We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas present”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My fiancée booked us into the Kilarney Plaza for my Christmas present. We stayed for 3 nights from 21/3. I thought the hotel was fantastic and great value for money. The rooms were clean and made every day. The hotel staff are very friendly and the hotel bar is lovely. Location is great as well. Kilarney is beautiful and there is lots to do just a shame we did not have time to do everything definitely going back.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Benvantaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

728 - 734 of 1,348 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

It was a great pleasure to stay in this top class hotel for three nights during our recent midweek golf trip. Staff were very friendly, rooms were top class (tea / coffee, bottled water, dressing gowns and slippers provided). Buffet style breakfast was fresh and tasty, offering lots of variety to set us up well for golf every day. There was plenty of underground car parking for those who arrived by car and hotel is ideally located right in the town centre.

But what really made our stay here most enjoyable were the spa, swimming pool (a bit small at about 15 metres), jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and gym. Quite a few from our group used these facilities – definitely recommended after a tough day’s golf in Kerry winter / spring weather.

A few of us also enjoyed late night drinks in the residents’ bar – very pleasant indeed!

I’ve no hesitation in recommending the Plaza and would certainly stay there again whenever I return to Killarney.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suburban_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed here for one night on sat march 6th. Arrived in mid afternoon and was lucky to get a car park space in the underground car park. The room was excellent and also had wifi and that was a great bonus. Made full use of the leisure facilities. Steam room pool and sauna were all in perfect working order and the pool was warm and spacious .The hotel was busy being a Saturday night with a t least one hen party staying in the hotel .Overall I was impressed and would stay here again much better than the over hyped and over priced Behon.

Room Tip: choose room on 2nd floor if possible it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mido3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This was our 5th visit to this hotel. Very nice with lovely staff and spacious rooms. Very central location and great food. Will always stay here on any future visits to Killarney. Only gripe is (and it's a very small one) is that their underground car park is almost always full but it's not a big deal as the hotel is right on a public car park. Good pool too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parnelll4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Just spent a night at the Killarney Plaza,very central to the town everything within walking distance. I couldn't fault any element of our stay, staff were lovely, nice spacious room, was especially impressed by the presence of bottled water,some hotels have cut back on basic facilities like a drink of water.Lovely little nicey bits in the bathroom,spotlessly clean and a huge choice at breakfast which was piping hot and tasty.
I treated myself to a spa treatment, which was delightful, thank you Patricia, and the chocolate covered strawberry, mango sorbet and camomile tea were very welcome.Only nitpick I would have is the relaxation area has a stream of people walking by,but I think this is more lack of space than anything. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggieKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We are just home after a very very enjoyable stay at the Killarney Plaza which is centrally located in Killarney town. A great base to enjoy the National Park and other Killarney attractions as well as being close to lovely strolling, browsing and shopping opportunities (great boutiques).

From the moment we stepped in to the reception area where we were met by Philip and his colleagues to the moment we left, the whole stay was a pleasure. Our room was lovely and was spacious, clean and comfortable. I would have liked electric sockets closer to the bedside area - for phone charging; that wasnt the end of the world on a weekend break, but may be annoying if you are travelling for work.

The food was great with a-la-carte choices that included crispy duck - which was actually crispy; lamb shank; fish; chicken, vegetarian and a variety of steaks. The dessert choices were scrumptious so try leave a little space for them....

The residents bar was fun, there was a great piano player till about 11.30pm and then some people from a family party turned up and provided great musical entertainment for another 'little' while. It was all very relaxing and the leather sofas there are very very comfortable.

I have tried hard to think of something that could be improved on (for balanced review) and can only think of the nuisence of the car-park (always busy) and the steps up from car-park to reception - not very luggage friendly, although the automatic doors do help.

We will definitely add the Killarney Plaza to places we would recommend to family and friends; and will go back there ourselves the next opportunity we get for a weekend away, especially as they will soon be open 7 days a week. It was only open Friday 2pm to Sunday 2pm when we were there Feb 2014 (winter season time).

Room Tip: Request any specific requirement when booking, e.g. accessible walk in shower; otherwise all the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frequent_flyer04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I seriously recommend the Killarney Plaza for a break in Killarney. We went for a family weekend and everyone from 8 to 80 had a wonderful time. I would especially commend all the staff who ensured that our stay was hassle free from booking to departure - not that there was anything less than perfect. We loved the food which had dinner choices to suit us all, and a breakfast buffet that was a treat to the eye as well as our taste buds; it set us up nicely for touring the wonderful local sights and shopping.
We are already planning our next trip to Killarney and will be staying again at the Plaza - if this review doesn't cause it to be booked out :-)
Well done to all who made our stay so enjoyable

Room Tip: It is worth asking for a quiet room if you are not part of a late nite partying group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cooltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,314 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#11 of 38 in Killarney
1,001 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa

Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Killarney
#6 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#18 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#23 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $136 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Killarney Plaza Hotel reigns over Killarney Town with grace and glamour. It is located adjacent to Killarney National Park and the gateway to the Ring of Kerry. The hotel offers stylish bedrooms, superb restaurants, bars, conference and banquet facilities and an exclusive and luxurious Sundari Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Plaza Hotel Killarney
Plaza Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing