We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent property with GREAT owners.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sika Lodge B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sika Lodge B & B
Ranked #12 of 145 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent property with GREAT owners.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Not only was the house and furnishings new and sparkling clean, the breakfast was terrific too. The owners are an absolute delight. Walking distance to town. Next to a beautiful park. This is definitely the place to stay in Killarney!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rtomascik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sika Lodge K, Owner at Sika Lodge B & B, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for such a lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We only wish you were able to stay a little longer!! We hope to see you again if you are able to return to Killarney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
99
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hallein, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Sika Lodge for one night during our trip through Ireland.
The hosts were really friendly and Alan was keen to give us an overview of Killarney (sightseeing, restaurants,...).
The room was lovely, however the bed was a little bit too small. The bathroom was fine, in the shower were traces of mould.
The breakfast was just stunning and one of of the best during our whole trip!
Try the French Toast ;)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sika Lodge K, Owner at Sika Lodge B & B, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, I am delighted you enjoyed your breakfast, yes the french toast is my specialty!! I love to make it!! I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your room more. We hold ourselves to a very high standard on cleanliness, as can be seen from past guests reviews. You might email me directly with regards to the mould you saw as we have not located any mould in the bathroom concerned. All our beds are the standard double size, unfortunately our rooms cannot accommodate king size beds as most rooms have single beds also. We hope that these slight concerns won't deter you from revisiting us should you happen to be in Killarney again. We would be delighted to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I loved our stay at the Sika Lodge. Clean and spacious "luxury hotel" amenities with the charm and character of a B&B. Serena was very helpful in helping us navigate around town and recommended the best restaurants and hikes....not to mention her amazing chocolate chip French toast in the morning (along with a variety of other tasty options). We wished we had skipped our last B&B and just stayed at the Sika Lodge longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22mooseMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sika Lodge K, Manager at Sika Lodge B & B, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for such a kind and thoughtful review. We were delighted to have you stay with us and we hope that you come back to visit us next visit to Killarney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We very much enjoyed our time at Sika Lodge on our visit in July. Beautiful home! Serena and her family made us feel very welcome and comfortable! She gave us lots of advise, booked tours and made us a wonderful breakfast. Would LOVE to go back!!! If you are staying in Killarney, Sika Lodge is a must!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank LeighM760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sika Lodge K, Manager at Sika Lodge B & B, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your generous praise, it was certainly a pleasure looking after you guys for the few nights you stayed with us. We do hope that you visit us again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husbond, our baby and I had a couple of days in Killarney staying at the Sika Lodge. Serenas breakfast was amazing. Home-made and of high quality. When going to bed, I was looking forward to having breakfast. Soooo good. The room was tastefully furnished and clean. Loved staying there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Solrun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sika Lodge K, Manager at Sika Lodge B & B, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, a lovely family to look after. We do hope we meet again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this modern B&B for 1 night and wish we had stayed for longer, our room was lovely and had a very luxurious feel to it, Serena was so welcoming and immediately made us feel at home. She provided excellent dinner recommendations for Killarney and for Kinsale our next destination. Breakfast was delightful and included some of her homemade treats. The rooms have a Dvd player and there is a good DVD selection to choose from in the living room. It is also an easy relaxing walk into town through the National Park. Overall a great place to stay in Killarney, thank you Serena.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sika Lodge K, Manager at Sika Lodge B & B, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
You are most welcome!!! We are sorry you only stayed one night too as we really enjoyed looking after you. Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and such a lovely review at that. We hope you will revisit us next time you are in Ireland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Myself and husband enjoyed Sika Lodge so much last summer, myself and girlfriends took off this year to avail of Serena's new service "fancy pants tea party". What a treat, gorgeous food, bubbly, lemonade all done with class and elegance. We had such fun great way to spend a couple of hours with friends. Would highly recommend it. Again Serena was so helpful with suggestions on what to do where to go etc, enjoyed fab walk in the national park just outside the door...amazing. Killarney such a great place to visit so much to see and do.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovehols83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sika Lodge K, Manager at Sika Lodge B & B, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
It was so great to have you return to visit us. We love repeat guests. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us again. We do hope that your visits will be a regular occurrence. Many thanks for the lovely praise and taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
2.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
2.1 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#7 of 145 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.4 mi away
Old Weir Lodge
Old Weir Lodge
#8 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.4 mi away
Killaran House
Killaran House
#9 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sika Lodge B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sika Lodge B & B

Property: Sika Lodge B & B
Address: Ballydowney, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sika Lodge is a friendly family run B&B situated on the doorstep of the Killarney National Park. The house is a fantastic base for both golfers & walkers as we are near to Killarney Golf & Fishing Club & National Park walkways. The new Host, Serena Delaney is a passionate home cook, and is committed to ensuring that breakfast is a culinary delight for all her guests, providing a delicious breakfast menu. The house has just under gone extensive refurbishment where guests' comforts are of utmost importance. New features of Sika Lodge are a comfortable reading room/library with books & DVDs for loan, rooms have flat screen TV/DVDs. Hosts Serena & Alan look forward to welcoming you in their home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sika Lodge B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing