We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Killarney Cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Killarney Lakeland Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful Killarney Cottage”
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Loved staying here. Most cottages have a magnificient view of Mangerton Mtn. Lovely grounds. Located 3 mi from town and 2 mi from the national park. Our cottage had three bedrooms each w/own bath. Large kitchen w/small washer/dryer, which was very convenient. Very quiet. Owner Brian O'Shea most accommodating. Rent bicycles from O'Sullivan in town. Nice pub, the Molly Darcy, just around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    15
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2010

Nice cosy cottege, not far from the town - 5 min drive but still in nice quiet area.Would defo recommend for a self cathering stay.Sofa a little hard though and we got a dvd player when we asked for one.Good value - discounts for couple only stay! Its got everything in kitchen as well

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pahotel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2009

This place is perfect for self catering holiday makers.It's a family run site and it's on the doorstep to killarney national park.The cottages are well equiped with everything you could need.Some cottages are positioned just on the edge of a small forest. The grounds are kept tidy and there are free tennis courts(free raquet hire), small games room(not in great condition) and a couple of swings for the kids.You can light the open fire which was a treat nowadays and it is a really quiet site.All in all we had a gret time and it was nice going back to your old style cottage at the end of the day.You also get a discount if want swim at the glen eagle hotel just up the road.They don't accept pets but when I rang them on the phone and told them that I had two king charles puppies and that they are locked in a crate at night they said it would be ok and that I must keep them on a lead when walking around.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauld6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2008

We stayed 5 nights at the Killarney Lakeland Cottages. We were in the Toric Style unit.

The cottages are about 5 minutes outside of Killarney. We found it a great base for touring the area.

The cottage was much larger then we expected. Very clean and nice. 3 Bedrooms and 2 baths. Dishwasher, refrigerator with freezer. Washer/Dryer.

We really liked the place, a little outside of town, so nice and secluded.

Give it a try if you are going to be in the area.
Thanks

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jgirvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, NL
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2007

Just got back from a trip to Ireland with 3 young kids -- ages 7, 4 and 1 -- and we couldn't be happier with the cottage we stayed in at Killarney Lakeland Cottages.

3 bedrooms and 3 full baths (plus a kitchen, living room, etc.) gave us MUCH more room than a hotel, and the spacious grounds were perfect for letting the kids run off steam.

There aren't a lot of "facilities" there -- a couple of old swing sets, and a dilapidated tennis court with free rackets/balls to borrow -- but it didn't really matter to us. There's a trail that leads off the property, thru the woods and directly into Killarney National Park (with the Muckross House and various other attractions) which was fun because it felt like our "secret entrance" into the park while all the other tourists were coming in from the main car parks.

The only negative, and the reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5, is that it's about 5km or so outside of Killarney. This is actually a positive, BUT it does mean that if you want to go into Killarney (to eat or shop or whatever) you have to get into the car -- and traffic into and out of the town was astonishing, what with the construction and tour buses and I-don't-know-what-all. That little 5km into town repeatedly turned into a 30-minute ordeal between the crawling traffic and looking for parking. (It's far enough from town that, with small kids, we couldn't really have walked in; fit adults probably could have.) Not the fault of the cottages or the owners, of course, but it was something of an annoyance.

However, for us this was the only negative and didn't come close to outweighing the positives. Highly recommended - either for families or for groups of friends who want to stay together.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWB_Amsterdam_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2004

Our stay in Killarney was made special by the stay at the Lakeland Cottages. It was more than I was expecting - clean, spacious and with all the amenities of home living. In addition to its perfect location, we found the manager, Brian O'Shea to be cordial and helpful, which was a good start to our family vacation. And, to top it off, our jaunting car driver, upon being asked where we could find firewood, brought us firewood on two occasions. What memories we will have, not only of Killarney, but of the people there.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MLOTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 4, 2004

My father travelled back to Ireland every year for the last 25 years until his death in November 2003. Ten of the family members decided to continue his sojourn to the country he loved so much, and had introduced us to on many occasions.Since there were ten of us, we knew B & B's might be a struggle and a hotel would not give the children enough room.I found Killarney Lakeland Cottages on-line and we booked two large cottages in Muckross, just down the road from Muckross House and the Jaunting Carts and just a three minute drive to Killarney Town. The cottages were fabulous. They are on a working farm and are fully equipped and there is plenty of room for the kids to run around.We slept five to a cottage, but they would certainly hold up to eight.The owner, Brian O'Shea is a lovely man. We were able to take day trips to Dingle, the Ring of Kerry, even caught the ferry from Tarbert to Kilmer and visited the Cliffs of Moher.I would highly recommend the cottages. You get the flavor or old Ireland with all the amentities of home!

  • Stayed April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.2 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
716 reviews
2.2 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
0.8 mi away
Cahernane House
Cahernane House
#24 of 38 in Killarney
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Lakeland Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Lakeland Cottages

Property: Killarney Lakeland Cottages
Address: 18 Muckross Drive, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming complex of holiday cottages, near the Killarney National Park. Open all year. Ideal for families, Couples and Groups. Special rates for Couples. Weekly and short stay rentals. Start any day of the week.Ideal base for touring in South West Ireland, using day trips to Ring of Kerry, Dingle, Cliffs of Moher, and Blarney and West Cork. Free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Killarney Lakeland Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Lakeland Cottages Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing