We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel BUT some issues” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice hotel BUT some issues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed in the hotel for the weekend booking 3 double rooms for my family.Overall a lovely hotel great bars and restaurent & the rooms are very comfortable.I do however have i or 2 issues.
.We dined in the restaurent on saturday evening , 6 adults, and before we even finished our coffee the bill was landed on the table and I was asked to sign for it .Now I would always be of the opinion that the bill should be asked for.
Sunday morning we were faced with 4 young women having breakfast in their pj's and bare feet.NOT what you would expect from a 4 star, or indeed any , hotel.
Finally when checking out and settleing the bill,which was considerable, I was not even asked had everything been ok or did I enjoy our stay.This I found quite strange.
Small things I would agree but none the less these type of issues should not be allowed to happen.
Top Tip.Request a room at the rear of the hotel it was quite noist saturday night

Room Tip: Top Tip.Request a room at the rear of the hotel it was quite noist saturday night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kieran g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    302
    75
    31
    21
See reviews for
213
545
37
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

After seeing a lot of positive reviews I booked a room at the Killarney Plaza via Trivago. Good price, but the room was not one of the rooms the positive reviewers stayed at. Had to pay extra for breakfast (which ended up being another 28 Euros for my wife and me). Parking was a challenge beneath the hotel (difficult turn to get in without bumping the walls).
People were friendly enough and recommended a nice pub nearby for dinner.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I was greeted by an absoulute gentleman called oliver in reception.. he had shown me the room as i didnt have any reaervation.. he upgraded us to a beautiful room that had an amazing view.. he explained to us that there had been an underground car park to keep our car there which was amazing and even let us check in early as our room was ready.. he gave me a tour which i was very satisfied woth and amswered all of my questions.. he was a very sweet and very well spoken and mannerd.. he was a pleasure to deal with and had made our stay very delightful indeed. we will definatly be back again as the reception staff, leisure centre staff and breakfast staff we all so polite and pleasent people to have encountered.. stunning hotel inside and out.. a real pleasure to have stayed here

Helpful?
Thank Rebelgirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

The hotel is situated less than 10 minutes stroll from the bus/train station and at the beginning of the main street in Killarney. It's therefore surrounded by great places to eat and shop. There is a park running parallel to the hotel - so a perfect place for a walk if you don't want to go the couple of miles up to the Killarney lakes. If you do want to go to the lakes, the horse and carriages to take you there are based just outside the hotel too.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinMED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

From the prompt check out and obliging wave through to the carpark to porterage to well equipped bathrooms and super food, this hotel has it all.

The Plaza is one of those Killarney hotels in the 'wedding cake' mould from the outside. Inside there is lots of mosaic, gilt, interesting ceilings and sweeping stairs but the fine staff here give it a more resonant layer.

Porterage (thank you, Tadhg) to help in and out was immediate and no lingering for tips; rooms and keys were ready.
Busy bar food has all the sophistication of a good restaurant out. A first floor pitch has big windows, marble and horsehair trim, comfortable seating. Food is great and plates generous.

Several bars here take the pressure off too much exposure to other guests when weather is filthy, and the evening entertainment hit the right note. We watched other visitors to Kerry drudge around in heavy rain on the street looking for 'craic' when all we head to to was roll down the corridor.
Christmas decorations were quality, as were Hallowe'en on a previous visit.

I have been to the cedar lined spa previously for works and it is well run and the pool area is clean.
The only flaw was a rare wedding booking for the hotel with the disco's base notes rising up through the floors until 2am. Still, breakfast is a feast and served until 11am.

Nice work, Killarney Plaza.

Room Tip: Not over the function room or late bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank V R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

GREAT hotel really cold outside and didnt stop raining but the hotel was sooo warm and cosy open fires etc lovely meal in the restaurant upstairs and great entertainment in bar after until about 12 very relaxing

Pool lovely and warm

Staff very nice at reception not as nice in the breakfast area food a bit tasteless and cold and really bad tea and coffee.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Have stayed here before, but this is first review, based on recent 2 night visit, room very good in every manner, breakfast cereal/ fruit ok, rashers, sausages etc. tasteless and cold--scrambled egg terrible, 10 people in dining room--enough stuff cooked for 50--no method or knowledge of customer care displayed, dinner--steak for both of us inedible--complaints from 3 people before us--we got offered replacement food or a brandy--we did not come here for free drink, but rather for a proper meal that we had paid for--no senior manager came to deal with any complaints, but we were told by senior waitress that staff 'are going on holidays' and this was why meals were inedible--this was best excuse we were given--disgraceful treatment of people that paid Good money. On previous stays food was poor but has got worse. I have reviewed many hotels food but this hotels food has to get my worst review--this is not 1 Star Fare.

Room Tip: Stay on room basis only
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTY65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.0 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
0.1 mi away
Killarney Towers Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa

Property: Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa
Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Killarney
#6 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#23 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Killarney Plaza Hotel reigns over Killarney Town with grace and glamour. It is located adjacent to Killarney National Park and the gateway to the Ring of Kerry. The hotel offers stylish bedrooms, superb restaurants, bars, conference and banquet facilities and an exclusive and luxurious Sundari Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Plaza Hotel Killarney
Plaza Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing