We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mareenas is Excellent!”
Review of Mareena's Simply Food - CLOSED

Mareena's Simply Food
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My sisters, Mom and I had an excellent dinner at Mareenas last night! Wonderful presentation and taste. Rather limited wine selection though. Small, busy place so call ahead or get there early. Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Darcie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0646637787, Owner at Mareena's Simply Food, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Darcie N,
So glad ye enjoyed ye´re dining experience with us and thanks for posting a great review,we really appreciate it.Yes our wine list is limited as our space is limited but we feel there are some good value ,fine wines on it.
Hope to see ye again.
Best regards
Mary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 377 of 474 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

Make sure you go when you first get to Killarney. If you go early you will probably come back for another visit!!
The restaurant is located in town just across the street from Killarney Park Hotel. It is a small place with maybe 12-15 tables. It has a tight menu but with terrific options for all. Try the cream of vegetable soup,it was really well done. We had the vegetarian and salmon and mussel entrees and both were terrific. The overall food quality was good, the portions were nice and it was well presented. The owner and waitress were really very nice,friendly people. There is a limited wine list but there are enough choices for all.
The value is really great with the prices no different than pub food.
Overall this is the type of place you hope does well, because everything was done nicely!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank plcape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0646637787, Owner at Mareena's Simply Food, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear plcape,
Thank you very much for posting an excellent review on tripadvisor,we are delighted ye enjoyed ye´re night with us.The waitress you mention is my niece Sarah who helps out from time to time and we are so lucky to have her on board, she´s a great addition to our little brigade.
Hope ye enjoyed the rest of ye´re holiday.
Many thanks,
Mary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We ate here because of the reviews here, and it's close proximity to Killarney National Park. We are glad we did!

We all had soup and a main. The vegetable soup was to die for, and my shepherd's pie was delicious! Was very filling, so we couldn't fit desert in.

Prices are reasonable, generally between 10 to 15 EUR. And the service is fabulous.

Only caveat, it's closed on Monday and closes at 6pm on Tues and Weds, so arrive early on those days.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarliesFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0646637787, Owner at Mareena's Simply Food, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear MarliesFan,
Thanks a million for the excellent review,so glad ye enjoyed ye´re time with us.
I really enjoyed meeting ye all.
Kind regards and best wishes.
Mary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We recently had a really good meal here.. We both got the vegtable soup which was delicious best soup ive tasted it was served pipping hot which i love. For main course i got the lamb which was cooked perfect nice and tender in a beautiful sauce.. My boyfriend got the rabbit which was also cooked just right.. The deserts were absolutly amazing the chocolate cake and the pudding topped off the meal to perfection.. The service was amazing food was cooked to perfection will defo be back again..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0646637787, Owner at Mareena's Simply Food, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Sarree,
Thanks very much for your brilliant review,we really appreciate it. Delighted ye enjoyed ye´re dining experience with us and we hope to see ye again.
Kind regards,
Mary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Had a lovely 3course lunch here a few weeks back. Great food&very friendly hostess.Even though they were busy on the day the food was served promptly and we were treated as if we were their only customers. I eat out regularly with friends and we love quality food, reasonably priced in a nice atmosphere fear so ye ticked all the boxes!thanks& i hope ye open a franchise in Cork soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank luvcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0646637787, Owner at Mareena's Simply Food, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear luvcork,
Great to read ye enjoyed lunch here with us and thanks a million for posting excellent review
We hope ye continue to make the trip over the county bounds to visit us as a franchise in Cork is a bit off ,but stranger things have happened.
Hope to see ye soon.
Best wishes
Mary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mareena's Simply Food also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing