We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure luxury”
Review of The Brehon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Brehon
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Had a great break in this beautiful hotel. Lovely for a treat to escape from reality.....rooms are spacious, staff helpful , food delicious and spa worth visiting.
Check out their website as there are some good offers available.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msjolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,162 - 2,168 of 2,325 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2009

Had an enjoyable stay in this hotel which I picked based on TA ratings and feedback.

Following my stay, here are my thoughts on the Brehon:

POSITIVES:
1. Great staff, very friendly and attentive;

2. Great breakfast: very good hot and cold buffet and a great selection of tasty breakfast options cooked to order for example, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, pancakes, poached eggs, fried plaice etc.;

3. Hotel is modern, impressive and is kept well, bedrooms are large and comfortable;

4. Restaurant food is very good, got a room rate that included a free meal for stay - try and get this option if can direct from hotel as is good value when included in overall cost of stay. Otherwise, starters are c.€10, Mains c.€25 and desert c.€8.

NEGATIVES AND SUGGESTED SOLUTIONS:
1. Our first room was very noisy as it was directly over the function room (wedding band, dj playing early into the morning). If not a guest attending the function, I would advise asking for room away from the function room (or on a higher floor where it may not be as noisy - we were on the 2nd floor) . Our second room (on the same floor) was very quiet as was on the otherside of hotel away from the function room and we slept no problem the following night with another wedding function on that night.

2. This hotel is beside the INEC (large concert venue). During our stay, there was two sold out concerts on over the weekend. The concerts result in the hotel carpark as well as the INEC car parks being full from around 8pm. Therefore after our day out and about exploring Killarney and visiting friends, we returned to the hotel to find the carpark full and were therefore directed to park beyond the holiday cottages which are behind the hotel by the car park attendents on duty for the concert; therefore we had an about 4 minute walk back to the front of the hotel which was not much fun in the heavy rain carrying a sleeping baby! Therefore if there is a concert on and bad weather, get back to the hotel early if have a car and want to be parked near the hotel. It maybe an idea for the Brehon to consider that the hotel carpark is reserved for hotel guests only, but I dont think this would be possible as the hotel carpark is very open with three entrances.

OTHER POINTS:
Other TA reviewers have noted that this hotel is c.15 minute walk into town. This is correct but is also true of alot of hotels in Killarney (some are even further out especially some of the other 4 star/5 star hotels) so I wouldn't be put off by its location and I would recommend it as a location for your stay in Killarney. It is not a bad walk into town (on main road) and the hotel is closer to the National Park as a result and there is a nice walk up to the Park from the hotel.

CONCLUSION
Overall, I would recommened the Brehon for a stay in Killarney and would agree with the positive ratings given by other TA reviewers. The hotel is modern, impressive and the friendly staff made our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pitch_the
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights at The Brehon which proved to be a wonderful hotel. So many advantages to mention: VERY effiicient and helpful staff, really great rooms, quiet location with a great view from the front rooms, an excellent breakfast (rich and tasty), excellent cleanliness, huge free car park. A hotel that is an absolute joy to stay.
The only disadvantage is its non-central location (about 15 min walk from downtown), but if you have your own car this is not a real problem since there are many parkings in Killarney center.
Just don't miss it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicktrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We had our second stay in the beautiful Brehon Hotel in August and I just cannot say enough about this hotel, every aspect of it is perfect. Fantastic staff, bedrooms, spa, bar food, restaurant, breakfast. I just cannot wait to return again and again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rox09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

We (2 adults and 2 children) stayed in the hotel for 3 nights visting Killarney national park, Ring of Kerry and surrounding areas. The hotel is one of the best we have stayed in. The family room consisted two joint lareg size rooms with very comfortable beds and modern facilities. The breakfast was excellent in quality, selection and quantity. We had a dinner in the resteraunt which was also excellent. The SPA service was good. The kids had to use the pool and children facility *table tennis) in the Gleneage hotel next door - about 5 minutes walk. It was an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_in_Rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannyKillarney, Guest Relations Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2009

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Brehon. Thank you for taking the time to write your review on trip advisor. It is great that you found our facilities to be so useful and if you return to us in the future please don't hesitate in giving me a call before you arrive. I would be delighted to help with any arrangements or advice you may need.

Kind Regards

Danny McClure
Guest Relations Manager
The Brehon Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights as we were attending the Women of Ireland show at INEC. Hotel was great. Room was superb with view onto the National Park mountains. Staff were courteous, helpful and friendly. Breakfast was superb. We had dinner one night and again, the staff were excellent and the food glorious. Would definately recommend this hotel. We will stay here again on our next visit to Kerry. We found that the drinks were cheaper than in a publc bar in Rosslare harbour!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannyKillarney, Guest Relations Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2009

Thank you very much for your feedback after your stay here at the brehon. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and your comments have been passed onto all of our staff. I hope you enjoyed the show in the INEC and if you return to us in the future please give me a call before you do so if you require any information regarding the hotel or the up coming events in the INEC.
I would delighted to help.

Kind Regards,
Danny McClure
Guest Relations Manager
The Brehon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

We held our wedding here in April 2009 - a small wedding with less than 40 guests. All I can say is Deirdre and the team ensured that I had the perfect day!!! Each of our guests are still talking about the service provided by the Brehon.

In terms of accomodation, this hotel stands head and shoulders over any hotel that I have stayed in. The attention to detail and the service is just amazing!!!!

Breakfast is excellent.

The Leisure centre is a treat............don't miss it!!!

Overall, if you have one hotel to choose as part of your trip to Ireland/Killarney go to the Brehon!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueeyegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannyKillarney, Guest Relations Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2009

Thank you for your feedback about your stay and wedding here at the Brehon. Its great to hear your special day went so well. I have passed on your comments to deirdre and all of the staff and they were delighted to read such glowing feedback.

If you are returning to the brehon in the future please give me a call I would be delighted to here from you both and welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Danny McClure
Guest Relations Manager
The Brehon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,311 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brehon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brehon

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Killarney
#3 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#8 Business Hotel in Killarney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#20 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $129 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brehon 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brehon is a luxurious hotel of unique grace and elegance set amidst Killarney’s breathtaking landscape. Each guestroom and suite reflects a contemporary blend of beauty, style and space. The Brehon also offers visitors a chance to relax and unwind in the Angsana Spa, the European flagship of the famous Thai celebrity haunt The Banyan Tree. The experienced Thai therapists offer a range of holistic spa treatments and massages to refresh and revitalise the spirit, mind and physical being. All treatments carried out in the Angsana Spa are 100% authentic Thai and use only natural ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Brehon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brehon Hotel Killarney
Brehon Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing