We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Irish fare”

Sandtrap Sports Bar & Grill
Ranked #73 of 187 Restaurants in Killarney
Price range: $10 - $23
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: Food and drink are quality at Tony’s Sandtrap Bar and Grill. Our Sandtrap is the heart of our hotel for all our guests and locals alike. It has grown in character over the years and is renowned for its warm atmosphere, great food and good company!Sandtrap Bar and Grill is designed in two parts. On one side it's the place to meet, enjoy and talk sports with 8 Flat Screens TV’s. Home to a blend of residents, locals and people just passing through, one quiet drink has often turned in to a great night out! On the other side you can enjoy our delicious home made food served in our popular restaurant. Our menu is fresh, our service is quality and the atmosphere is easy going. Perfect for a quick bite or a relaxing evening meal
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Excellent Irish Beef Stew & steak. If you like golf you'll love this pub. From the decor to the TV coverage of everything golf it's definitely geared to the duffer. Service was great too, but we were there really early so we had their undivided attention. The price wasn;t too bad either.

Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly Ann M, Manager at Sandtrap Sports Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Kim L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted with your positive feedback. I am trilled you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you
Kind Regards
Kelly Ann McSweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for Sandtrap Sports Bar & Grill
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 71 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

Called in here on spec to watch some golf, its a brilliant tv venue for sport but to be honest we were pleasantly suprised by the standards of food and service which we experienced when we deciced to eat. A well varied menu with ample choice, reasonably priced I cannot understand the comments in previous reviews. We sampled seafood, steaks and salads are were delighted with the offering. The staff were pleasant and family came to the fore with the owner and his daughter all attending to our needs, Kevin in the bar and Marie were also very accomodating. We will be back!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cpmr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly Ann M, Manager at Sandtrap Sports Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Mrpcok,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. I am delighted that your review is positive and that your enjoyed your time with us. We strive to make our customers happy. We hope you will visit us again soon!

Thank you and kind regards
Kelly Ann McSweeney
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stopped in Killarney as part of a large tour, and the pubs were very crowded. We were welcomed warmly at McSweeney's by Tony's daughter (sorry we didn't get her name). We ordered drinks from Tony at the bar, and he brought the drinks to our table and took our food order. We had burgers and salads, and everything was good. Tony and his daughter spent time to tell us about the history of the pub, suggest other things to see and do in Killarney, and suggestions about the additional spots on our tour. McSweeneys was a highlight of our day in Killarney.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly Ann M, Manager at Sandtrap Sports Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Bob M,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Hopefully we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. I am sure Tony will have a few more stories on the ready!!

Thank you and kind regards
Kelly Ann McSweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We wanted to start our trip with some classic fish-n-chips and irish stew. While the menu did not disappoint, it was much over-priced compared to some very good pubs in the area. This place is geared for tourists who want the big fake feel rather than the small crowded real thing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kayjei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly Ann M, Manager at Sandtrap Sports Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Kayjei,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, however we are extremely disappointed with your review. We characterize ourselves as an affordable restaurant with local produce and helpful staff. Majority of items on our menu are below €19, also we are a family run property for the last 60 years with 80% of our my business being locals. I find it difficult to comprehend your comments. We do hope to see you again and that you will have a different experience with us.

Thank you and kind regards
Kelly Ann McSweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I stopped in for a pint after dinner our first night in Killarney. The decor was warm and looked like a classic pub with knicknacks and sports memorabilia on the walls. However, the staff/bartenders were extremely cold and unwelcoming from the moment we walked in. The female did not smile once and continually turned away from where we were sitting. I had ordered a dessert upon arrival along with my pint. After receiving our order, she did not check on us until my plate was clear and our glasses were empty. Even when she did check, it felt that we were more of an imposition than anything else. All the while, the male bartender constantly gave us dirty looks and spoke to the female in hushed tones. I will never return to this place, and will not recommend it to anyone coming here. If you're a local, I'm sure you'll get along fine with the staff, however, if you're visiting from abroad, I'd avoid this place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank kaiteeb61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandtrap Sports Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Sandtrap Sports Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing