We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The Brehon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brehon
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cannock
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We found the staff excellent - they were very happy to help wherever and whenever they could. The food was marvellous and the waiters and waitresses very attentive. It is situated very close to Killarney, try the "Ring of Kerry" bus tour whilst you're there - booked through the Concierge - this was much easier than driving and cheaper too !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JuneCannock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,621
    392
    99
    29
    22
See reviews for
398
1,146
33
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is our third year in a row staying at the Brehon hotel. The first year (2011) we went we fell in love with the place, rooms were lovely, bar food was excellent, restaurant lovely and the spa is to die for. We enjoyed three nights and lovely every minute of staying there and decided it was probly the best hotel we had ever stayed in. Our next stay was in July 2012 for three nights we were so looking forward to our stay but we left feeling the place had gone down hill. Our king bed was a zip and link bed which was not properly linked together, shower gel bottle was half used, breakfast each morning consisted of empty shaffing dishes bearing in mind we were down for breakfast at about 8.30am each morning, dinner was included one evening in our package-restaurant gave us 4 different menus to choose from, apologised for the delay in partners dinner several times and the list went on.... on check out i the receptionist asked me how our stay was and i told him the problems we had. he walked off and came back with a complimentary voucher for a nights stay. all i wanted was an apology but didnt receive one i also left a comment card which the hotel never followed up on. I always give the hotel the benefit of fixing problems before writing reviews so this year we headed back in July for 4 nights, it took four calls to get the reservation made the phone wasn't answered twice. I wanted to pay for an upgrade but girl told me as she was in a good mood would give me a complimentary upgrade-on arrival into the room was actually put in the same room as the year before! enjoyed our stay but certainly has never lived up to the expectations we had after the first year we stayed there. Don't think i would not return as there is a great choice of hotels in Killarney and would try somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Recently stayed for a wedding and can not find fault with any aspect of the stay. We required an early check in if possible and whilst it was explained during a quick call in the days preceding check in, that the hotel was at capacity the night before, they would endevour to have a room ready if we arrived at a certain time. We did and they did!
Sampled lunch in the bar, chicken wrap and sea food chowder, the chowder was amazing and quite filling on it's own with the bread provided, which must be noted is of the delicious Irish Soda variety.
Great pint of Murphy's in the bar too.
The bedroom was very spacious, king size bed, large bathroom, had a rear view but given it was a quick stay overnight, this wasn't a big deal. However rooms to the front enjoy a splendid view over the lake.
For any interested in using the venue as a wedding location, I would highly recommend, the foyer for drinks reception had its own mini bar and the food during the event itself was fantastic.
Buffet breakfast had all the staples covered -with the addition of pancakes.

Well done all involved, will definitely return on any future stays in Killarney.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front afford views of the beautiful lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here for 2 nights and it was great really comfortable beds and great service. Lovely rooms and the food was amazing! The spa was great and the pools were amazing! The bar had great drinks and was comfortable and you could relax and enjoy a nice evening

Room Tip: Everywheres great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear William,
Thank you for your lovely review and sharing your experience following your stay with us here at The Brehon. We do hope to see you back again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed in the Brehon with our 5 year old son mid week in August. Upon our check-in we were kindly upgraded to a bigger suite, a lovely touch upon arrival. The room was sophisticated, spacious, warm and full of mod cons. Probably one of the nicest rooms we have stayed in, in Ireland. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet in the mornings with food of high standard and something to suit all. We found with our 5 year old son that we could avail of the childrens facilities in the sister hotel next door which was very convenient and our son especially enjoyed The Captain Jack show there. The next time we are in Killarney, we will certainly be re-booking this hotel. Thanks to the Brehon for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Car80Cian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Past Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay so much with us. The Captain Jack show is a real treat for kids! I will make sure all our staff are aware of your lovely comments and we do hope to see you all back again soon.
Yours sincerely
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Three of us stayed three nights in August and The Brehon was exceptional. From check in to check out everyone and everything was of the highest quality. Both of our rooms were spacious clean and comfortable and one room facing the front of the building had a wonderful view of the mountains. All staff were very friendly, helpful and courteous and all areas of the hotel were clean and comfortable.. Breakfast was served in a beautiful area and offered a wide variety of food both hot and cold and everything was kept well supplied. The bar area was very comfortable and the menu had a good selection to choose from. The hotel is located outside of Killarney itself, so it's quieter then being in town, but it is close (within a five minute drive or taxi) from town and most of the area's attractions. The Brehon tops our list of all the hotels (6 others) that we stayed in during our trip.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of the building have wonderful views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RK_LI_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCurran, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Past Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much. It really is wonderful to hear such great feedback.
We look forward to seeing you back again some time.
Yours sincerely
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

we stayed for 2 nights on B&B basis , as i hadnt booked directly with hotel i did say in booking.com that i would like a upper level room with view as was a surprise present for birthday and we got all that plus a card and chocolates which i thought was very thoughtful!!! staff were very friendly and helpful, the food at breakfast was plentiful and found nothing wrong only 1st morning the egg and mushrooms could have done with being hotter but thats only a minor issue!!! the rooms are fab and clean we had a deluxe double would love to go back again sometime and try the next up :). walk into town isnt too far if up for stroll in which we did prob 15-20min walk to plaza hotel roughly.I would definately be returning to the Behon for another stay and recommend it!!!

Room Tip: ask for upper level front facing rooms for a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kacey42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBrehonTeam, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Kacey,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Brehon for your birthday celebrations. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind words of encouragement. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Yours sincerely
Lorraine Salmon
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,111 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,354 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#27 of 38 in Killarney
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brehon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brehon

Property: The Brehon
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Killarney
#3 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#8 Business Hotel in Killarney
#10 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#20 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brehon 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brehon is a luxurious hotel of unique grace and elegance set amidst Killarney’s breathtaking landscape. Each guestroom and suite reflects a contemporary blend of beauty, style and space. The Brehon also offers visitors a chance to relax and unwind in the Angsana Spa, the European flagship of the famous Thai celebrity haunt The Banyan Tree. The experienced Thai therapists offer a range of holistic spa treatments and massages to refresh and revitalise the spirit, mind and physical being. All treatments carried out in the Angsana Spa are 100% authentic Thai and use only natural ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your The Brehon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brehon Hotel Killarney
Brehon Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing