We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class hotel”
Review of The Brehon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brehon
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Brehon for 1 night in June. We really enjoyed our stay. The staff were so friendly and helpful especially the receptionist and bar staff. The room was beautiful & the food & service were great, we will certainly return for a longer stay next time,

Room Tip: Just enjoy your stay. The beds are so comfortable. Best sleep ever in a hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,258)
There are newer reviews for The Brehon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,559 - 1,565 of 2,258 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed for three nights at the beginning of July - we were very fortunate with the amazing weather so i think this helped no end! Nevertheless I was extremely impressed by the level of service and the beautiful room which had an entrance hall and a huge bath with beautiful views. The spa was also wonderful and I really enjoyed my waves massage and the high level of service at the spa.
I also could not fault the restaurant as we both had a delicious three course meal and perfect wine to match.
The only tiny couple of quibbles I had personally were the 10 euro per person charge for breakfast room service and also the fact that there's no free WiFi in the rooms. I've stayed in many luxury hotels and I've never been charged extra for tray service when I've already paid for breakfast. I don't agree with this. And all modern hotels really need free WiFi in bedrooms. Small things though, and they didn't take away from a wonderful stay. I'd highly recommend this hotel if you're stating in Killarney. It is better then it appears on the website!

Room Tip: We had a superior room at the front of the hotel - really great views!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HayleyESullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed at the Brehon in July '13 for two nights to attend a wedding (and ended staying for an extra night) . Hotel is very clean & well maintained .Staff are friendly and helpful espically the main desk. Entertainment in the bar was very good .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCurran, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Stephen,
Thank you for your wonderful review and for sharing you experience with others. We do hope to see you back again soon.
Yours sincerely
Gary Curran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Myself & my husband have just spent 3 nights in The Brehon and we could not have wished for a better hotel or short break. The staff, facilities, food and all round atmosphere at the hotel is second to none. A special mention to John Joe in the bar, who was very helpful throughout our stay. A lovely man! We cannot wait to return to The Brehon. I would highly recommend this hotel!
Sheena and Gavin Quinn

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shinty1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCurran, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Sheena and Gavin,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. To be compared to Heaven is wonderful! I will pass your lovely comments on to all our staff and in particular John Joe. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Gary Curran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great stay here. Hotel staff are very attentive, check in was swift and flawless (no attitudes, no awkward silences, no vacant stares), you felt like a priority which was nice. We were offered help with our bags (becoming a rare offer in hotels now), which we declined. The lifts were clean and pleasant, quickly accessible and no fuss. Ours was a standard double bedroom which was clean, breezy and large, with a big bathroom. The pool in the Angsana spa is lovely and peaceful. Steam rooms and sauna the same. The in-hotel restaurant is a must - order the steak. One of the best dinners I've eaten. Breakfast in the mornings is also very well catered for. Overall a very pleasant stay and all with very good, friendly staff. The only downside was the 11.30 a.m. checkout time which felt a bit early considering check in on our day of arrival wasn't until 3pm.

Room Tip: Be advised on the 11.30 a.m checkout time which is quite early. Top floor rooms will offer better vi...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clouise_m989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCurran, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear past guest,
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to see you back again soon.
Yours sincerely
Gary Curran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Impressive reception area, very friendly and helpful staff, large bedroom and good value bar food. I eat a light breakfast so did not fully use the buffet but the breakfast room, presumably the main hotel restaurant was very pleasant , and the coffee was good

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCurran, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Stephen,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and share your experience with others. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to see you back again soon.
Your sincerely
Gary Curran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

What a lovely hotel with pleasant staff. We decided to return to Killarney, despite having a hotel booked in Dublin, because it had a lot of things to do. We stayed next door at the Gleneagle hotel, but were unimpressed, so we decided to give the Brehon a try. What a great decision! The family room gave us more than enough space and was nice and cool. The spa was lovely and calm. I will definitely be staying there again!

Room Tip: For a family with 2 adults with 3 children, room 205 was perfect.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCurran, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Sheila,
Wow, to be described as 'Top Class' really is wonderful. We are so delighted you and your family had such a good stay with us and thank you for sharing your views with others. We do hope you will be back again soon and we look forward to seeing you then.
Yours sincerely
Gary Curran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
2,297 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 39 in Killarney
1,354 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#2 of 39 in Killarney
1,423 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 39 in Killarney
2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brehon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brehon

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Killarney
#3 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#8 Business Hotel in Killarney
#9 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#20 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $135 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brehon 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brehon is a luxurious hotel of unique grace and elegance set amidst Killarney’s breathtaking landscape. Each guestroom and suite reflects a contemporary blend of beauty, style and space. The Brehon also offers visitors a chance to relax and unwind in the Angsana Spa, the European flagship of the famous Thai celebrity haunt The Banyan Tree. The experienced Thai therapists offer a range of holistic spa treatments and massages to refresh and revitalise the spirit, mind and physical being. All treatments carried out in the Angsana Spa are 100% authentic Thai and use only natural ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Brehon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brehon Hotel Killarney
Brehon Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing