We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Dromhall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dromhall Hotel
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I Vacationed in Ireland in July, and stayed at the Dromhall in Killarney. There is free WiFi in the lobby, the rooms were very clean, and the staff was very attentive. There was an issue with the bathroom door handle, and it was immediately taken care of. They have a great breakfast with assortment of breakfast foods to choose from, and various, delicious pastries. The hotel is in a great location, and just a short walk from town. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n2dancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

720 - 726 of 949 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

good location 3-5 mins to town by foot, clean bed rooms, nice bar and restaurant.
my only gripe was ,in our room there was no A/C as the rooms are supper heated.
there is amble car parking which is free, unlike in some hotels in the town centre.
all in all a very pleasant stay for the week end.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkKenneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Dromhall in Killarney for three nights and had a very pleasant stay. Great location to the town and National Park. Front desk was always friendly and helpful to our needs. One morning there was no water throughout the hotel, but the staff was great in bringing bottled water to the rooms and even offering to get us a shower at the sister hotel next door. Fortunately the water was back fairly quickly. We ventured into the adjoining pub on a few occasions and the food and service was always wonderful. Breakfast hours were started earlier for our large tour group and liked having the option of a hot breakfast or the cold buffet they had put out.

All in all we had a very nice stay at Dromhall and would stay again if we are back in Killarney.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cmpotok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Spent a long weekend in Kerry recently and stayed two nights at the Dromhall Hotel. This hotel is perfectly located only five minutes walk from the centre of town, yet far away to be "out of town". The hotel was busy enough with bus tour, and I think some sort of mens weekend away)
The room we were give (twin) was not the biggest room I ever saw, but had everything we needed including a fabulous bathroom and shower. Beds were v. comfy. Breakfast was included in our package and it was extremely good, with the typical juices, cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruits, croissants, danish, all there for you to enjoy. What I liked about the breakfast is that they didn't just offer you a full irish fry for your breakfast - you could pick and choose which parts of the fry you wanted and omit the ones you don't - good idea, and saves a lot of waste I would imagine. The staff in the restaurant were very accommodating, and extremely polite and friendly (a mixture of Irish and Indian I think). There was a lovely vibe in the place. We went to Kaynes bar next door one of the evenings for a few drinks - we got pretty hungry and had the special of the day (roast) - for a tenner it was fabulous. Also the staff here are extremely nice, especially the blonde lady who seemed to never go home - very friendly and a lovely bar.

Overall, the hotel is one I would certainly recommend - I didn't find any fault with the place, except for maybe one - I could not find any soap product for the shower - we were left some shampoo/conditioner and body lotion - the soap for the sink area was attached to the wall, Maybe one of these could be put in the shower also? That's not even a complaint but just an
observation. Also the hairdryer was a little power-less. It did not bother me as I just wash and go, but for somebody more particular it might be a problem.

Great hotel, great staff, and would certainly return here without a doubt.

hope this helps.

Room Tip: although we were on 3rd floor, where most of the guests were staying, there were doors at intervals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galwayroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed at the Dromhall as part of an Ireland package tour. I would gladly stay here again. The staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly considering the large influx of guests as part of the tour over the course of several days. The room was clean and comfortable, and the quality of sleep while I stayed there was amazing.

The onsite pub was a great spot for dinner, or for a pint and some music (not every night, check before you go). The location was great - a few minutes walking took us straight to Killarney Town Centre, but we never had to deal with traffic or pub noise.

The breakfast (included in our package) was also very good, plenty of options every morning, and cheerful staff in the restaurant made it a great way to start the day.

The only potential drawback I would consider would be the lack of WiFi in the rooms. There is WiFi available in public areas, and if your computer can still plug in you can check out a LAN cable from Reception (mine couldn't). As this was a pleasure trip it was not that big an issue.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tklempan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Killarney
1
Reviewed August 31, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I recommend the Dromhall Hotel. Friendly efficient staff in a very clean hotel. The hotel has a lovely leisure centre and the room was very comfortable. The room service was quick and all our needs were catered for. A great break away from Cork for any couple like ourselves!

Room Tip: The second floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarethO186600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0 mi away
Randles Hotel
Randles Hotel
#21 of 38 in Killarney
1,255 reviews
0.3 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#25 of 38 in Killarney
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
604 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Heights Hotel Killarney
The Heights Hotel Killarney
#30 of 38 in Killarney
430 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#22 of 38 in Killarney
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromhall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromhall Hotel

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Killarney
#7 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#13 Family Hotel in Killarney
#15 Business Hotel in Killarney
#18 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#24 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $86 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dromhall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes walk from Killarney Town the 4* Dromhall Hotel is an ideal base for all. Completely re-built in 2000 this family owned hotel offers guests deluxe guest rooms, choice of bars & restaurants plus private parking. All guests can avail of Club Sant Leisure Club and for sheer indulgence a visit to Zen Day Spa is a must. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dromhall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromhall Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing