We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weekend at the Plaza” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“weekend at the Plaza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Just back from a weekend at the Plaza and it was a beautiful Hotel, lovely staff especially Oliver at reception he was very helpful and pleasant. Rooms are lovely and comfortable. The only thing we found disappointing was the underground Car Park was always full.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eastcorkgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    302
    75
    31
    21
See reviews for
213
545
37
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed for two nights . Was upgraded on arrival due to my 40th birthday . Wine and chocolate in the room .. Nice touch ..... Would highly recommend .... Location ... Staff.... All fab .. Thanks again ...Martin & Cora Sisk

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband is on business and I decided to tag along for the ride. As I wanted to relax, I decided not to leave the hotel. It's been fabulous! All the staff are so friendly and helpful and the food is just delish.(I had brekkie and lunch!) thoroughly enjoyed my stay and am completely revived and relaxed. Couldn't recommend it more. Lovely place and with the weather being so bad it was nice to fully use the hotel. Can't wait to come back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank KilkennyHappycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were not allowed enter the Hotel the car park on arrival. The staff at main desk said it was full and to park in a public car park which cost 1 euro per hour. I walked through the hotel car park and it was not full. At check-in, I told the staff that the car park was not full I was treated very badly. I was told to do what I like. I was not told where breakfast was served, Checkout time, Facilities. My room was not ready until 3pm also. This member of staff was rude and a complete disgrace considering the price of the hotel. The breakfast was a bucket of grease. My partner and I felt sick after breakfast. The leisure centre pool and staff were excellent! The room was very comfortable and clean. The location is superb! This hotel is not worth the money tho!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cork2011William
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night mid week for work. The hotel was really nice, and very close to train station. Rooms were spacious and very clean. Breakfast was great, wide variety on offer. I will be back for a longer stay hopefully!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was really good,room was excellent , staff very friendly & helpful, spa very nice,treatments bit on the expensive side, lunch very nice lots of food & good value,dinner was well worth the money, very good location, walking distance to all entertainment in kilarney, Friday night seems to be for the younger crowd in the bars downstairs, would recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had a lovely weekend in the Plaza and the location is very central and within walking distance to shops, restaurants etc.

Check in: We arrived on Friday evening and check in was very speedy and the receptionist very friendly. We were made feel welcome from the moment we arrived.

Room: We were on the fourth floor to the front of the hotel. The room was spacious with a king bed. While the decor was sightly dated and had scratches on the furniture, it was spotlessly clean and had plenty of storage space with dressing gowns and slippers. The bathroom was also spacious with nice toiletries. It was quite noisy on the street on Saturday night so the rear of the hotel might be quieter. The room was cleaned on Saturday and again it was spotless. The was two complimentary bottles of water and tea/coffee making facilities. The was also a safe which is handy.

Dinner: We had dinner on Friday evening in the hotel restaurant and we both really enjoyed our meals. I had cod and my partner had steak and the portions were plenty big. The starters and desserts were also very nice. The service was good and our waitress was very friendly.

Entertainment: Jack Healy was playing in the residents' bar after dinner-he is a truly amazing pianist, singer and performer and really added to our stay. I would highly recommend going to hear him. We ventured to the pub/disco bar on the Saturday night. It was a bit young for us so we ended up seeking out a different pub.

Breakfast: We had breakfast on Saturday and Sunday. Both were lovely with a wide choice of fresh fruit, cereals, pastries, porrridge, scones, breads, pancakes, waffles, juices, natural yoghurt, cold meats, cheeses, and the Full Irish. There really was something for all tastes. As the hotel was very busy there was a short wait on Sunday morning but it was handled very professionally and the manager apologised eventhough we were waiting less than five minutes. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Leisure Centre: we didn't check out the gym but the pool area is lovely. We had a nice swim and were able to relax in the jacuzzi, sauna and steamroom afterwards.

Parking: we managed to get parking in the underground car park and left the car there for the weekend. Be warned, however, that the spaces are tight and it isn't the easiest car park to navigate around!


All in all we really enjoyed our stay in the Plaza and would def return again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milleek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.0 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
0.1 mi away
Killarney Towers Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa

Property: Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa
Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Killarney
#6 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#23 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Killarney Plaza Hotel reigns over Killarney Town with grace and glamour. It is located adjacent to Killarney National Park and the gateway to the Ring of Kerry. The hotel offers stylish bedrooms, superb restaurants, bars, conference and banquet facilities and an exclusive and luxurious Sundari Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Plaza Hotel Killarney
Plaza Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing