We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The noisiest place on earth”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Railway Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Railway Hostel
1 review
“The noisiest place on earth”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

staff could do with brushing up on their social skills - the entire time we were there, we didn't even get eye contact from any of them, let alone a smile. VERY noisey at night, which i'm afraid to say, was the fault of the staff as most of the noise was due to the excessively loud t.v - which is situated in the kitchen... a tiled room with no doors - not exactly ideal! unless you have ear plugs or very strong sleeping pills - or both - i would not recommend a stay there!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fthisnamething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    53
    41
    29
    50
See reviews for
18
31
34
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

I got there with a friend for a weekend before doing the Kerry way.

We got there on thursday. It's in the city center so it's really easy to get to all the interesting things there.

Rooms were clean and comfy. Maybe having a closet or even an extra table could make our life easier, but it wasn't really necessary.

We also enjoyed the big kitchen. It was really easy and comfortable to use.
Paying was easy and immediate and we didn't need much actually.

They have a free wifi internet which you can use with your own device, but they charge for using their computers.

We were in en-suite room

Room Tip: Just ask for an en-suite room. Cost more - but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nkk1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

This was the first hostel I stayed in, in Ireland anyway, and I have to say it was nice, great value 16 euro, and considering hotels are still ripping us off I thought that was great considering what it's used for:) ideal for large groups, have twin and double rooms too :) ideal location across the road from train station and 2 mins walk from town!!! No parking but car parks near by!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyloublue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Thriving 100+ bed hostel offering dorms as well as double rooms. We stayed in the so-called dolphin room on the first floor: big en-suite room with à double bed and à single bed! Nice shower, clean room, ok bed, what more can You ask from à hostel really? We paid 52€ altogether, including à self-catering breakfast from 7.30 until 10ish made up of toasts or cerealls, with tea and coffee also available. We had à nice noise-free night, quite rare for à hostel...

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riddleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

*Clean and Safe
*Nice and helpful staff
*Nice sitting room and self-kitchen

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukeav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

We really appreciated the helpfulness of the night staff and the ability to book tours right from the front desk. The room was great, huge and divided so as to provide some privacy. Hard beds, but that's to be expected in a hostel. Clean bathrooms and breakfast of toast and cereal is included. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TallisSisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

The interior decorating was fun and had many hangout areas to make friends and cook. The service is great! They will go above and beyond to meet your needs. The location is great, in between the bus station and downtown. The bathrooms hadn't been cleaned Yet that morning and there was matted hair and a large dead bug in the shower. Maybe if you take a shower later, you won't encounter this. The sheets needed to be replaced because there was stains in them. They were washed but still stained.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMWeinburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
Arbutus Hotel
Arbutus Hotel
#11 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Neptunes Hostel
Neptunes Hostel
#6 of 47 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Black Sheep Hostel
The Black Sheep Hostel
#1 of 47 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Killarney International Youth Hostel
0.2 mi away
McSorleys Entertainment Venue
McSorleys Entertainment Venue
#40 of 47 in Killarney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murphy's Guesthouse
Murphy's Guesthouse
#30 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railway Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railway Hostel

Property: Railway Hostel
Address: Fair Hill Cottages Railway Lodge 12 Fair Hill, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killarney Railway Hostel is situated across the road from the Bus and Train stations in the heart of Killarney Town. It is close to the famous Killarney National Park and an ideal base from which variousother beautiful destnaions may be explored. The Hostel has everything one would need for a pleasant vacation including complimentary breakfast, self catering Kitchen, 24 hour recepton and FREE Wi Fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Railway Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing