We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous from start to finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Brehon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Brehon
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous from start to finish”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Rooms are gorgeous, bar is lovely with great variety on the menu & children well catered for. Breakfast will set you up for the day & the Spa facilities are just fantastic. However, the real gems of this hotel are the staff, particularly Laura on reception. She gave us wonderful suggestions for restaurants & things to do in the area. All the staff are so helpful & efficient, you can see they have real pride in their hotel. The seating area at the front of the hotel is also a lovely touch to enjoy some drinks outside when the sun is shining, I look forward to returning to the Brehon again, would recommend it to guests of all types.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCurran, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Alison,
Thank you for you wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and will ensure all our staff are aware of your lovely comments.
We do hope to see you back again soon.
Yours sincerely
Gary Curran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,577
    379
    95
    27
    19
See reviews for
379
1,110
32
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

warm welcome, very friendly staff, very enjoyable break. rooms were beautiful. received upgrade at no extra cost. leisure facilities were first class. lounge areas were most relaxing. would certainly recommend to anyone. once you walk in you feel relaxed. loved lounge areas just to sit and relax

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shepnini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Having stayed at The Brehon for the first time this weekend its definitely on my top ten hotels to return to. Staff were so friendly, efficient and professional. Highly recommended. Having my car keys taken from me by Arthur on arrival and had the treat of having my car parked for me was a lovely start, Every time we entered the lobby there was a staff member upon us to see if they could help in anyway. Service at both dinner and breakfast was excellent, very attentive, restaurant was busy but still very relaxing as if we were the only ones there. Karin was an excellent server, polite and professional. We both had mushroom soup to start, followed by steak and chicken, steak was a little bit tough but had great flavour. Maybe something to mention to their suppliers. Dessert was the perfect finish to a beautiful meal. Our room was spacious comfortable and spotlessly clean. The noise from the bathroom sink was a bit annoying, we mentioned it on the comment card so hopefully it will be attended to. I would def recommend the Brehon and will definitely stay there when in the Killarney area again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank crazychickcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Having heard so much about this hotel,I felt it was time that I checked it out for myself. Myself and my friend went for the spa experience and the girly night, and what an experience we had. The room was spotless and there was so much space for two. The staff were very friendly. Having spent most of the day in the spa that is what I can mostly comment on it and it was fabulous. The spa workers are world class and I could have not felt more relaxed after leaving the place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corkgirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We went to the Brehon for a weekend to celebrate our anniversary plus my wife's 50th birthday, we found the staff to be excellent and very friendly. The room was spacious and comfortable, the food was great and we were delighted with the design on the desert bowls to mark our special occasion,we also enjoyed the bottle of bubbly that was presented to us at the dinner on Saturday night. I look forward to returning to the Brehon in the future.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Have been to Killarney many times over the years and stayed in some lovely hotels, but have now found my favourite THE BREHON.
Have so far stayed there three times - June 2012, March 2013 and June 2013.

Rooms beautiful, spacious and spotless clean,
Great breakfast, bar food and evening meal,
staff kind, friendly, and helpful in every way
BREHON FANTASTIC !
What more can I say.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCurran, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Maureen,
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We work hard at ensuring we provide the highest possible standards to our guests and are delighted when it is recognised. To be described as Killarney's Best really is wonderful and I will ensure all our staff are aware of your feedback.
We look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Gary Curran
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I spent a week at the Brehon in February, after trying other hotels in Killarney. This is definitely my favored hotel in the area. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is beautiful. The rooms are spacy, clean and well furnished. The food is good (As good as food in Ireland can be.). Internet connections are available in the room, as well as in the public areas.
Overall a very enjoyable experience and I will be back there next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
1,993 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
1,316 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
1,457 reviews
0.8 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.9 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brehon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brehon

Property: The Brehon
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Killarney
#3 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#5 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#8 Business Hotel in Killarney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#20 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brehon 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brehon is a luxurious hotel of unique grace and elegance set amidst Killarney’s breathtaking landscape. Each guestroom and suite reflects a contemporary blend of beauty, style and space. The Brehon also offers visitors a chance to relax and unwind in the Angsana Spa, the European flagship of the famous Thai celebrity haunt The Banyan Tree. The experienced Thai therapists offer a range of holistic spa treatments and massages to refresh and revitalise the spirit, mind and physical being. All treatments carried out in the Angsana Spa are 100% authentic Thai and use only natural ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brehon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brehon Hotel Killarney
Brehon Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing