We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay in Killarney!”
Review of Neptunes Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Neptunes Hostel
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We ended up staying here for four nights and didn't regret it. They have a great relaxing lounge that is stocked with books, games, TV and fireplace that is actually really warm. We ended up making ourselves at home on the couch and while it rained we spent the days inside taking a brief break from 8 months of travel! They have bikes to rent for a good price. The location is perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tmingi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 354 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are big, clean and comfy. Beds are decent. Bathrooms are big and mostly clean but showers are weak and don't warm up until the end. Kitchen is well-equipped but gets crowded at meal times. Great location and nice staff.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank worldwearytraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

First time staying here, was with 3 of my best friends away for a weekend. We're in college so we wanted to go to killarney for the nightlife mostly, accommodation wise we were only looking for cheap and cheerful. My friend booked this hostel because she saw it on tripadvisor. We absolutely loved it, great facilities, perfect location and brilliant value. We were planning on staying in an 8 room dorm with strangers but on arrival we were told we had been upgraded to our own 4 bed, the beds were comfortable, the room was cosy and functional and the bathroom facilities were clean and also functional. The wifi was brilliant, the sitting room perfect with a big tv and sky channels, a computer and a huge kitchen. The nights out weren't great as it was the wrong season for killarney, it's more of a summer destination but we still enjoyed ourselves, the staff in the hostel were extremely helpful and accommodating especially our friend Pete/Jeff at the front desk from Newcastle, gave us free passes to the grand night club and was nothing but nice to us! We left planning our next trip back, and we'll be definetely be staying at neptunes!! An awesome find!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciaroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here more than once. Each time while traveling solo. I've made more friends here than any hostel in my European travels.

The staff is way friendly. The beds are comfortable. The tv room is not the only sitting area, so there is plenty of spots to sit and have a nice conversation with other guests.

The kitchen and eating area is BIG so multiple people can cook and eat at the same time. The kitchen is probably the cleanest of any hostel I've seen, as well.

It's off an alley so you have to keep an eye out for the signs. The GOOD thing about that is, it doesn't have the noise of the typical Main Street in Killarney. :-)

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank Vagabond-Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was a decent hostel to stay at- it was clean and the girl at the front desk was extremely nice and helpful. It's right in the town centre so accessible to everything with ease. The only complaint I would have is that you can only get wifi in the main areas and not in your room- however, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notallwhowandrrlost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Very clean, comfortable stay at this hostel. Staff were very friendly and happy to give advice and information. Very large yet cosy sitting room and the kitchen was also a very good size with plenty of equipment. There is also a bicycle shed with swipe
Access for customers for the cyclists. I would definitely recommend staying in this hostel

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicekeating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

All in all, a good little hostel. The location is good (it's walking distance to everything you'd need in Killarney), the staff are friendly, the beds and bathrooms are clean, comfortable and well-maintained. Not bad value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jen_Ni823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.7 mi away
Killarney Court Hotel
Killarney Court Hotel
#32 of 38 in Killarney
865 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brook Lodge Hotel
Brook Lodge Hotel
#23 of 38 in Killarney
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,513 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Heights Hotel Killarney
The Heights Hotel Killarney
#31 of 38 in Killarney
419 reviews
2.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptunes Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptunes Hostel

Address: Bishop's Lane | New Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Killarney
Price Range: $31 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheap, Cheerful, Clean and Green!! Low prices, friendly and knowledgable staff, all the amenities you could ask for, free breakfast, free internet/wi-fi, satellite TV, clean and secure, and now as green as the landscape around us. We have recently received a Silver rating from Green tourism, an organization dedicated to reducing our impact on the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Neptunes Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing