We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty”

Mareena's Simply Food
Ranked #3 of 186 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Killarney, Kerry, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Enjoyed a great meal here on Sunday after a round of golf with my buddies. It was obvious that the chef takes pride in his cuisine & presentation. I enjoyed all 3 courses and the gravy that accompanied the main course was to die for. I thought it was great value and would highly recommend it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryGOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0646637787, Owner at Mareena's Simply Food, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear MaryGOS,thank you for your fab review. Glad ye enjoyed sunday evening with us.
Look forward to seeing ye again.
Many thanks
Mary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    72
    18
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
macroom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a gem of a restaurant”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Like manna from heaven. Omg. The food here is the best I have ever tasted, and I have travelled to many countries and no where compares. My husband who also loves hisfood still talks about it. Mary the owner is a lovely welcoming host, and chatted to us which was a lovely touch. The restaurant was bursting at the seams and people were even turned away. The presentation of the food is first class . Oh defo I will return. P.s. her son is very cute too -

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank siobhan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0646637787, Owner at Mareena's Simply Food, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear siobhan k ,thank you for a great review,we truely appreciate it.
We are thrilled that you and your husband enjoyed the dining experience.
My son Shane,who helps us out on weekends when home from college was delighted to get a mention!!
Hope to see ye again soon
Many thanks
Mary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High quality fresh food”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The food was fresh and wholesome and locally sourced.This restaurant is a welcome addition to Killarney.Mary is a very friendly yet unobtrusive hostess and very keen to offer the highest levels of customer service.It was a pleasure to eat here and the fact that it opens from 12 to 9 p.m is very useful.We will be back and we can't wait to try out their desert menu

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0646637787, Owner at Mareena's Simply Food, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Carole H
Thank you for a great review and your kind comments about ME! I am new to hostessing side of
the business as i was a chef for the last 25 years so i am delighted to hear i am doing a good job.
My partner Markus is responsible for the wholesome fresh food you mention and we are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us.
Looking forward to seeing you soon
Mary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food Great Service”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Shared a fantastic lunch with friends today at Mareena's.The menu had a great selection of fish and meat dishes,deserts and great coffee.We all agreed we would be back again soon.We just love it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0646637787, Owner at Mareena's Simply Food, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear MaryH,thank you for taking the time to post such a great review on tripadvisor.
We really appreciate it and are so happy you and your friends enjoyed lunch with us.
Looking forward to welcoming ye again soon.
Many thanks
Mary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick, ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly service, nice food and value for money”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I ate at this restaurant on a recent stay in Killarney. The service was extremely friendly, the food delicious and presentation lovely. Overall very good value for money

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMCLimerick_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0646637787, Owner at Mareena's Simply Food, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hi AMCLimerick,thank you for your recent great review,we are truely grateful.
Hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Mary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mareena's Simply Food also viewed

 

Been to Mareena's Simply Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing