We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bar food was excellant. Didn't stay so ignore room rating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria House Hotel
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bar food was excellant. Didn't stay so ignore room rating”
Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

Can't recommend the bar food enough here, service was fast but enough of a gap to enjoy meal. Staff friendly but not in your face. Didn't Stay so ignore room rating

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morganirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    133
    20
    7
    8
See reviews for
78
250
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here twice and highly recommend this hotel.the staff are friendly both in the hotel and in the bar and the catering staff who do the breakfast.the room was clean and I will defo stay there again

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevomacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here on a recent weekend night and its very good value for money. Victoria House is located on the Muckross Road about 2 kilometeres from the centre of the town. Large landscaped car park gives way to the hotel set in off the road. Small reception area, dining room, lounge bar and some bedrooms are on the ground floor, rest of the bedrooms upstairs, but I didnt see a lift. My bedroom was small had a double bed and a small shower and toilet, perfectly adequate for one night but may get irritating for a longer stay. Room was spotlessly clean, decor a bit old fashioned as was the tv, but then again you dont come to Killarney to stay in your room !

Very nice bar and lounge just off reception but as the weather was so good we had drinks outside on the terrace and it was lovely. Breakfast was served in the dining room which was bright and spacious with a very good selection on offer from traditional Full Irish (with free range eggs) through to continental and freshly baked scones and pastries for those with a sweeter tooth. The staff were superb, friendly and nothing was too much trouble, no matter how busy thery were. All in all well worth considering if you're planning a short break but you will need a car, taxi fares mount up and its a fair walk if the weather's not good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fingalflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgundy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

A great hotel with and exceptional service. Great value for money. Staff very friendly and helpful. Not in the centre of town so need a car to get around, but the location in consequence is calm. Large car park. Reception a little kisch but the rooms luxurious and quiet. Excellent breakfast. Possible to have good and reasonably priced meals either bar or restaurant. Good menu choice. Choice of accompanying vegetables a little restricted.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shagya89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Enjoyed location near the national park and Muchross House. Only a short trip or longer walk from the town centre - very good location. Excellent room and geat service. Bar meals very enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damian3224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

i stayed here recently, our room was really lovely (much bigger than we expected for the price we paid) and location-wise, its right opposite killarney national park, could you ask for a more beautiful location?? other reviews ive read have said that this hotel is situated too far from killarney centre which surprised me - its a 15-20 minute walk straight to the centre, very easy, and we walked in every night. we did have a car but only used that for actual proper journeys like the ring of kerry...!i would stay here again : )

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aikiely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

The hotel in itself is rather fine, pleasantly decorated. From some of the rooms one can see the lake, but located across the road, this establishment does not actually overlook the lake.

It is really out of the city center: a 20 minute walk along the road at least, a walk not unpleasant, but not especially pleasant either. A taxi ride to Killarney cost from 6€ to 7€ (March 2012). Without your own car, it doesn’t make much sense to book there in my opinion. There is nothing much to do in the immediate vicinity.

I paid 55€ (breakfast not included) for a room via the laterooms.com, and the deal was probably not as good as what this website pretended it was…. Besides, considering that I took a taxi four times during my stay, I’d rather have staid in a more centrally located hotel, even more expensive.

My room was pleasant, but a bit small. The lady at the desk was very polite (even quite charming, may I dare saying…). No access to the Internet in the room. Free wifi access in the lobby area.

There are scores of hotels and B&B all along this road (Muckross Road). As I made a point of it while talking to a taxi driver, the gentleman shook his head in response and told me “Yes, we just wish we could have enough people to fill them in!” Probably another legacy of the “Celtic Tiger” years…

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UgolinoFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
1,993 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
2,096 reviews
0.6 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 39 in Killarney
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
1,457 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
1,316 reviews
3.8 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House Hotel

Property: Victoria House Hotel
Address: Victoria House Hotel Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#25 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly wonderful experience! Traditional Family Run Hospitality, overlooking Killarney National Park, our cozy and charming 4 Star Boutique Hotel offers an exceptional warm welcome and personal service. Our Restaurant and Ivy Room Bar provides excellent choice of local produce with frequent live traditional entertainment. Newly refurbished elegant bedrooms now offer upgrades of Deluxe and Superior rooms. Pampering within and cycling, walking and Killarney National Park on our doorstep. Ring of Kerry & Killarney Tours can be booked at Reception. Let us make your Killarney Experience the most unique - Your way! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing