We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paddy's Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paddy's Palace
NJ
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Value”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2009

4 of us stayed here in around Christmas. We were put into a 5 person room, with one other person.

We were lucky enough to get a private bathroom. The heat was good. The carpet needs replacing, it was quite stained and dirty. Breakfast was lacking.

Overall, for the price paid, it was a place to sleep, which is really what I was expecting. There are no frills here.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — The cleanliness
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krissy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    31
    23
    24
    15
See reviews for
1
21
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2008

I recently went on a tour with Paddywagon tours through the South of Ireland. The tour itself was great +++ but this hostel we stayed at was absolutely horrible! First of all we were put into a 14 bed dorm with one toilet for us to share! The breakfast in the morning was horrible and consisted of dry, stale bread and cornflakes. That was it! Location was good, but the town itself is soo small that any other location would have been good as well! Beds were clean and bathroom was clean as well.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of bathrooms, no privacy, bad breakfast, Untidy!!
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Uni-princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Killarney hotels

california
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2008

This hostel was okay. It was in a very good location, within walking distance of the national park, and next to a grocery store. I didn't have any problems at all during my stay, found it to be clean and quiet. would probably stay again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — having to eat downstairs
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shaytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2007

Good points
- excellent location

Bad points
- the steam from the shower sets off the fire alarm
- the shower is either freezing cold or terribly hot (boiling)
- their towels to rent are humid and dirty
- lousy breakfast
- the whole place didn´t seem clean enough
- very small rooms

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Shower, Room, Breakfast, Lack of Cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2007
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank secret_traveller82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2007

We spent one night here and it'll be the last. Rooms were fine but a bit cramped, beds were uncomfortable and room was really warm. The shared bathroom was, to be quite honest, very very poor. There was a weird system with keys for the bathroom. The staff we encountered were rude and not helpful at all.

Fair enough the place is cheap and you get what you pay for but I certainly would not recommend this place as there are plenty of other options in Killarney.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything besides location, especially the "bathroom".
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Millymeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
Neptunes Hostel
Neptunes Hostel
#6 of 47 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Purple Heather
The Purple Heather
#4 of 6 in Beaufort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Laune B&B
The Laune B&B
#131 of 145 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
McSorleys Entertainment Venue
McSorleys Entertainment Venue
#40 of 47 in Killarney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Heights B&B
Hilton Heights B&B
#118 of 145 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.5 mi away
Railway Hostel
Railway Hostel
#42 of 47 in Killarney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paddy's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddy's Palace

Property: Paddy's Palace
Address: 31 New Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Paddy's Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paddy's Palace Killarney is a nice little hostel in the centre of the town, 5-minute walk from the bus and train stations. It has free Wi-Fi , a well-equipped kitchen, dorms and private en-suite rooms. The hostel can assist you with arranging trips around the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Paddy's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing