We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Hostel, Great Location”
Review of Neptunes Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Neptunes Hostel
Reviewed April 7, 2010

Neptune's Hostel is a great find, if you're looking to go to Killarney! The staff is friendly and helpful. They have discounted tours of everything you would want to see in and around Killarney, which leave every day from the hostel.

The kitchen is big and clean and generally there were burners/refrigerator space for everyone during dinner time. The common area was a great place to get to know other travelers staying at the hostel, relax, watch TV, or read. We ended up going out with people we met while hanging out there. We went to a great bar with live music (per the suggestion of the manager, Mike) and had a great time!

The rooms and bathrooms were generally clean, though there were a couple spots of black mold. The pillows were flat, but we had travel pillows with us, so it wasn't too bad. As hostels go, it was a good deal for the price we paid and I would recommend it to anyone traveling on a stretched dollar.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seeker707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
There are newer reviews for Neptunes Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 345 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2009

We were in a twin with en suite and found it totally fine. Small room and little bathroom - but this is what I expected and it was clean. Got great recommendations for where to eat and drink and friendly service in general. We were only here one night, and did not experience anything negative. Would recommend for a night or two. But don't have too heavy bags, as there is no lift!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorianscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

absoutly terrible rooms were dirty and lots of grafitti sayed in an 8 bed room dorm 6 of the people were friends staff very kind when checking in but once they get ur money dare as ingorent.... claimed that we were ''smokeing in the room'' and none of the 6 of us smoke... two other people in the room reported us for ''being noisey'' (my friend fell off the top bunk while he was asleep and hurted himself badly no concideration was given for hes injury) after my friend concusted himself we were charge an extra €32 for we ''being noisey'' the place was quite expensive €16 for 1 night and €2 for a key...(yes they chargeds us for a key! and it wasent an extra key!!) location is ok near a pub and a chipper (can be very noisey) I WOULD NOT RECOMED THIS HOSTLE TO A DOG stay well away from neptunes!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djtopline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

I stayed in an 8 bed female dorm for 3 nights. The rooms were very cramped-- 4 sets of bunkbeds, a small mirror set high on the wall (for people of average height, you must stand on tip-toes to see your entire face) and a tiny shelf set high up on the wall on either side of the room. There is NO place to put luggage, so the bags are just left in the middle of the room for people to trip over. There are also no electrical outlets in the rooms or in the bathrooms either-- we straightened our hair in the hallway.

Free internet is nice, and the connection isn't too bad, but there is only one computer, and always a line; good luck getting on without sitting there for an hour.

Kitchen is pretty fully equipped; no complaints there. The staff is friendly and helpful, for the most part, although during our 3 day stay, our room key stopped working 4 times, which was a pain.

The bathrooms were for the most part clean-- however, there is only one sink and two toilets to service an entire floor. Hot water is plentiful, it seems, in the early morning or late evening; don't try to shower in the afternoon, because it is like ice. Lighting in the shower stalls is terrible, it is quite dark, so doing things like shaving is next to impossible. Also, there is no soap of any kind in the bathrooms, which is quite gross, especially considering they only give a communal towel to dry your hands with.

Common room is spacious and cozy, and the TV gets lots of channels, so if you like sitting around the hostel, thats good. Location is good too, and not that hard to find as long as you keep your eyes open. Less than 5 minutes to everything.

Also, it is a very large hostel, so it seems that groups of students and the like tend to book in. We had about 50 schoolkids running around making a ton of noise and hogging the facilities. Also, the doors slam VERY loudly, and block almost no sound from the hallways and staircases--bring earplugs.

On the whole, it was not the most horrible place to be, but I would look for better next time.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becks19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

The location was nice and the staff friendly, but I was hoping it would be more family friendly and its definatly a single/young couples spot. Plus,as soon as we walked into the room I almost gagged because it smelled so strongly of urine. Everything was stained, including the the sheets with what looked like old blood and the bathrooms were in need of a seriouse scrubbing. We also couldnt get any sleep because of the rowdiness of the other guests and they sent people to our room in the middle of the night even though it was full.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sicily25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

This was one of the best hostels I have stayed in Ireland. Staff were amazing and so helpful. Free internet was great. Close to everything. Rooms were comfortable and clean. A really great place to stay in Killarney.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank italyfan98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2008

PROS:
Sheets and towel rental included.
Free parking in church parking lot down the street (10-minute walk) or on Sundays, almost on any street.
Grocery stores within 5-minute walking distance.
Centrally located to all the pubs and restaurants in town.
Shared kitchen and TV room.
Tours can be set up at the reception.
Great water pressure and as much hot water as you want

CONS:
Free WIFI but connection is slow and only decent in lobby.
1 computer to access in lobby (for a place of this size they should have at least 3) – there were always people waiting for it
Sparse breakfast for 2.50 euros for juice and toast/jam or for 3.50 euros to add cereal.
Filthy shower – needs major cleaning (mildew on walls, ceiling and in every tile and shower door crevice)

Stayed: June 2008
Thank Deltjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 39 in Killarney
748 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 39 in Killarney
582 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 39 in Killarney
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brook Lodge Hotel
Brook Lodge Hotel
#26 of 39 in Killarney
301 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#11 of 39 in Killarney
2,296 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptunes Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptunes Hostel

Address: Bishop's Lane | New Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Killarney
Price Range: $33 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheap, Cheerful, Clean and Green!! Low prices, friendly and knowledgable staff, all the amenities you could ask for, free breakfast, free internet/wi-fi, satellite TV, clean and secure, and now as green as the landscape around us. We have recently received a Silver rating from Green tourism, an organization dedicated to reducing our impact on the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Neptunes Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing