We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of Neptunes Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Neptunes Hostel
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hostel was so cute! It has a huge kitchen and a helpful reception desk. The free computer use was awesome, and the brochures were good the look through for things to do during the day. The one downside I found was that there were way to many rooms per bathroom, but otherwise the bathrooms/bedrooms were very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nalu06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 359 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hostel offers a very nice, familiar atmosphere. The Staff will help you with any question you have and will quickly even know your name.
A bit stressy when full.

The best place to stay in Killarney- I ended up staying there for more than a week!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anke007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Neptune's is actually a very nice hostel. I was a little hesitant at first just because of the name, but it's clean and convenient. I stayed in a double ensuite for 3 nights and would gladly stay there again. There's a huge kitchen and dining room to accommodate all the guests. The staff is helpful and friendly. The rooms are a bit small though. There was hardly any room between beds and very little floor space for our packs but it was clean and the beds were comfortable. The ensuite bathroom was actually a decent size. It's in a good location albeit it's hard to find. It's down a little alley off the main street so I definitely passed by it a few times on my way there. Breakfast is basic: cereal, toast, milk, jam, tea and coffee.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Worthwhile. Close to Killarney town center, but still close to hiking trails and killarney national park. Many tours offered at the front desk. Staff is friendly and attentive, rooms are nice. Not super cheap by by no means expensive. Would defiantly come back.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mnr511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed here one night as part of the Shamrocker tour. I had a private it was like $40 a night. It had a bathroom attached to the room. It was very clean room. The location is good. Killarney is a very lively town even on a Monday night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My boyfirend and I stayed in the Neptunes hostel in late August. we booked through Booking.com and booked an en-suite, what we got was a double room with 2 big dips in either side of the bed (looked like it had not been replaced in 20 years) and a shower right in our room! no toilet facility, and had to share that with other travelers which we were not happy about. the room itself was ok on the clean side but our broken bed was right underneath a skylight and it had no curtains so at 6am we were awoken by blinding light. we were not happy about the 10am checkout either and would advise it be changed to 12pm.

Room Tip: do not book from booking.com ring the hostel personally and make sure u get the room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mion35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Just returned from a trip to Killarney. Stayed in the Neptune Hostel with my partner on the 5th September. As we wanted to tour kerry and see the sights, we opted for the cheaper option of staying in a Hostel rather than a Hotel. We booked a double ensuite room. We were extremely impressed with the Hostel, very friendly and helpful staff. The room was so clean and the shower was very good. It's in such an excellent location, with a free car park down the road. Would recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miamegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.7 mi away
Killarney Court Hotel
Killarney Court Hotel
#32 of 38 in Killarney
871 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Heights Hotel Killarney
The Heights Hotel Killarney
#30 of 38 in Killarney
428 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#22 of 38 in Killarney
1,519 reviews
2.8 mi away
Innisfallen Hotel
Innisfallen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fossa
57 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Black Sheep Hostel
The Black Sheep Hostel
#2 of 46 in Killarney
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptunes Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptunes Hostel

Address: Bishop's Lane | New Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Killarney
Price Range: $28 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheap, Cheerful, Clean and Green!! Low prices, friendly and knowledgable staff, all the amenities you could ask for, free breakfast, free internet/wi-fi, satellite TV, clean and secure, and now as green as the landscape around us. We have recently received a Silver rating from Green tourism, an organization dedicated to reducing our impact on the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Neptunes Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing