We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”

Killarney Golf & Fishing Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mahoney's Point, Killeen & Lackabane courses
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Killarney Golf Club is open to non-members and non golfers. The bar area has fantastic views over the lake. The drinks and food are very resonably priced. This is very worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mjacksonEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    56
    6
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Greens were terrible”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Pencil tined in July? yet still charged full amount? The course is highly over rated and has only its views and the fact it hosted Irish opens going for it, the course ranger was ignorant and the place was in rag order in general. Came down to play the course before the Tralee pro-am but will not darken the doors again, take my advise play Tralee instead.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank gannonjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Seniors golf tour ”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful parkland courses with serious views and golf situations
Killeen long big course Irish Open material but an absolute delight to play
Mahony's Point is to my preference with every hole playable with thought designed to be a great piece of course management
Greens true and interestingly layered and rolling
With so many interesting holes a feeling of not wanting the round to finish is ever present
The par threes are all a challenge with well protected pin positions sloping greens and birdies available for the brave
The drivable par 4 15thhole 260 off the tee had the added hazard of an enormous 12pt stag galloping across it who then stopped to have a critical watch of our drives
We had two birdies but no Stag !!
The sixteenth is a great second shot challenge 220 TSS carry from a good drive over a ditch well bunkered
Lastly the short very easy looking par 3 18th can really give you a kick in the face alongside and over the lake into trees on the right well bunkered on the left looks easy 160/170 yds good luck
The club house and facilities superb pro shop well stocked charming staff great Pro
Can't wait to return later this year

Helpful?
Thank Bootrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Played the Killeen Course, beautiful”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I was fortunate to play this course while we were in the area, it is visually stunning and a real test of your skills. Rental clubs, loaner pair of golf shoes and a purchased rain suit; ready to meet my caddy: Ewan. We had a great day, the fairways were plush, the greens were slow and receptive and the scenery of the mountains and the lake were awe inspiring. I can see why the Irish Open has been played here in the past, if you get a chance to play here you will LOVE it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dufferme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Needs a makeover!”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Having recently played in o mahony's point course we thought that it was a bit disorganized.we found it a bit of a hassle with bad directions for tee of areas.map on back of score card very small print.the greens in good condition.a few elevated with interesting "rolls"in
Them.found it all a bit unkempt.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank coleen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Killarney Golf & Fishing Club also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Killarney Golf & Fishing Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing