We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Birthday Party”
Review of The Brehon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brehon
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ballina, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family Birthday Party”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed twice in The Brehon this Summer and both experiences were excellent..the staff could not be more helpful and accommodating.We were a party of 25 very young children and older teenagers,with adults as well. The 5 day break for the party was a resounding success with no complaints at all.The party meal was perfect ,service excellent,every request was granted.The young children were treated so well it was a credit to the staff.I would recommend this Hotel to anyone planning a family gathering as there is so much to do in Killarney for all age groups.The golf for the golfers,excellent Spas,great Scenic Drives The very good animal farm for younger children.Good restaurants in town for an alternative venue..At the Hotel apartments are available and they were excellent.Pitch and Putt and Tennis, a Par 3 Golf Course at the Hotel.A children's pool in the adjoining GlenEagles Hotel.This Hotel has all the requisites for a perfect break or as in our case a big birthday party.It is a beautiful 4 Star plus Hotel,and deserves to be recommended.

Room Tip: .Ask for an upgrade if not satisfied, they are so helpful and want everyone to enjoy the Hotel.had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAK15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Past Guest,
It is great to hear your family Birthday celebration was so enjoyable and that you got to experience the vast range of facilities and activities we have on site. It is wonderful to hear your feedback and that we were able to ensure 25 people of a range of ages all give us the seal of approval. We look forward to seeing you all back again soon.
Kindest regards,
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,624
    392
    99
    29
    22
See reviews for
398
1,149
33
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Brehon, from first off the receptionist was very nice and told us we were being upgraded which was lovely to hear since it was our wedding anniversary weekend and we had not told the hotel! The Food in the restaurant is very varied and delicious. The room was a suite and very spacious with a nice view of the mountains in the distance. Overall verdict we will definately return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank McGrathClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Clare,
Congratulations again on your Wedding Anniversary. We are delighted your enjoyed your stay and thank you for your lovely comments. It is great to hear you will be back to us again and we look forward to welcoming you.
Yours sincerely,
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We spent 3 great nights in the Brehon. It was around the time of my birthday & we were upgraded to a suite on arrival. I had reviwed the hotel on Trip Advisor and had been quite specific in my request for a front facing room away from the lifts and on an upper floor - all met. Our room, and indeed the whole hotel was very comfortable with nice couches in the lobby & the mezzanine. Buffet style breakfast was excellent - lots of options, all freshly cooked & replenished regularly. We ate in both the bar and the dining room - again food very good. We both had fish In the dining room - the salt baked sea bass was impressive. They even went to the trouble of piping Happy Birthday on my desert plate! Effort has been made to turn the vitality suite into something more than just the usual - you wont be doing laps in the pool but it is a very attractive place to spend a couple of hours. Children use the leisure centre in the adjacent Gleneagles. I had the best massage I have had anywhere and you do feel pampered. One of the things that makes the Brehon stand out from the rest is the service. It was faultless - every single member of staff from checking in to our departure was professional and friendly - we felt they genuinely welcomed your business. The other thing I should mention is the value; I spent a good bit of time researching hotels in Killarney because we would normally have gone abroad for the week and we wanted somewhere good. The Brehon was excellent value - we could easily have paid double in 5 star hotels but to be honest it would have been a waste of money because I don't know how they could have done better. The hotel is a leisurely 20-30 min walk into Killarney but there is a shuttle bus there and back every hour or so during the day - costs €2 each way. Two small little niggles were that wi-fi seemed to be only available in the lobby and mezzanine (broadband is available on the TV in the room but its not cheap); the chair/footstool in the relaxation area of the spa could be more comfortable - they are quite upright rather than reclining but it's a minor point. None of these however detracted from the stay. Overall we would heartily recommend the Brehon....and Killarney as well!

Room Tip: Front facing, upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silerr61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Sile,
It really is wonderful to read your review and to be referred to as 'Top Class' is fantastic. We are all delighted with your lovely comments and that you enjoyed your stay and birthday celebrations with us so much. Thank you for your lovely feedback on our Food and Spa. We are particularly trilled with your comments on our staff and service. We really do work hard at ensuring we provide the highest level of service to our guests and it is wonderful when this is recognised in such a positive way. We are working on upgrading our WiFi facilities as usage requirement have increased over the years and we do hope to have a stronger signal in place in the coming months. All our bedrooms do have network points and cables are available with our compliments from reception for use during your stay.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Kindest regards,
Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had our Wedding Civil Ceremony at the Brehon hotel on the 16th August 2013. It was the most perfect day anyone could ask for. Greg was our wedding co-ordinator and I must say he was so good to us and was so professional. The staff we excellent and the hotel itself was fabulous. We stayed 3 nights in the hotel and in no way could we find any fault. Food was fab both in the bar and in the restaurant. Our wedding meal was the best we ever had. I would highly recommend the Brehon and anybody searching for a nice hotel to have their wedding please visit the Brehon if you have not been, I guarantee you will be very impressed. We didn't get time to use the spa but will definitely will be returning soon and the spa is the number one thing on our list.

Best wishes
Declan and Mary

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Declan and Mary,
A big congratulations again from all at The Brehon. We are delighted that your day was 'perfect'. We work hard at ensuring every detail is looked after on your special day to ensure it is a day to remember for you. It was a pleasure for Greg to look after you both and thank you so much for your lovely comments. It is great to hear your feedback and thank you for sharing with other tripadvisor users. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Yours sincerely
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitegate, Clare, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had our wedding here at the Brehon in Sept 2013. From the first day we met Greg to book the wedding to our wedding day, everything we asked for was accomodated. The hotel, food and service was excellent. All the staff were so obliging and happy to help.

I would highly recommend this hotel for any function as it went over and beyond our expectations. It is a gorgous hotel, lovely surroundings, very tasty excellent food and very friendly staff.

We will definately be back.

Dee and Odran

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite was gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deirdre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Deirdre & Odran,
Congratulations again on your recent wedding. We are all delighted with your comments and thank you so much for writing your lovely review. The feedback from all your guests was wonderful and it was a pleasure for Greg to look after you on your very special day. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Fabulous hotel and location. Beautifully maintained and excellent staff. We got a two night stay including dinner in the danu restaurant. I have to say dinner far exceeded my expectations. The food was delicious, the surroundings couldn't be nicer and the service was superb. We ate in the bar the second night and couldn't find a fault, it was perfect. And the icing on the cake, we popped down to the spa, where we enjoyed top class sauna, pool and relaxation.
Needless to say, the breakfast was also superb. This was a well deserved treat for us and we are delighted to have spent it here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bas023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Past Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other tripadvisor users. We are delighted here at The Brehon with your lovely comment and in particular with your feedback on our wonderful food and service in Danú. Thank you also for your comments on our Angsana Spa. We do hope to see you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a two night stay with friends of ours and our toddlers. Got up graded to a family suite which was just amazing so spacious separate living room, walk in wardrobe and ginormous bathroom with corner bath and his n hers sinks.. Couldn't fault the place, luxurious lobby and staff bent over backwards for us. Food good too, ate in the bar a couple of times. Great selection at breakfast. Spa was nice too although the water in the pool was freezing! That's my only complaint. Will Deffo be back loved Killarney..

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jaybee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Past Guest,
It is great to hear your feedback and that you, your friends and your little children enjoyed your stay with us so much. Thank you for your lovely comments on our food. I will be looking into your comments regarding the Spa Vitality Pool. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,114 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,358 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brehon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brehon

Property: The Brehon
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Killarney
#3 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#8 Business Hotel in Killarney
#10 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#20 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brehon 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brehon is a luxurious hotel of unique grace and elegance set amidst Killarney’s breathtaking landscape. Each guestroom and suite reflects a contemporary blend of beauty, style and space. The Brehon also offers visitors a chance to relax and unwind in the Angsana Spa, the European flagship of the famous Thai celebrity haunt The Banyan Tree. The experienced Thai therapists offer a range of holistic spa treatments and massages to refresh and revitalise the spirit, mind and physical being. All treatments carried out in the Angsana Spa are 100% authentic Thai and use only natural ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your The Brehon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brehon Hotel Killarney
Brehon Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing