We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel we have ever stayed at!!!!”
Review of Dromhall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dromhall Hotel
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2009

My family and I spent three wonderful nights at the hotel as part of the Kerry Fling tour provided by Royal Irish Tours. We had the most wonderful experience there. Their accomodations are excellent and there are not enough words to express how wonderful the staff is. Each and every one of the staff worked very hard to make sure we had everything we needed. We hope that someday we can return to the Dromhall Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronnnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

844 - 850 of 914 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2009

I stayed 2 nights in Dromhall in May and wrote the draft as soon as I returned but fate intervened so hence the 2 month delay in posting.

I stayed at the hotel with my 2 daughters aged 8 and 11 for 2 nights in May. Given some of the reviews I had read I did not know what to expect. However being Irish I am well aware of Killarney's rip off reputation and the Dromhall met with all my requirements so what the heck? I decided to give it a go and did not regret my choice.

Check-in was easy, we were made to feel very welcome and were offered help with our bags etc. Even better no one made any comment about me staying alone in a hotel with young children. (Living in a different country from my elderly parents I often travel with alone with children and have been subjected to some very impertinant questions in hotels.)

Our room was comfortable, clean and spacious and obviously newly decorated. Some reviewers have complained about the lack of style; that the furninshings are dated. Well decor is very subjective. For me it was exactly what I expected (and like) but would probably not be to the taste of those preferring a more modern minimalist style. The only thing wrong with the room was that the electric towel heater had been disconnected from the mains but it was not an issue for me so I didn't bother to raise it . Another minor gripe was the key was extremely stiff to turn, needed both hands, the children could not manage it at all. There were no tea or coffee facilities in the room. I had a kettle with me so didn't bother to enquire further. If I had I would have found out that they are available on request. According to my parents this is becoming the norm in Irish hotels so might be some new health and safety regulations? I tried the room service which was the cheapest that I have ever come across. 2 Euros for a 6-cup pot of tea, I pay that for a single cup where I live!

It was stated in the room guide that wifi was available for 5 Euros for the duration of your stay (very cheap, some places charge this amount per hour). However, when I went to get a card the receptionist politely explained that the system was new and not wholly reliable throughout the building and gave me a cable to use, which I prefer, and for which there was no charge.As with 99% of the Dromhall staff she me feel nothing was to much trouble,only one person let the hotel down, a receptionist who appeared to be the only non-Irish front of house member. Perhaps her accent made her appear rude or maybe he English was not quite fluent enough? But when I asked if she could direct me to a pharmacist nearby she replied, abruptly:

"There's loads in town" (didn't offer a map, nor verbal directions)

Likewise she was unable to tell me if there were any restrictions on children eating in the bar or dining areas, or if there was a children's menu available, answering my query in the same curt manor. As it happens there is a children's menu; plus you can have half portions from the adult list which is what my children did, and very generous they were too (enough for me). The food was well cooked (2 of us had salmon and the other pasta) flavoursome and excellent value for money. Breakfast was not quite as good. It was served in the main dining room and was a bit erratic. There is a buffet plus a hot option. The hot option is excellent, it is cooked to order rather than being left to congeal on a hot plate and even included pancakes (thin crepes not thick chewy American ones) which won our votes. The problem is that the breakfast room is just too small. The Dromhall caters for large numbers of tour parties who tend to arrive for breakfast early en masse with the result that the small buffet rapidly becomes depleted and the staff overwhelmed by the demand. Coming later to breakfast does not help: on our second morning the kitchen completely run out of breads and pastries and were unable to replenish the buffet even though there were several people still waiting to eat.

One of the reasons I chose the Dromhall was that it has a pool. Several reviews I read on this site suggested that the pool was some way from the hotel. It is true that is not part of the Dromhall but in the sister hotel (Randalls) next door and from the reviews I was expectinng a major hike to reach it. In reality it is in an extension to Randalls, situated between the hotels and takes all of 2 minutes to reach. I can see that in bad weather this might be a problem but otherwise not. Given the close proximity of the Dromhall function room to the side entrance of the pool the hotel owners could construct some sort of covered walkway between them to protect against the elements. A future project perhaps? The pool itself is super. Unlike many hotel pools it is a full 25 metres long. A swimming pool not just a place to splash around in. There is no jacuzzi but they do have a steam room and sauna in which to relax. I found nothing to complain about the facilities and with the rest of the Dromhall much to admire.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jarielal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

As previous reviewer mentioned breakfast could definitely do with some attention, poor choice on breakfast buffet, no fruit, cheese, poor selection of breads. More 3star than 4 star. Also felt that more attention was given to groups, all the best tables were reserved for some large groups.
Disliked the shower curtain in bathroom, surely a more hygienic glass screen is the norm now.
Rooms were good, but a lingering smell of smoke in our non smoking room.
Liked the bar, good atmosphere and very pleasant staff.
Very friendly staff on reception.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluebell112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

I liked the Dromhall hotel itself - its charming, almost old fashioned, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable the pool in the adjoining randles hotel was great for a dip. It seems to cater for an older clientele but its not stuffy or austere. My big problem was the breakfast which was to put it bluntly absolutely rotten! We had 4 mornings of breakfasts which seemed to get consistently worse with each one - A small selection of moldy cereals, huge vats of tasteless, bland yoghurt & fruit concoctions. The choice of bread was stale, dry wheaten bread and white toast. The early birds lucky enough to get the only tasty things available (small croissants) absolutely filled their plates up, because they knew what was to come!! There was no fresh fruit, bizarre to say the least for any breakfast buffet. The cooked breakfast looked and tasted as if it had been sitting under a heat lamp for hours and the poached eggs which my sister ordered were raw underneath on arrival and another friends poachers had completely disintegrated the toast they were sat on - presumbably because they hadnt been drained properly. We filled up on toast most mornings because it was such a bad, truly unappetising affair altogether. If the breakfasts are so sub-standard I can only hazard a guess at what the restaurant is like at evenings times. I honestly think its a very nice hotel and we had a great time, but seriously the breakfasts were awful. Its not what you would expect from a 4 star hotel and I wrote this on the comment card and gave it to reception on check out. The breakfast are truly to die for - but in a bad way ........

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AineWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

We arrived at the Dromhall on Tuesday 21st July, 2009 to be met by a very friendly and efficient receptionist. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable. We were give complimentary tickets for a show in the Gleneagle which we thoroughly enjoyed. The buffet table included everything we needed and breakfast itself was generous and above all it was hot with as much tea, toast and brown bread as we wanted. We had scones and tea in the bar on each day and they were delicious and the staff in the bar were extremely friend, courteous and jolly and had time to talk and have a laugh. Our evening meal was delicious. The staff were again friendly and efficient. We would certainly go back to stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank batty57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

A friendly hotel,near the town, had 50TH Jublee dinner there,
for family and friends , and they just had Everthing RUN LIKE "CLOCKWORK", FOOD FANTASTIC,STAFF there to help and with a smile..
WILL BE BACK AGAIN.kids had the pool ,WHICH SAYS IT ALL, WANT KIDS ARE HAPPY , I WAS HAPPY......

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sullbri33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

We stayed in the hotel for a family wedding and the reception was also held there.
From start to finish we had a wonderful time there. The rooms were comfortable and clean as were all the public rooms. The staff were always cheerful and most helpful to all our party. The food for the reception and the bar meals were all excellent. All in all a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Randles Hotel
Randles Hotel
#21 of 38 in Killarney
1,203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 38 in Killarney
779 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#26 of 38 in Killarney
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#11 of 38 in Killarney
537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
768 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromhall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromhall Hotel

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#15 Business Hotel in Killarney
#15 Family Hotel in Killarney
#20 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#24 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $82 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dromhall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes walk from Killarney Town the 4* Dromhall Hotel is an ideal base for all. Completely re-built in 2000 this family owned hotel offers guests deluxe guest rooms, choice of bars & restaurants plus private parking. All guests can avail of Club Sant Leisure Club and for sheer indulgence a visit to Zen Day Spa is a must. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dromhall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromhall Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing