We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful dining experience!”
Review of Amalfi Coast Italian Restaurant - CLOSED

Amalfi Coast Italian Restaurant
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
McHenry, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful dining experience!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My son and I loved our dinner here! The food was delicious and the service fantastic. We greatly enjoyed visiting with our waitress/hostess and the cook. This is a charming restaurant in what was our favorite Irish city on the trip. It is tucked out of the way in the Innisfallen Shopping Mall which adds to it's ambiance. What a delight. We traveled Ireland and the UK for a little over three weeks and this was our favorite dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank McScot2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    0
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“ineatable”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

altho the service was lovely and friendly I'm afraid the fact we had to fill ourselves up on bread as we couldnt eat any of our food, tasteless meat and fish swimming in cold tinned tomato sauce

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disaster”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Four of us had dinner very recently in this so called restaurant and talk about a shambles. The seating area inside is packed with tables, although its a small area, there are three too many tables, and you actually have to stand up and move your chair to allow those sitting by the wall to get in or out. We were handed four menus, each of the four had black marker through a lot of the dishes, and between us each of the menus didn't tell the same story. We had to call over a very uninterested waitress to explain what was actually available. On entry, the waiter was sloppy looking, and made no impression whatsoever on us. The food was pretty poor, no imagination whatsoever and the presentation, non existent. We had to ask twice for a second wine glass, only to be given a water glass instead. The wine was diabolical, it came in a carafe which had oil stains and was dirty. When the background music finished, that was it, you could hear a pin drop and it was extremely awkward trying to have a conversation when it was so cramped that everyone could hear. Although not expensive, a little over €80, we most definitely will not be returning. It gives the impression that these guys could be gone over night and are not making any effort whatsoever in repeat custom.. Save your money people and give it to a restaurant that cares..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MsMini1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic and Tasty”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Hi, we dined here last night and found the food and service to be great. I had the Spaghetti Amalfitana (seafood) and my wife and sons had a pizza and spaghetti bolognese. All were authentic and tasty and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal, not to mention a carafe of lovely Lazio White which only cost €9. (Yes €9!!.) Overall found the food to be very good and in generous servings, service was homely with really nice staff (all of whom checked in on us to make sure everything was ok, hostess was lovely and non intrusive), and great value. Will definitely come again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was here after the Munster Final with my husband and my two children. The food was lovely.The service was outstanding. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming. All in all four members of staff spoke to us, some just for a chat. The setting is lovely. It's quiet and atmospheric. It's a good value down to earth restaurant. The portions are generous. I will certainly be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A_Murphy176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amalfi Coast Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing