We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing...”
Review of Mareena's Simply Food - CLOSED

Mareena's Simply Food
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My wife and I where in Killarney for two nights and the first night we walked around trying to find somewhere for dinner and there was so many, so we decided the next night to do a little research and found reviews for Mareena's Simply Food which where very promising, we called and they fitted us in. The food was amazing, reasonably priced and Mary the owner was a great host, she made us feel most welcome. Highly recommended and book ahead, they turned away many whilst we were there.

1  Thank Stewart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0646637787, Owner at Mareena's Simply Food, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Stewart B
We here in Mareena´s are also delighted ye did some research and found us,delighted ye enjoyed everything and thanks for posting a fantastic review,we really appreciate it.
Hopefully ye´ll get a chance to return someday.
Best wishes,
Mary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 347 of 473 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

My Mom and I have spent a week in Dublin/Killarney and sampled many great restaurants, but Mareena's Simply Food is the best we've ever had (and we've eaten in a LOT of restaurants!). Mary and her staff not only prepared amazing food, they also made you feel like part of the family. It was so good that we had to come back a second time! Mom had the lamb, which is the best she has ever tasted, along with the Cream of Vegetable Soup. I had the Warm Bleu Cheese Salad, which is hands-down the best salad I've ever eaten, along with Pork Schnitzel with a creamy mushroom sauce. It was fantastic! Prices very reasonable for the quality and experience. Lastly, Mareena's is extremely convenient to the heart of the town, which was great for us because we did not have a car. Go try this amazing restaurant (make sure to make a reservation)!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Adrienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0646637787, Owner at Mareena's Simply Food, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Adrienne B.
Such a great pleasure to meet ye both and thanks a mill for the excellent review.
Start refilling that piggy bank and come back soon,we´d love to see ye again.
Best wishes to your mom and thanks again.
Regards Mary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Called in on a Sunday evening and had a great meal that avoided just being Irish classics for the tourist trade. Loved the pork schnitzel!

Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0646637787, Owner at Mareena's Simply Food, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Simon H
Delighted you enjoyed the pork schnitzel and thanks for the brilliant review.
Hope to see you again.
Many thanks,
Mary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by a fellow traveler on our Smartours trip to Ireland. The owners run the restaurant. The lady is the pastry chef and greeter/server and the husband is the chef. We had a wonderful conversion with the owner. There were four of us and we each had a different meal. My husband and I started out with the bleu cheese salad--absolutely mouth watering. The blend of flavors was wonderful. I had the chicken and my husband had the fish. Both were expertly prepared and served. The other couple started out with the shrimp appetizer and they were blown way by its uniqui flavors. Their meals were also way exceptional. There was a wide range of prices. Most of entrees were between $15-20. I highly recommend this wonderful restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RareRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0646637787, Owner at Mareena's Simply Food, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear RareRabbit,
Thanks a million for the wonderful review,glad ye all enjoyed ye´re meal with us and the conversation!!
Best regards
Mary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Mareena's lived up to the reviews on trip advisor! We had a salad then the Pork Schnitzel and for dessert we had Mother Eve's Pudding it was all great! We saw others having different menu items and they all look good. We would go again if we are ever in Killarney. Very friendly relaxed atmosphere, we enjoyed going.

Thank paullew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0646637787, Owner at Mareena's Simply Food, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Paullew,
Delighted to read we lived up to our reviews and ye enjoyed ye´re night with us,thanks so much for posting an excellent review,we are really grateful.
Hopefully ye will return to Killarney some day and visit us again.
Thanks and best wishes.
Mary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mareena's Simply Food also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing