeted and quickly checked in. Our room was very clean and stylish. We had breakfast both mornings and found the Gentleman doing breakfasts very friendly and welcoming.
It was an ideal location and I would happily stay there again.

  • Liked — Stylish layout of the rooms.
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jocelynn087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2007

My sister and I arrived on 4th October. We had booked a twin room many weeks before but were given a double room with one double bed and a sofa bed. After the first night we asked if we could move as we had originally booked a twin. We were moved to the room right next to the ice machine. There is a constant hum in the room and when I asked James the owner about it, he said it was the air conditioning and for health and safety reasons there wasn't anything he could do about it. Consequently, I had very little sleep during the five nights that I stayed there. James definitely needs to go on a course to learn how to be civil to his clients. He does not have any idea. Another important point to add is that we booked a 6am wake up call the morning of our departure but it never happened. Luckily I woke up beforehand and we did get to the airport to get out 8.15am flight but it's a very bad show and could have led to us missing our flight. I would not stay there again. The only positive thing to add is that the chap in the restaurant (I think it's Tommy Regan) is very pleasant and genuinely tries to make the guests feel welcome.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JoJo055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte- Brazil
Level Contributor
228 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2007

I ha been there from 11 september to 12 september. The rooms are beside a kitchen and they wash plates very noisy till 2:00 a.m. And begins at 7: 00 a.m. Just 5 hour for sleep.
They say that are a four star hotels, but really is 4 for star only for price. They don' t have temperature control, no safe, no good manners.
I claimed with the owner and he said " The noisy kitchen is from another hotel beside them". The point is, it doesn't matter,The hotel is very noisy specially at late night and early morning and they never warns guests about extreme noise and the worst conditions.I paid 90 euros for this room where I didnt sleep. After they take your credit car and money they don't care for you.
Never stay there. They are not 4 star, just a pricy hotel, that reallly is 1 or 2 stars. If you stay there, be prepared for don't sleep.You wiil pay just for stay the night inside a room.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Very noisy, terrible reception
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank FRANCISCO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#6 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
2.5 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairview

Property: The Fairview
Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#11 Business Hotel in Killarney
#12 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairview 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairview Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing