We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, great bar and excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, great bar and excellent location”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

The Killarney Plaza is stunning and the service, food and location are exceptional. We recently got married in Killarney (July 2011) and myself and numerous guests stayed there during our time in Killarney and everyone couldn’t say enough about the place, service, food and spa.

The staff really cannot do enough for you. I would like to say a special thanks to Edie, the manager, and all of the team for making everything run so smoothly and perfectly and for making every guest welcome. All of the facilities including the spa are stunning and well appointed. We really cannot speak highly enough about this hotel and the facilities.

I have stayed in both the standard room and a suite. Both were lovely but I think it is worth paying extra for a suite (the bathroom was stunning with large shower and Jacuzzi bath, bedroom well appointed with a stunning 4 poster bed, lovely separate lounge which was bright, airy and had everything you would need as well as stunning views of Killarney from the numerous windows).

We also had a dinner and drinks the night before the wedding and party in the Window Bar on the Saturday after our wedding, all of which were great. Again, Edie could not do enough to help us. She is truly an asset to the hotel and her customer service skills are exceptional - everything was perfect! A special thanks also to the bar staff, floor staff and chefs for keeping us all topped up with drinks and delicious food, which all of our guests are still talking about and also to the night porters for those well needed late night drinks.

The Killarney Plaza is a great venue and hotel and we will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart_Murphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Dear Mr Murphy,

Thank you for your recent review we were happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities and services, all feedback helps to maintain these to a very high standard which is expected by all our guests.

The Team here at the Killarney Plaza were delighted to hear that your stay was a success and indeed look forward to your return visit. The Team also extend their best wishes in married life.



Kindest regards

Douglas Niland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    315
    81
    31
    21
See reviews for
228
566
40
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
limerick
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

great 3 night stay ,have stayed here on a few occasions always friendly great staff breakfast chef very friendly always remembers us,food perfect great place to stay if you have kids,would highly recomend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jespadyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Dear jespadyl,

Thank you for your recent review we were happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities and services, all feedback helps to maintain these to a very high standard which is expected by all our guests. Many thanks also for your recommendation and repeat business.

We certainly hope you will return in the future.

Kindest Regards

Douglas Niland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

This Hotel is well located, very charming and very friendly. All of the hotels with one exception were great. While we did not try the food here, there were plenty of places in Killarney to eat. The town is very quaint, and charming in itself, lots of little shops, many specializing in particular goods, although I got the impression most were geared for tourist. When we asked about real Irish Linens, we were directed to a shop that had just what we had come there for. We left with many parcles and a lighter wallet for sure, but many of the items that we bought were locally made and that is what I try to buy when I am on vacation, local handcrafted items preferably from the artisans themselves.

When I asked at the desk about something, not only was I given the answer, but was
given directions to various places and shops that are not found in tour books. The hotel staff knows the town well, and are very happy to help you, just let them know exactly what you are looking for.

Once again, Pub Grub won out as the best food in Killarney for me, and all are within an easy walking distance. I had asked about an iron in my room that did not seem to work, withing 10 minutes one of the staff was there and found the problem and corrected it for me right away. When we returned from that evenings activities, we found a small assortment of chocolates with a small note apologizing for the problem we had.
That earned mucho brownie points with me, they really cared about something I felt was minor. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone headed to Killarney.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ItChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Dear Itchef,

Thank you for your recent review we were happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities and services, all feedback helps to maintain these to a very high standard which is expected by our guests.

Thank you also for the positive feedback on the team here at the Killarney Plaza, we strive to provide a friendly, helpful and efficient service to all our guests.

We look forward to your return visit.

Kindest regards

Douglas Niland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
215 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

I stayed two nights at Killarney Plaza hotel when touring Ireland. My room was spacious, king size bed was firm and comfortable with good quality of bedding. Air-conditioned room had flat-screen satellite TV and free WiFi. Marble bathroom was large and clean with toiletries.

The buffet breakfast was fabulous. I had 3-course dinner at Grand Pey restaurant. They were salad; Guinness beef stew with vegetables; strawberry and pistachio muse cake with vanilla ice cream. It was very delicious and service was also very good.

This hotel is very centrally located, right on one of the major street and there are many shops, bars and restaurants nearby. The outside of hotel looks old, however it is gorgeous inside. This hotel has many amenities. I went to the swimming pool, which was about 13 meter long and 1 meter deep, very nice. It opened from 8am-8pm. The gym was also well equipped.

Overall, it is a beautiful place to stay in Killarney.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneJ2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Dear Janej2010,

Thank you for your recent review we were happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities and services, all feedback helps to maintain these to a very high level which is expected by our guests. We were delighted to be able to make your trip a great success.

We certainly hope you will return in the future.

Kindest Regards

Douglas Niland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed here a few months back (possibly wasn't even February). When we first arrived we could not park in car park as full and front desk were not overly helpful. This was just the arriving night, the next day we went down after breakfast and a lovely lady was very helpful advising us where was best to park and where was free on the Sunday.

Stayed 2 nights with dinner one night. The hotel is gorgeous, clean and comfy room. We expected a lot from dinner and while it was good it wasn't great. lamb was not rare enough for me.

Breakfast was fab, my partner is very fussy about breakfast but even he enjoyed it. The second morning we came down kind of late, the eggs were the only thing that didn't look great.

Restaurant and bar staff are friendly and the hotel has a relaxed atmosphere. Not sure if we would go back but definitely glad that we went.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WadeDunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Dear Mr. Dunne,

Thank you for your recent review, we take all feedback into consideration so we can provide the best experience possible to our guests. In general we receive positive reviews on our dinner menu had we know about the lamb being over cooked on the night in question we would certainly have endeavored to rectify the situation.

We certainly hope you will return in the future.

Kindest Regards

Douglas Niland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Have stayed in plaza loads of times and love it but the highlight whether staying in hotel or not is the spa. From the moment you enter until you leave the service and experience is first class. Thanks to Sheila and Patricia for the wonderful facials.... Everyone should visit this spa

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nocall75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Dear Nocall75,

Thank you for your recent review and kind comments the staff in the spa were delighted to hear such glowing comments and look forward to your next visit.

The team here at the Killarney Plaza pride them selves on providing excellent service and an over all guest experience which leaves the guest feeling they have truly enjoyed their visit and received value for money.

Kindest regards

Douglas Niland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We got value , fab friendly service and central location here. Didn't think it could get better until we went to the Molton brown spa. I am picky and have high standards and expectations where services, hotels,restaurants etc are concerned and have come across many spas,5 star included but this was in another league. Down to the bath robes,dried Heather on floor under head rest and the home-made sorbet and choc covered strawberry after my quiet serenity laden massage. Unbelievable. I can't wait to go back and urge anyone of any age to try it. You won't be disappointed

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarKel46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear Markel46,

Thank you for your recent review and kind comments the staff in the spa were delighted to hear such glowing comments and look forward to your next visit.

The team here at the Killarney Plaza pride them selves on providing excellent service and an over all guest experience which leaves the guest feeling they have truly enjoyed their visit and received value for money.

Kindest regards

Douglas Niland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,354 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,163 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.0 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
887 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa

Property: Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa
Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Killarney
#6 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#23 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Killarney Plaza Hotel reigns over Killarney Town with grace and glamour. It is located adjacent to Killarney National Park and the gateway to the Ring of Kerry. The hotel offers stylish bedrooms, superb restaurants, bars, conference and banquet facilities and an exclusive and luxurious Sundari Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Plaza Hotel Killarney
Plaza Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing