We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay Heaven”
Review of The Brehon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Brehon
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed there overnight last weekend and I can honestly say, the staff, hotel facilites and rooms all lived up to expectations. Breakfast is buffet and is very tasty and the breakfast area rooms are truly bright and spacious. Entire stay very accommodating - a few minor issues with bathroom in our room, shower head in bath was loose and power of shower very poor.The leisure centre, gym and spa - all superb.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KildareFamilyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,678 - 1,684 of 2,350 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

My girlfriend & I decided to stay in the Brehon to celebrate our anniversary. The location, setting and 4* rating were all factors in choosing this hotel. We booked online and got a really good deal - €220 for two nights B&B and one evening meal. We arrived on a Friday, approx. 10 mins before the time that we had said we would arrive yet our room was not yet ready. We decided to eat in the bar while we waited so as not to waste any time and our bags were taken from us to be delivered to our room when it was ready. The reception area & lobby are very impressive, clean and welcoming. It's big and bright yet cosy due to a number of gas fires in the lobby area. The menu in the bar is small and nothing extraordinary but we were happy enough with it. Our food arrived we had not been given cutlery or napkins so we had to go ask for them. On finishing our very average lunch we went to our room. We asked for good views and we weren't disappointed. We had two windows in our room with beautiful views of the local mountains. The room was a bit chilly so the air conditioning was needed to warm it. We had mentioned when booking that it was our anniversary so when we arrived to the room there was a card and chocolates waiting for us. A lovely warm gesture. We were, however, upset and annoyed that the staff had presumed that we were celebrating our wedding anniversary (we never said we were married) and that we were a heterosexual couple. They had written Mr & Mrs on the card, having made wild presumptions. A little more tact & fewer presumptions would have been appreciated and caused no offense. The room itself felt a little tired, in need of refurbishment and there was an unpleasant smell. The sheets were rough and very worn, not the standard you expect from a 4* hotel. There was white residue/mould on the curtain railings which gave the room a shabby, neglected feel to it. Other than that it was clean, the bathroom was impressive and it had everything that we needed.
At breakfast we were blown away by the selection of food on offer and the prompt service. As I sat and began to butter my toast I noticed that there were two large green areas of mould on my bread. We quickly brought this to the attention of the staff who promptly removed the bread from the service area. I was disgusted by this and couldn't understand how it happened in a 4* hotel.
We returned to the hotel at approx 2.30pm to find that our room had not been serviced - we had no clean towels, no toilet roll and no milk for coffee. I called reception who very promptly sent someone up to our room. I was very annoyed and disappointed at this stage at the very poor service & standard of the hotel. It was one thing after another.
We availed of our evening meal on the last evening in Danu Restauarant. The staff were very warm, welcoming, friendly and helpful. They made suggestions about what wine to choose and advised that if we did not finish it with our meal that we could bring the bottle to the bar. Good to know. Our starters were very impressive, I had the monkfish, my girlfriend the cured salmon. The presentation was beautiful. We both opted for the Bass for mains. Again this was very nice, tasty and well presented. The accompanying potatoes and vegetables however really let it down. The potatoes were hard and inedible, the vegetables dry and unpleasant. Dessert was average, I had a dried out brownie that tasted rather stale. The panna cotta was very good - well presented, tasty & light.
All in all, I was terribly disappointed with my stay in the Brehon - I would not recommend this to anyone and certainly would never consider staying again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLaw1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at The Brehon recently while attending a wedding and I have to say it was top class.The reception area is huge and the Receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Our room was very bright & airy and the bathroom had both a shower & bath.Breakfast was excellent with a great variety of both hot & cold food.We had food in the Hotel Bar in the evening and again it was very good and reasonably priced.The Hotel is about 10 minutes walk from town which is very lively with music in all the Bars. I could not find any fault with this Hotel and will certainly stay there again in the future .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCurran, Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Peter,
Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Brehon again soon.
Yours sincerely
Gary Curran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Brehon for one night in May and had a really nice time. The hotel certainly has a wow factor from the location and the grounds to the building itself and walking into the reception area we knew we wouldn't be disappointed! We had a room on the first floor at the back over looking the car park and tennis courts which was nice and quiet. The room decor was lovely and we were surprised to find we had a balcony which was nice as the weather was so good when we were there. The bathroom was large with both a bath and separate shower. We walked into Killarney town centre for dinner which took 15-20 minutes and took a taxi back which only cost 6 euro. The buffet breakfast was really nice and set us up for the day with lots of options available, the sausages and scones were delicious. The Brehon is perfectly positioned to experience Killarney National Park, the Muckross House entrance is just up the road when turning left out of the hotel. Unfortunately we weren't able to stay longer and didn't get to experience the spa so hope to come back for longer next time when we intend on driving the Ring of Kerry.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank StarryEyed13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCurran, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Past Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your description that The Brehon has the Wow factor. We work hard at ensuring all our guests receive the highest possible standard of service and I am delighted this was you experience.
We look forward to see you back again in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Gary Curran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Having stayed in many hotels in Ireland i think the Brehon is by far the best. From the reception, bar and all the staff they couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms are fantastic with great big spotless bathrooms. Breakfast is excellent with such a range to suit everyones palate {try the pancakes with maple syrup} The management and staff are a credit to this great hotel. Thanks a million for a great stay, can't wait to go back. [10/10 ]

Room Tip: corner suites are very big with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Regina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCurran, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear past guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review. I will pass your lovely comments about our staff to everyone. It is comments such as yours which makes all the hard work worth while.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Gary Curran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My mum and I have just returned from yet another wonderful stay at The Brehon Hotel in Killarney. We stayed Tuesday to Friday and enjoyed the food in the hotel bar and in the Danu restaurant. Great variety and excellent cuisine. buffet style breakfast, very enjoyable and fresh, something for everyone.
The vitality suite was as pleasurable as ever, so peaceful and tranquil. The hotel is in a great spot, near enough to walk into town and a lovely walk too but nestled in a lovely green area with mountain view from our suite (205). Good shopping in Killarney from Penneys and Dunnes to the Woollen mills and great boutiques and cafes/restaurants. Wonderful value and a peaceful and relaxing trip, would highly recommend it especially to all grown ups (book The Glendagle the neighbouring/sister hotel for families with small children, aimed at families). Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKPosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCurran, General Manager at The Brehon, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Past Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review and lovely comments. We are delighted you and your mother had such a good stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Gary Curran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

stayed at the brehon on sun 2nd and mon 3rd june with my wife ,enjoyed our stay as always at the hotel ,spotless clean room and bathroom.staff friendly nothing too much bother.good food and fab breakfast .near to the town and park. we try to stay here and visit killarney at least 3 times a year,and look forward going back to killarney and the brehon again

Room Tip: stayed on 4th floor better view and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mckw17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 mi away
Great Southern Killarney
Great Southern Killarney
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,357 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,392 reviews
1.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,620 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brehon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brehon

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Killarney
#3 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#6 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#8 Business Hotel in Killarney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#18 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $133 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brehon 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brehon is a luxurious hotel of unique grace and elegance set amidst Killarney’s breathtaking landscape. Each guestroom and suite reflects a contemporary blend of beauty, style and space. The Brehon also offers visitors a chance to relax and unwind in the Angsana Spa, the European flagship of the famous Thai celebrity haunt The Banyan Tree. The experienced Thai therapists offer a range of holistic spa treatments and massages to refresh and revitalise the spirit, mind and physical being. All treatments carried out in the Angsana Spa are 100% authentic Thai and use only natural ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Brehon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brehon Hotel Killarney
Brehon Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing