We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed the visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed the visit”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We arrived at the hotel and loved it immediately. It had such a welcoming appearance and we were not disappointed.
The room exceeded our expectations in comfort, facilities, and especially size.
Staff are more than helpful, chatty and engaging.
Food at the hotel was excellent. We availed of the bar menu as it seemed to suit the teenagers better although the Restaurant Menu looked very tempting.
Breakfast was excellent and my children loved the fresh pancakes and maple syrup! The service was very good and as mentioned before staff were very pleasant.
The Hotel is about a mile from The National Park. Bicycle Hire is available beside hotel. We had a great day cycling around the Park.The hotel is about 30mins outside Killarney with lots of other accommodation and hotels in between but I would pass on these every time to stay in the Victoria House - for comfort, quality, service and value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westwood1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    136
    20
    7
    8
See reviews for
85
265
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

On a recent tour through Ireland we stopped in Killarney to tour the Ring of Kerry. The Victoria House looked lovley on-line so we booked in for one night. The rooms we very nice and staff friendly. We discoved the Wi-Fi only worked in the dining room and bar so inconvenient for my wife who had to do a bit of work and upon checkout I asked about the reduction in room rate due to the drop in the VAT rate I was told they had already adjusted for that. When I said that I had booked two months ago, how could that be possible, I was told "it just is"! A bold faced lie! I am sure the girl at the front desk was just doing what she was told, but a blatant cash grab of the VAT reduction left a bit of a sour taste.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGrant58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laois
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Myself and my wife stayed in this hotel for three nights and we really enjoyed our stay. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The food in the bar was of a high standard in my opinion, We were happy with the location and would love to return again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisLaois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

A little out of town, but great access to Killarney National Park. Staff were extremely helpful and even gave us a free upgrade. The room was spacious and very well equipped which left us refreshed and relaxed at the end of our stay. The food and drink was excellent as was the live music in the bar.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmaxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

My boyfriend & I stayed here for one night while attending a show in the INEC. Never again do I want to return to this "hotel". Upon arrival we noticed there was a communion party going on in the bar/restaurant. The size of this is small enough but the party completely took over and there was little room for residents of the hotel. We could hear loud music coming from the windows upstairs, and all this was noticed before we ever stepped inside. We had to squeeze our way in as members of the party were blocking the door and didn't try to move for us. We went to check in and the receptionist who was very abrupt checked us in. My purse and my boyfriend's wallet were at the end of a bag, and the receptionist requested the remaining fee for the room. As it was we were being squashed against the reception counter due to the members of the party spilling out of the bar and down the stairs. I asked if we could get the money from our bags once we were in our room and had space to open our bags but she wouldn't even consider giving us the room key without the rest of the money. We were going to bring it straight to reception from our room but she started getting agitated so we just struggled and managed to find my boyfriends wallet. She then directed us to our room. It was down a narrow little corridor just behind reception. Walking down it there was children running up and down and we had to try avoiding them. Opening the door to our room was hugely disappointing. The decor was so dated and the view was awful. The cupboard had no door, the walls were dirty and could do with a lick of paint. The bed sheets were horrible and absolutely not suitable for a hotel in these times. The hotel hasn't moved with the times and I imagine that it hasn't been updated since it was built! Furniture was very old and uncomfortable. I looked out the window, and our view was shocking! Right in front of us was a large window to someone's camper van and therefore we had to keep our curtain closed the whole time! The bathroom was absolutely appauling! Small, dirty and cramped. We decided to go for a bite to eat and as the hotel isn't very near the town we didn't have much choice but eat in the restaurant provided. Because of the communion party, we were unable to find a seat and had to stand for about 20 minutes before eventually being able to sit on high stools at the bar! Not very comfortable or practical for a meal. Meanwhile there was 3 tables with "reserved" signs on them, we asked the barman who was very very rude could we use them and he said no and walked away, but the whole time we were there nobody came and sat at them! We ordered our food and were left waiting ages. I can honestly say I've never come across a ruder barman, his attitude was brutal and he seemed like he'd rather be anywhere but there. Check-out is 12 but our transport wasn't until late in the evening so we asked the receptionist (same girl as before) could we check out at 1 instead, (which every hotel I've ever stayed in allowed), and she abruptly said "No, check out is at 12" and she turned away speaking to someone else! I was absolutely disgusted by this hotel & it's service and I will never ever return here again. As for holding communion parties or any other functions, there should be somewhere seperate allocated to them as the restaurant is so small as it is there's no room for paying guests to sit!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CorkHotelUser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I have been going to this hotel for many years now and it has been better evry year.

Victoria House Hotel is lcated on the outskirts of Killarney. It is the perfect location as its away from the noise of the town and yet it is only a 10 minute walk from the centre. It is also beside a bike rental shop and right opisite walking and cycling paths.

The hotel itself is excellent.Its rooms are great with tea and coffee making facilities and a brilliant shower!!

The hotels food is of the best. It comes in large portions but is very very tasty!

The staff are very friendly and welcoming!! There is a great feel to the hotel and I will continue to go there!

If any the only fault is that there is no swimming pool but otherwise it is perfect

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaymaker900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Many thanks to the friendly and helpful staff of the Victoria House Hotel
for a fabelous weekend.
We were in Killarney for the Bikefest and as this hotel is just next door to the venue it was the perfect place to stay. It is just a short walk to Killarney town.
There was free Internet access in the bedroom, which I found very usefull.
Our room was lovely and breakfast delicious.
I loved this hotel and hopefully will return again soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarleylassCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,111 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 38 in Killarney
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
934 reviews
1.3 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,502 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House Hotel

Property: Victoria House Hotel
Address: Victoria House Hotel Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#26 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly wonderful experience! Traditional Family Run Hospitality, overlooking Killarney National Park, our cozy and charming 4 Star Boutique Hotel offers an exceptional warm welcome and personal service. Our Restaurant and Ivy Room Bar provides excellent choice of local produce with frequent live traditional entertainment. Newly refurbished elegant bedrooms now offer upgrades of Deluxe and Superior rooms. Pampering within and cycling, walking and Killarney National Park on our doorstep. Ring of Kerry & Killarney Tours can be booked at Reception. Let us make your Killarney Experience the most unique - Your way! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing