We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best MILANO”
Review of Milano

Milano
Ranked #76 of 183 Restaurants in Killarney
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“The best MILANO”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

we've visited this MILANO restaurant in Killarney a number of times and compared to it's Dublin cousins, it's streets ahead. The food is always good, the place is clean, the staff very helpful and friendly. The service is usually excellent, but not last Friday (Feb 22, 2013) when the staff were under severe pressure. Even the manageress was waiting tables (and forgot to bring some condiments to us). This could have been a 5-star review!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulTheMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    67
    57
    31
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Killarney”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The pizza in Milanos is to die for. However much like many of the other reviews there are other areas that are not so good. The wine prices are excessive. The soft drink prices are excessive. And they really need to put on extra staff. The poor woman that was working was in her own and while she coped as best she could everything as slow. Not her fault. The chef even brought down our pizzas to our table. Nice touch but really there should be no need for it. Back to the Pizza though...... It's unreal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SKGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Second visit, revised opinion!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The last visit here was not pleasant as we left without dining. We did email the establishment about our experience and received a very polite phone call asking for more details. To be fair, we went back on our next visit to Killarney. Different staff members were on duty and obviously did not know our history. The service was excellent, even though we only shared a pizza between 3 and desserts and coffee. I had a slight cold and jokingly asked for a lemon drink. The manager was actually ready to prepare one for me if I had the sachet! A young waiter stopped to chat about his studies and another young lady chatted about the weather. The pizza was fine, the desserts lovely and the coffee strong. As we were leaving, we told the manager about her previous experience. She said that all staff had been informed and reminded that times were tough and customers were to be looked after at all times. So, well done to all concerned.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spiceloft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shocking service !”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

It's been awhile since I ate in milanos but I certainly won't be back soon . Firstly when we were shown to our table and we were told "service will be very slow as we are smashed" what a statement to come out with . This was told to us by the only waitress who was working who seemed to be a manager. Wouldn't you think if they were soo busy they would call in for more staff . We ordered our food At 8.20 and didn't get it til 9pm all we ordered was 2 pizzas , the pizza was quite tasty though but by this time i was starved. And then I was hoping for a desert .. Waited another half hour at this stage the restaurant only had 2 small tables left . They didn't even move our plates so we got up paid and left . What really rattled me was that we were charged 13€ for 4 small bottles of coke !! We had 2 each . Overall I won't be going back to Milanos for a long time busy or not !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Staff Party”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We visited Milano for our staff party. We were a group of 15. The food was fabulous but what made the night so special was the wonderful staff. They were friendly and very efficient and nothing was a problem. Kayleigh was our waitress and she made us feel so welcome even though we were almost an hour late for our booking. She was very attentive to all of us and had a genuine smile the entire time. I had to single her out as everyone of us commented on how lovely she was. Kornel was the manager who was also extremely pleasant.
I couldn't recommend this place enough and even though I normally eat there just with my husband, it is ideal for a large group. It was great value for money and had something for everyone.
Well done Milanos we will certainly be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryTralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milano also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing