We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Ive been to Killarney five or six times and Victoria house is now my favourite hotel. Staff very friendly. Food especially breakfast excellent. and our room in ground floor first class.Location very good for walking into town or Muckress house. Thank You all for a very enjoyable three days in your company.

Room Tip: Room 106 was beautifull Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vincynorthernireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 537 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2012

We had a gray time here. The staff was fantastic. The pub had better than average pub food and the breakfast was really well done. Definatly do breakfast. Everyone here was so helpfully and friendly, especially Monica. The whole hotel is very esthetic. Now my only caveat is this. The room we recieved was just fine but also incredibly basic. It looked nothing like the website shots. I glanced in another room as the maids were cleaning one and it was really nice indeed. But the web site really doesn't list different classes of rooms so it may be a you get what you get deal which could be a little dissappointing to some. Like other reviewers have said, you may want to inquire/ look at the room first. Other than that,a quality place. Especially for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mainegnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

we stayed in this hotel sat 14th and sun 15th , what can i say it was amazing. we have stayed in many many hotels but victoria house hotel was the best yet. lovely staff, excellent food, gorgeous bedroom so comfy , we dyin to go there again soon. well done to staff and management its a credit to ye. see ye soon . :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stopped in here for lunch and got delicious soup, sandwiches and fries in a modern and comfortable bar with a view straight onto the edge of the national park. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the food was delicious. The bacon, brie and cranberry sandwich was a winner. Top class. Nice well poured creamy and smooth pint of guinness too. All is good. Yum.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jd999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends. We stayed there with two small children during the Easter holidays. The staff were really friendly, helpful and professional. They made a big fuss of our children. We had a family room on the first floor and it was gorgeous. The breakfast was really lovely and we had a great choice, especially good for picky little eaters! The bar menu was very good, we ate there two evenings and thought it was lovely. We will be going back during the summer and are looking forward to it already. You can rent bikes next door and is within cycling distance of everything. A great stay, couldn't complain about one thing.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FIFTHAVENUECork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed Easter weekend and had a wonderful experience. The location is superb, the hotel is a 15 minute stroll from the main street of Killarney which was to our surprise. We read many reviews before our trip which gave us the impression that it was not within walking distance (CRAZY).

I would recommend hiring bikes from Daves bike shop beside the hotel and cycle the 12km route around the lake. Once again the Hotels location is great for this as both the rental shop and the starting point of the route is beside the hotel.

The staff in the hotel were very helpful with recommendations of things to do etc.. There is a good atmosphere in the hotel bar. The quality of the rooms were above and beyond anything we were expecting. I personally think many of the previous reviews don't portray the true quality of this hotel. Looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMN125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed here twice in 2011, five days and then later overnight, and once previously in 2010. Each time the staff were very friendly and helpful, parking ample, the bar food good and the bar area relaxing. The hotel is well situated on the edge of town. The walk to the centre of town is pleasant, and the view across the road superb. If you're lucky you'll see a deer in the field opposite the hotel. The rates were very reasonable.

Room Tip: We were put in a suite when we stayed for five days, a pleasant and appreciated surprise. We were on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IngridEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,358 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,283 reviews
1.3 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
3.5 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1.0 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House Hotel

Address: Victoria House Hotel Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#26 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $91 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly wonderful experience! Traditional Family Run Hospitality, overlooking Killarney National Park, our cozy and charming 4 Star Boutique Hotel offers an exceptional warm welcome and personal service. Our Restaurant and Ivy Room Bar provides excellent choice of local produce with frequent live traditional entertainment. Newly refurbished elegant bedrooms now offer upgrades of Deluxe and Superior rooms. Pampering within and cycling, walking and Killarney National Park on our doorstep. Ring of Kerry & Killarney Tours can be booked at Reception. Let us make your Killarney Experience the most unique - Your way! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Victoria House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing