We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class”
Review of The Brehon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brehon
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top Class”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

What a lovely hotel with pleasant staff. We decided to return to Killarney, despite having a hotel booked in Dublin, because it had a lot of things to do. We stayed next door at the Gleneagle hotel, but were unimpressed, so we decided to give the Brehon a try. What a great decision! The family room gave us more than enough space and was nice and cool. The spa was lovely and calm. I will definitely be staying there again!

Room Tip: For a family with 2 adults with 3 children, room 205 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCurran, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Sheila,
Wow, to be described as 'Top Class' really is wonderful. We are so delighted you and your family had such a good stay with us and thank you for sharing your views with others. We do hope you will be back again soon and we look forward to seeing you then.
Yours sincerely
Gary Curran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,622
    392
    99
    29
    22
See reviews for
398
1,147
33
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. We had two rooms, one double and one triple. The triple was huge and clean. However the ac was horrible and the room was very hot, you couldn't open the windows since they were painted shut. In the double room, they open the doors to the small porch but bugs came in. The message light on our phone was blinking. When I called down to ask about it they said it would go away, when I called again they told me very rudely that it would go away. We ended up unplugging the phone and the light was still flashing, I was very upset at they way the night time desk staff treated us when we complained about the phone and ac. The buffet breakfast was also terrible. Watery eggs, fruit from a jar, hard pancakes both days! However, the bar was very friendly and let us eat even though it was right at food service closing time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCurran, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear past guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write you review following you stay at The Brehon. Guest feedback is very important to us.
We experienced problems with our air conditioning system recently when a unit failed which affected several rooms. Work is currently taking place on the this and I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused to you. It was unfortunate to happen during such a hot weather spell.
I am sorry our breakfast not not up to your standard, as you will see from other Trip Advisor reviews our breakfast rates very highly. I am indeed taking your comments on board to see if any improvements needs to be made.
Thank you for your lovely comments on our bar staff and I will ensure they are all aware.
Thank you again for taking to time to share your views.
Yours sincerely,
Gary Curran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Myself and my husband have been staying in the Brehon at least once a year since 2006,and each time we stay it just keeps getting better.the last time we stayed we got room 401 on the top floor.the room is huge,has its own entrance and a balcony,the views are amazing.the food and choice in the danu restaurant is fantastic.all the staff are so helpful and friendly throughout the hotel,I cannot recommend the hotel enough.we will definitely keep coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tillybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Myself & My Wife Stayed Here A Few Weeks Ago. We Recently Got Married AndA Friend Of Ours Booked Us Into The Bridal Suite For A Few Nights. It Was Incredible. The Room Was So Nice & The Bathroom Was Huge. Nicely Situated For Everything In Killarney. Killarney Park, Town Centre & Lots Of Other Great Things To Do Around Killarney. The Staff Where Also Very Nice, Helping Us Find Things To Do. Food Was Beautiful And A Nice Bar Too. Breakfast Was Really Nice Too. Highly Recommend To Anyone Staying In Killarney & We'll Definitley Be Back Every Year To Celebrate Our Wedding Anniversary........

Room Tip: All Rooms As This Hotel Is Beautiful No Matter What Room You Stay In....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed with my partner and son recently and I can't think of one negative with this hotel. It is the third time we have stayed here and it certainly won't be the last (I already am planning our next trip to The Brehon). Staff are so lovely here, rooms are beautiful, cosy and always so clean. It was our first trip away with our son and when I informed the manager of this we were given a free room upgrade. The interior is really modern and the food superb. This hotel does not disappoint!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Steph5378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCurran, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Past Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you and your family back again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Gary Curran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
175 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed in the Brehon where friends of ours were having their wedding reception. Its a very impressive hotel. The interior is very well maintained and finished to a high standard. The staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was large very clean with a really nice marble bathroom. The wedding reception itself was well catered and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richiecuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCurran, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Gary Curran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have stayed at the Brehon a few times each year since it opened and i must say its as good
now as it was back then. The rooms are excellent, bright and airy and well presented. The
hotel while modern has a lovely character about it and it is very easy to stroll in and out. The
food is lovely as well as breakfast, room service is top class and staff are generally excellent.
We have recommended the Brehon to many of our friends and they always get back and thank
us.

Billy Falvey

Room Tip: We always try and stay on the third floor as you hear very little in the event of wedding etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank billy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCurran, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Billy,
Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review and share your lovely comments with other trip advisor users. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Yours sincerely
Gary Curran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,113 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,355 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brehon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brehon

Property: The Brehon
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Killarney
#3 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#8 Business Hotel in Killarney
#10 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#20 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brehon 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brehon is a luxurious hotel of unique grace and elegance set amidst Killarney’s breathtaking landscape. Each guestroom and suite reflects a contemporary blend of beauty, style and space. The Brehon also offers visitors a chance to relax and unwind in the Angsana Spa, the European flagship of the famous Thai celebrity haunt The Banyan Tree. The experienced Thai therapists offer a range of holistic spa treatments and massages to refresh and revitalise the spirit, mind and physical being. All treatments carried out in the Angsana Spa are 100% authentic Thai and use only natural ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your The Brehon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brehon Hotel Killarney
Brehon Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing