We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodlands Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 141 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“The ultimate B&B”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Having stayed there several times in the last number of years, it was a clear choice of what B&B we were going to stay in on our most recent trip to Killarney.The owner Paud and his wife Julia are two of the most welcoming people we have had the pleasure of meeting.Paud went out of his way to ensure that we had a pleasant comfortable stay. The B&B is very well situated as it is within walking distance of the town.Paud's knowledge of the local area is second to none. we look forward to returning to this wonderful B&B in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerieocall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    36
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
70
141
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luimneach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

A cosy little bed and breakfast run by a very nice Killarney couple. They were extremely pleasant, practical, and so easy to get along with and talk to. Paudie came down to towards the town centre in his car lead me to the house after I called him to say I had made it as far as Killarney (I was travelling by bus). The house itself situated about 10 minutes of a pleasant walk outside of the town, and what a pleasant walk it is. I would recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac_an_tsionnaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed in 8 B&Bs during a 10-day trip to Ireland and whereas most were in a similar price range, in terms of standard of accommodation and hospitality Woodlands was a clear "No.1". Handily located to the town centre and national park, and with convenient off-street parking the B&B offered spacious, comfortable and well-appointed rooms as well as warm and helpful hosts with a lovely sense of humour. They even allowed us to leave the car there after checking out while we cruised and cycled the Ross Castle/Gap of Dunloe circuit and then on our return patched up one of our number who had fallen off his bike! A bonus for New Zealanders is that Patrick is a keen rugby man and a bit of an admirer of the All Blacks!! We certainly recommend this place and its hosts.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2011

This was our first time in Ireland. We stayed at the Woodlands for nearly a week. Pat and Julia not only provided a clean, safe, and home-like environment for the three of us, but they also added personal touches to the trip that we will never forget. Pat recommended day trips, and every one of his suggestions was a wonderful adventure. He booked tours for us, and always gave us great directions. If I ever have the pleasure of staying in Killarney again, I would not think of staying in any other B&B.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed just one night, as we passed through Killarney on to the Dingle Peninsula. The hosts were so kind and warm- Julia was so nice as she led us up to our room, which was no frills, but large and comfortable. She made us feel more than welcome and we didnt feel like we had to tip-toe around, as we had in the previous B & B. We had a great view of the mountains and it was the perfect place to relax after a long day. Breakfast was delicious, and the very best part was talking to Patrick! He came out to greet us as we ate and I could have talked with him all day! He not only answered our questions about Ireland, but even had questions for us! He was so sweet and it felt like we had known him forever! Julia came out after the food was served, and we all talked for about an hour. They even took a picture with us! It was so nice,I was sad to go, but we had to as we had a lot planned for the day. I would definitely return, just to chat with these lovely hosts again! if you want to experience true Irish hospitality, this is the place to go!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matanda28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We could not ask for nicer owners of this B & B. They went out of their way to be helpful. Patrick even helped me fix my car. The breakfast was beautifully cooked and served every morning by his wife,Julia. We wanted to stay for 3 nights, but unfortunately, due to their previous bookings, on the last night we had to stay in a small room with a separate bathroom, however this turned out not to be too much of a problem. We were on a trip through Ireland , Scotland and Wales and this was certainly the best value B & B during our whole trip. We would have preferred block out curtains in the room as the sun comes up very early in the summer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The owners are very gracious and went out of their to make certain we enjoyed our visit to the area. They provided helpful information on sights as well as driving routes. Our room was both large and clean, and the breakfasts were filling. Woodlands is located just outside town, so we drove into Killarney for dinner. However, it's conveniently located to drive the Ring of Kerry and to the Dingle Peninsula.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boomerang09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.0 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
731 reviews
1.9 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
1.9 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,484 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arbutus Hotel
Arbutus Hotel
#13 of 38 in Killarney
1,444 reviews
1.4 mi away
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Bed & Breakfast

Property: Woodlands Bed & Breakfast
Address: Woodlands Woodlands Golf Course Road | Ballydowney, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Killarney
Woodlands Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing