We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of The Brehon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brehon
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel and the rooms are of excellent standard. We had an excellent view from our room of the Kerry mountains which really is what you pay for. There are large windows all over the hotel with this view. The service and food were a little disappointing at times, especially breakfast. I felt it did not match the standard of the rest of the hotel and the experience but overall we had a very pleasant stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire12126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,622
    392
    99
    29
    22
See reviews for
398
1,147
33
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My family and I recently ate in the bar for a late lunch. I ordered chowder to start and Pasta for main, but the two dishes arrived together.. this was most inconvenient and the waitress showed little understanding. Anyways following this blip, 2 of us decided to order desserts and coffees, my lemon meringue wasn't homemade, the lemon filling wasn't fresh, and didn't taste of lemon at all, the topping wasn't meringue like either and even the cream on the side wasn't fresh cream.. I was very disappointed! My mum ordered the Strawberry Gateaux and again this was disappointing, false appearance, lots of preservatives/colourings and wasn't homemade. I won't be back for the desserts!! Staff in the bar were inattentive. I have visited hotel on many occasions but this time my experience wasn't the best.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthCorkCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahir
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is 3rd time staying in the Brehon ,and I hate to say it but I feel standards have slipped, especially in the restaurant ,Breakfasts are average and the set dinner was very poor
.Rooms are fine but starting to get a bit tired looking .The staff are fine and are friendly and helpfull.
The spa area had a few items not working and is not well lit .It would be if the lights were working properly with a lot of blown bulbs
The bar has no atmosphere whatsoever but there is allways the pub in the gleneagles which is fine
Its still a good hotel but as I said is not as good as what is was 4 years ago or maybe familiarity might be getting to me

Room Tip: rooms at front are huge with plenty of room and bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank utmpiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wicklow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed three nights in early August and it was memorable. We recieved a very warm welcome on arrival and the staff through out the entire hotel were friendly and helpfull. Lovely room and delicious food. we will definitley be back and spread the word about this Gem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terry982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Nice rooms, but hotel has zero atmosphere. Great location to the town itself. Pool area is also nice, very relaxing. Might be more people around at weekends !
Breakfast was very good, bar staff could pay more attention , was standing at the bar for 5 mins waiting to be served while there seemed to be a good number of staff standing around !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conkers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardnacrusha, County Clare
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We recently went to the Brehon for our 10th Wedding anniversary. The hotel is impressive from the outside which promises so much and the experience did not disappoint. When we checked in we were given a complimentary upgrade to a suite for our anniversary and when we got to the room there was an anniversary card from the hotel and some chocolates, we were absolutely thrilled. The room was gorgeous with a fabulous view of the mountains. The whole stay was fab, the breakfast was top class and the staff were very friendly. I think for the first time ever I did not have one complaint with the hotel. Also Killarney in general was lovely, we hadn't been in years and it is really nice. There is loads to do and see. The hotel is a short walk to the centre of town too which is a bonus. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnemarieMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed two nights at the hotel in a standard room bed and breakfast. We were warmly welcomed by the front desk staff upon arrival which is always a good sign. Our room was clean and had everything we required with a very comfortable kingsized bed. We did eat at the bar on the first night and found the service and food to be very good. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk in to the centre of town which was not a problem for us as I could walk off the Guiness consumed whilst out. Overall we were very happy with the choice of hotel and could not fault the quality of service by the staff.

Room Tip: The front rooms face the National Park, the rear the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingademon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,113 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,355 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brehon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brehon

Property: The Brehon
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Killarney
#3 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#8 Business Hotel in Killarney
#10 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#11 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#20 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brehon 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brehon is a luxurious hotel of unique grace and elegance set amidst Killarney’s breathtaking landscape. Each guestroom and suite reflects a contemporary blend of beauty, style and space. The Brehon also offers visitors a chance to relax and unwind in the Angsana Spa, the European flagship of the famous Thai celebrity haunt The Banyan Tree. The experienced Thai therapists offer a range of holistic spa treatments and massages to refresh and revitalise the spirit, mind and physical being. All treatments carried out in the Angsana Spa are 100% authentic Thai and use only natural ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your The Brehon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brehon Hotel Killarney
Brehon Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing