We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neptune's” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Neptunes Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Neptunes Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Neptune's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

On our Paddy wagon tour, we stopped over in Killarney and stayed here at Neptune's.The place was looked after, and clean to my eyes. We were lucky as our 8 bed dorm had an en-suite, though for 8 girls one mirror wasn't enough :)
The kitchen was huge and there was free wi-fi in the common.reception area.
A few small issues - not enough power points for us all, the pillows were as thick as a piece of paper and the showers (only 2) had no fan. I waked in there when others were showering, I could hardly breathe through all the steam and my glasses fogged up in seconds it was that bad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin-Shaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    119
    73
    19
    12
See reviews for
19
69
73
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I recently traveled Ireland with a group and we began our trip in Killarney. We arrived early and although our room was not ready yet, we were welcomed by Julia and offered to leave our luggage in the luggage room. We stayed in a low season of travel so it was rather quiet, but still a nice place located right in the center of Killarney. The room for six was a cozy with clean sheets and the bathroom was also in good condition. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for an inexpensive and home-like stay in Killarney.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meagan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed here one night as was going to visit INEC centre for concert. Nice english guy met me up on arrival and provided with upgrade as i booked cheapest rooms. thanks for that. hostel it self is nice and well located, just had interruptions of internet connection. this one needs to be improved. Located in great place unless you arrive with bus in Killarney from cork - in this case you have to take 30 mins walk.overall - would recommend and come back if needed,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BravoJohny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed in this hostel with my friend on new year`s eve, I was completely unimpressed. The kitchen was dirty and out of date and the rooms were small and lacking in hygiene. The bathrooms were communal for each floor, the crowd staying there on this particular night were loud and rude. I found the staff extremely obnoxious and at times hostile. I will certainly be returning to Killarney but I will not be giving my custom to Neptune again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

the location for Neptunes Hostel was perfect right in the middle of New st, staff very friendly and great advice. Hostel was clean and the kitchen was very big, also great group here and is cool when you are on your own, will be back. Killarney is a good town

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brandon456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Arrived Late in the Evening but the Staff where able to point me in the direction of where I could find a bit of Mid week Craic and sorted me out with some Promo vouchers for night spots in the Town. But I wasn't in Kerry for the Night Life, I was there on a mission to climb some mountains!All the staff of the Hostel where great with help and advice...My bed and room were very comfortable and social spaces were great..Breakfast was great to be included..The Coffee was Magic!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruairi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hostel was so cute! It has a huge kitchen and a helpful reception desk. The free computer use was awesome, and the brochures were good the look through for things to do during the day. The one downside I found was that there were way to many rooms per bathroom, but otherwise the bathrooms/bedrooms were very clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nalu06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Arbutus Hotel
Arbutus Hotel
#8 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptunes Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptunes Hostel

Property: Neptunes Hostel
Address: Bishop's Lane | New Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheap, Cheerful, Clean and Green!! Low prices, friendly and knowledgable staff, all the amenities you could ask for, free breakfast, free internet/wi-fi, satellite TV, clean and secure, and now as green as the landscape around us. We have recently received a Silver rating from Green tourism, an organization dedicated to reducing our impact on the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Neptunes Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing