We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Excellent modern hotel in a super location, right in the heart of Killarney. We stayed for 3 nights with our son, his wife and young daughter, and were given adjoining rooms with a connecting door which was extremely useful. Spacious, clean bedroom with great en-suite. Included in our deal was dinner on one night. This turned out to be some of the best food we've had anywhere. Breakfast was varied and plentiful. Massage at the Spa was superb, and the family pool, though smallish, was pleasantly lit with a lifeguard on constant duty. We drove to Dingle through glorious country to see if we could find Fungi the dolphin, and had the greatest fun on a fishing boat trying to catch sight of him. We paid after the trip out on the bay - if we hadn't seen him there would have been no charge. Thankfully he was ready to play, and came so close to our boat we could reach out and touch him - quite magical and worth every cent. In Killarney we took a jaunting car through the park from right outside the hotel. Our grand-daughter was allowed to take the reigns which gave her a big thrill. This was surprisingly reasonable - about €35 for nearly an hour. Got some lovely photos of swans on the lake. Son and daughter-in-law enjoyed the night-life with live music in the bars and good food just down the street. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to sample all the attractions of the pretty town of Killarney.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlisonMaynooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

983 - 989 of 1,348 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

Plaza Hotel, Killarney is our new found destination when we visit Killarney be it for a day trip - then we do lunch or if we are going to stay overnight. Quality of food in the bar is fantastic and the kids menu is brill. Standard of service is also a joy as so many other hotels are lacking in good, smiley service - which I always put down to management. A real winner for me and my girls are the toilets - always spotless! Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

stayed at the hotel with my family . check in was great and fast and friendly. We did have a major negative incident later on but the way the hotel and management dealt with it was professional and courteous . The hotel manager and Restaurant manager were both very accomodating and caring. Jacqueline at rep services was amazing and very kind and caring and breakfast at the hotel was excellent. (Bar food) very good
Good location, good service with an excellent team.
Recommended !

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomCatarnie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed with family. Great pool, breakfast, spacious rooms and clean. Staff was lovely except for breakfast waitress -she clearly didn't want to be there. Our evening waiter, sylvester was very attentive and patient. Douglas, the front desk mgr, was really nice to the children in our party. They really got a kick out of him. Food was good and the bar was fun watching the euro cup. Only downside - overcharged €70 on my bill and my sister was overcharged €30 - check your bill. Mistakes can be made - but that's a big mistake.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rena67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed for one night this week,Excellent hotel facilties and staff are extremly helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irishgal1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The restaurant is very spacious; the bar is different from most lovely fury sets from animal hides. The toilets are somewhat unisex, only the hand was area is unisex, Gents and Ladies toilets lead off this with separate doors. The rooms are quite large. The whole is spotlessly clean but the highlight for me is the Molton Brown Spa pure heaven on earth. It has a great location right in the heart of the town centre itself.

Room Tip: Higher floors have much better views of the National Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicky5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

had to spend one night working in Killarney and luckily chose this one,service was great,room was big and clean and the shower was fantastic,lots of hotels I spend more time getting the temp.right than I do in the shower !! the breakfast was very tasty with lots of choice,I did not get time to visit the spa but judging on the standards throughout the hotel I'm sure it was excellent.
the bar areas are very chic with lots of marble and the food looked lovely served from a professionally designed kitchen.
It just felt right.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshinereggae7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,315 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#11 of 38 in Killarney
1,001 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa

Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Killarney
#6 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#18 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#21 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $136 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Killarney Plaza Hotel reigns over Killarney Town with grace and glamour. It is located adjacent to Killarney National Park and the gateway to the Ring of Kerry. The hotel offers stylish bedrooms, superb restaurants, bars, conference and banquet facilities and an exclusive and luxurious Sundari Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Plaza Hotel Killarney
Plaza Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing