We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful course, great people” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Killarney Golf & Fishing Club

Killarney Golf & Fishing Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mahoney's Point, Killeen & Lackabane courses
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Beautiful course, great people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

We had a really nice round of golf here. We were pretty spoiled after playing Old Head Kinsake and Balleybunion, but this course is beautiful, and it held its own. Will definitely return. The members were all very charming and polite, they seem to be great folks.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Clausewitzhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    49
    6
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Magnificent Golf course – pity about the weather!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was the last course our group of about 30 played during our recent visit to Killarney and, unfortunately, the weather was most unkind to us on that day. We went through about five of the fiercest squalls I’ve ever experienced, rendering it almost impossible to keep dry in even the best rain gear and blowing quite a few umbrellas inside out. But, at least it is a parkland course offering some shelter amongst the trees from wind, hail and driving rain.

Despite the weather, the setting was magnificent. We played the Killeen course, which hosted the Irish Open on a number of occasions. The course runs along the lake, which comes into play from early in the round. Our first real test was the par 3 third, where the green juts out into the lake and required driver from the tee to have any chance of reaching the green. Glad to report that I parred this one, but thereafter the weather made things a tad more difficult and we eventually called it a day after 11.

After golf, we were glad to reach the warmth of the clubhouse, enjoy a shower in first class comfort and a nice meal in the bar / restaurant with its fabulous panoramic views of the lake, mountains and golf course.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suburban_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Played in Mahony's Point recently, not a good day by any means. While I would allow for poor greens this time of year, these were terrible and so were T boxes and generally playing in muck, they have some nerve charging those green fees. That was not the worst part! when we finished (16 of us) @ 16:30 no food was available, not even a toasted sandwitch.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Extremely enjoyable round of golf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Nothing bad can be said here! Simply gorgeous course with a spectacular backdrop! The management was everything you'd expect from a class A course! We would have gladly paid twice as much had we known what to expect! My hat is off to the staff, superb customer service!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArkLaTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellville, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Killeen Course is a lovely, soft respite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

The wandering golfer will go home and brag about playing the famous coastal courses, but quiet and beautiful Killeen is a lovely and soft respite from the brutal courses with high winds and tall rough. It is relaxing. But, challenging - two time host of the Irish Open, it is no slouch, but it is kinder and gentler and a nice way to enjoy a day of golf. Pub is excellent food and all staff are friendly (but, it is Ireland, so what's new?).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Reese T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Killarney Golf & Fishing Club also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Glenbeigh, County Kerry
 

Been to Killarney Golf & Fishing Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing