We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and relaxing”
Review of The Brehon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brehon
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm and relaxing”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Its great we been coming here for years now, good sleep and great breakfast,, plus you can catch a show next door,, the town Killarney is 15 min walk or 10 euro taxi away , i been coming there for years and even its booked out online there is allways a room available if i call in,, well if there is a wedding they will recomd a nearby hotel,, myself my wife and kid love it..,

Room Tip: Wowzerrrrr !!! its a great relaxing hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,621
    392
    99
    29
    22
See reviews for
398
1,146
33
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed in the Brehon for one night in August and have to say it was definitely one of my favourite hotels in Ireland.
Great location, great room, amazing breakfast, extra comfortable bed, courteous & friendly staff & a trip to the spa which totally exceeded expectations. My only regret is that iI could not stay longer! Will definitely be back to the Brehon - thank you for an amazing stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

What can I say about The Brehon..! Second stay this time for two nights to celebrate my birthday. Everything about this hotel continues to impress me - Staff, food, leisure facilities, atmosphere, setting... This stay I also had the pleasure of arranging a treatment at the Angsana Spa and everything about the experience was sheer bliss - I left so relaxed and revitalised! The Brehon is to me a hotel where even if the Irish weather isn't that welcoming and you don't feel like going outdoors there is so much to do in the hotel you can happily spend your stay without venturing out. The staff were all so helpful and obliging - my boyfriend had even arranged for a cake with candles to be brought out by our waiter and waitress and they sang Happy Birthday - to me that is going the extra mile!! Highly recommending this hotel and we will return..again!

Room Tip: Shop around on the web to get the best deals. Any preferences for room location, etc. just mention o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Recently stayed here for a weekend, we got an upgrade on arrival. Rooms could do with abit of love as the carpets are warn, windows dirty and in general, id expect abit more from a 4 star hotel.

Breakfast was good and dinner was lovely and well presented in the restaurant.

The pool was fine , perhaps a bit cold, the steam room in the back was out of order and was disappointed this was not fixed in our stay. Water jugs were never filled and in general , staff could be more attentive in this area.

Overall i didnt feel i got good value for what i paid and probably wouldnt stay here again..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin_morrissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We found the staff excellent - they were very happy to help wherever and whenever they could. The food was marvellous and the waiters and waitresses very attentive. It is situated very close to Killarney, try the "Ring of Kerry" bus tour whilst you're there - booked through the Concierge - this was much easier than driving and cheaper too !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JuneCannock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is our third year in a row staying at the Brehon hotel. The first year (2011) we went we fell in love with the place, rooms were lovely, bar food was excellent, restaurant lovely and the spa is to die for. We enjoyed three nights and lovely every minute of staying there and decided it was probly the best hotel we had ever stayed in. Our next stay was in July 2012 for three nights we were so looking forward to our stay but we left feeling the place had gone down hill. Our king bed was a zip and link bed which was not properly linked together, shower gel bottle was half used, breakfast each morning consisted of empty shaffing dishes bearing in mind we were down for breakfast at about 8.30am each morning, dinner was included one evening in our package-restaurant gave us 4 different menus to choose from, apologised for the delay in partners dinner several times and the list went on.... on check out i the receptionist asked me how our stay was and i told him the problems we had. he walked off and came back with a complimentary voucher for a nights stay. all i wanted was an apology but didnt receive one i also left a comment card which the hotel never followed up on. I always give the hotel the benefit of fixing problems before writing reviews so this year we headed back in July for 4 nights, it took four calls to get the reservation made the phone wasn't answered twice. I wanted to pay for an upgrade but girl told me as she was in a good mood would give me a complimentary upgrade-on arrival into the room was actually put in the same room as the year before! enjoyed our stay but certainly has never lived up to the expectations we had after the first year we stayed there. Don't think i would not return as there is a great choice of hotels in Killarney and would try somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Recently stayed for a wedding and can not find fault with any aspect of the stay. We required an early check in if possible and whilst it was explained during a quick call in the days preceding check in, that the hotel was at capacity the night before, they would endevour to have a room ready if we arrived at a certain time. We did and they did!
Sampled lunch in the bar, chicken wrap and sea food chowder, the chowder was amazing and quite filling on it's own with the bread provided, which must be noted is of the delicious Irish Soda variety.
Great pint of Murphy's in the bar too.
The bedroom was very spacious, king size bed, large bathroom, had a rear view but given it was a quick stay overnight, this wasn't a big deal. However rooms to the front enjoy a splendid view over the lake.
For any interested in using the venue as a wedding location, I would highly recommend, the foyer for drinks reception had its own mini bar and the food during the event itself was fantastic.
Buffet breakfast had all the staples covered -with the addition of pancakes.

Well done all involved, will definitely return on any future stays in Killarney.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front afford views of the beautiful lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,111 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,354 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#27 of 38 in Killarney
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brehon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brehon

Property: The Brehon
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Killarney
#3 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#8 Business Hotel in Killarney
#10 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#20 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brehon 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brehon is a luxurious hotel of unique grace and elegance set amidst Killarney’s breathtaking landscape. Each guestroom and suite reflects a contemporary blend of beauty, style and space. The Brehon also offers visitors a chance to relax and unwind in the Angsana Spa, the European flagship of the famous Thai celebrity haunt The Banyan Tree. The experienced Thai therapists offer a range of holistic spa treatments and massages to refresh and revitalise the spirit, mind and physical being. All treatments carried out in the Angsana Spa are 100% authentic Thai and use only natural ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your The Brehon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brehon Hotel Killarney
Brehon Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing