We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All boxes ticked”
Review of Sika Lodge B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sika Lodge B & B
Ranked #11 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Needed nice B and B just foir the one night as we were attending wedding. Would gladly stay for a longer time here. Clean, friendly, quality breakfast(be sure to try home baked Carrot cake), surprisingly quiet(next to a main road). No complaints at all. Rooms Boutique Hotel style, small but comfortable. First year in the business apparently so hopefully standards will be maintained.

Room Tip: If you tall person avoid rooms at top of house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 240 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

Serena knocked us out with her warm welcome to her beautiful stone house just a minute or two from downtown Killarney. The atmosphere is at the same time elegant and completely unpretentious. The house, though surprisingly new, conveys the impression of an old Irish stone house. Breakfast was outstanding, amenities were many and thoughtful, and Serena was very helpful letting us know local restaurants. An easy choice for those looking for the nicest place to stay in Killarney.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

I have just had a fantastic stay at this wonderful family run b&b. I dont often write reviews, but i feel urged to share my experience of my stay. Herewith I aim to explain all my thoughts on Sika Lodge:

Rooms - the rooms are modern and very nicely decorated, in a good, not cras way. The bedrooms are light and airy. Each room has a new flat screen tv and DVD player (with access to Alan's extensive DVD collection for those rainy evenings. The beds were impossible to get out of, they were so comfortable!!! There are tea making facilities, thick carpets and lots of storage space for guests in each room.

Ensuite bathroom - all rooms had Ensuite showers, we also were fortunate enough to have a bath too.  There were all the soaps, vanity sets, and towels that anyone could need. The shower was hot and very powerful.

General b&b - Serena does a wonderful job on a daily basis on the tidiness and general upkeep of the b&b. There is a sitting room, which has a library with a range of lovely books. Like the rooms, the b&b is very homely and comfortable. The extra touch of a free nightcap of Irish Whiskey is a very nice touch.

Parking & cycling - we did not have a car as we took a coach from Cork to Killarney. The purpose of our trip was a cycling holiday. We hired excellent bikes locally from O'Sullivans, who were great. At night Serena and Alan allowed us to keep the bikes in their large garden shed. For those who drove, there is ample space for parking. By the sounds of it, if renting a car, it is best to book early.

Location to town - as I mentioned we arrived by coach into Killarney. It is a brisk 30 minute walk to Sika Lodge from the coach station. It is a 15-20 walk to the heart of Killarney town. However, most people drive, in which case it is about 4 minutes to town. There are taxis if needs be.

Location for sites - Killarney is a lovely town, albeit a tad touristy. However there are amazing sites. Before arriving I downloaded an app called Killarney on my iPhone. It is absolutely fantastic and I recommend it to anyone for any length of stay. I would recommend a short cycle into the national park, stopping by at Mucross house, Ross castle and Torc waterfall. This can be done by any level of cyclist. More challenging, for cycle or by car/horse and trap is a beautiful trip up to the gap of dunloe, the on through the black valley to the Moll's gap, ladies view and for a bit of extra distance the ring of Kerry. One day we rode the 175km round trip to   Dingle and around the peninsular, this is not for the feint hearted. For those with a car, don't miss this, the peninsular is absolutely breathtaking. 

Local bars and restaurants - we took Serena and Alans' recommendations very seriously. There are loads of bars and restaurants to pick from sependihn on budget and taste. Head to the smokehouse for a phenomenal steak, go to Courtney's for drinks (and get beaten at darts by locals) and eat at Pay as you please, where you do just that! 

Breakfast - oh the breakfast, what a breakfast. Every morning we were greeted by a vast selection of freshly baked muffins, cakes and tasty goods. There is freshly made fruit salad and lovely fruit juice. You are given a choice of very nice tea or coffee. To top it off, you can choose from pancakes, full irish breakfast, eggs and bacon, French toast or a smoked salmon bagel. I went for pancakes nearly every day as they were heavenly.

Serena & Alan - as you may have gathered already, Serena and Alan are amazing hosts who go out of their way to help you with suggestions of restaurants, sites and things to do. Their ability to go the extra mile is Sika Lodge's unique selling point. When booking, Serena was extremely helpful with booking out bikes and quick to respond to emails.

Value for money - the place is amazing value for money, I would come back in a flash to stay in Sika Lodge. 

The moral of the story therefore is, if you are comin to Killarney, in a family, as a couple, or with a friend, stay in Sika Lodge and you will have an exceptionally comfortable and lovely time, thank you Serena and Alan.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jackp59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My wife and I loved our stay at the Sika Lodge in July 2012, Alan and Serena made us feel like we were part of the family. On arrival Serena took her time to go through a map of local restaurants,attractions etc..that they had prepared for us, it was so considerate and their recommendations were brill. The location just a short stroll to the town centre is a beautiful setting and made for site seeing around Killarney. The rooms are better then most hotels in Ireland and the complimentary nightcap is a really nice touch. Will definitely stay again and recommend to all.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcopierreblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had such a great stay! Serena was an amazing host and the breakfast was delicious. The house is so cute and the beds are really comfortable. Parking is very convenient. Only wish we could have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevie104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

There is no room for improvement here!
Quality of accomodation, friendliness and helpfulness of hosts and value for money were top-notch.

Scored *only* 4 for location merely because when it rains (and it does in Kerry, frequently!) the 15 minutes walk to town could be a bit uncomfortable- however, taxis are avalilable. Also the nearness to the Ring Road can make it a little noisy during the day, although the trafffic stops as soon as nightfalls so our sleep wasn't affected. But really, only monor quibbles about what was a first/class stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Sika lodge was the best B&B we stayed in Ireland. The house was beautiful and the room was gorgeous with a lovely big bathroom and a great shower. Everything was spotless and James and Serena were very welcoming and helpful. For breakfast you had several choices - all very yummy! Really a treat to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maisycyril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
2.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,384 reviews
2.0 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Old Weir Lodge
Old Weir Lodge
#7 of 143 in Killarney
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Ashville House
Ashville House
#12 of 143 in Killarney
223 reviews
1.1 mi away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#8 of 143 in Killarney
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sika Lodge B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sika Lodge B & B

Address: Ballydowney, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: $29 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sika Lodge is a friendly family run B&B situated on the doorstep of the Killarney National Park. The house is a fantastic base for both golfers & walkers as we are near to Killarney Golf & Fishing Club & National Park walkways. The new Host, Serena Delaney is a passionate home cook, and is committed to ensuring that breakfast is a culinary delight for all her guests, providing a delicious breakfast menu. The house has just under gone extensive refurbishment where guests' comforts are of utmost importance. New features of Sika Lodge are a comfortable reading room/library with books & DVDs for loan, rooms have flat screen TV/DVDs. Hosts Serena & Alan look forward to welcoming you in their home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sika Lodge B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing