We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, big quantities.”
Review of The Acorn Bar

The Acorn Bar
Ranked #109 of 186 Restaurants in Killarney
Price range: $5 - $35
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average food, big quantities.”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

The food at the Acorn bar is pretty standard bar food. You will not be disappointed by what you get, nor will you be amazed by the quality of the food. However, it has to be said that the food is served in healthy portions, so you won't leave the place hungry.

The service was fine, although they have a tendency to forget you are there, so you need to be proactive if you would like a fresh pint of Guinness with your meal ;)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
323 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Solid food- good service”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

First,this is NOT a Cajun/Creole restaurant as listed on TripAdvisor. It's a traditional pub in a pretty nice looking hotel. They had good friendly service-we arrived late with just ten minutes til they stopped serving. The staff was nice to take our order, and then when my kids wanted dessert well after they had closed the kitchen, the waiter very nicely said "I'll reopen the kitchen myself" to make the desserts- which he did. They were very nice.

Food- wise the quality was on par with other pubs, maybe a bit better than most. They had more variety than most places.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent food, atrocious service”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

The fish trio in seafood stew was OK but the service was so bad I can't imagine returning. It is too bad because it is a pretty nice place that would give a cozy feel if the staff tried even a little bit to be accommodating. At first we planned to stay for a few beers after dinner but after the treatment from the staff we couldn't wait to leave (of course getting our check ended up taking forever too).

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Good food and service. Would recommend to anyone. Would eat in The Acorn Bar again

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thelamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Lovely Food”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Me and my family ate here over the weekend, the food was fantastic, i highly recommend it, had the fish and chip and it was the best in a long time. service was ok , very busy spot but we were well looked after.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Acorn Bar also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to The Acorn Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing