We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected hostel quality for price, well done”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Neptunes Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Neptunes Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Expected hostel quality for price, well done”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I rented a room for myself, which ended up being a bunk and a bed, but this was fine. Cheap and right in the middle of town, a little hard to find in a back alley but it is a small town. The door was hard to close and made a big slam whenever I came and left, sorry neighbors! Private attached bathroom was decent, had to get my own towl from downstairs. Common room is cozy with couches that are falling apart and which you can sink through to the springs on the right spot. Wifi in common area only. Breakfast area decent with cheap breakfast food. Friendly staff and well run.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon Barton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    121
    73
    19
    12
See reviews for
19
70
73
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I recently stayed here with some friends (we booked into the 8 bed dorm ensuite) for a Saturday night. The room and facilities cannot be faulted and it was nice to have a coffee in the morning, however, I was quite annoyed with the fact that we had to produce a cash deposit on top of paying for the room in advance (I appreciate the need for a deposit so I offered my laser card no. but they insisted on a cash deposit). Be warned there is a 3 am curfew if you stay here... although considering the fact that you need to check out by 10am the curfew at least guarantees some sleep!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariss O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here on our Shamrocker tour, and i had a private room. It was small with a double bed / single bunk bed on top, and even though I'm short I kept hitting my head on the low alcove ceiling getting when getting stuff out of my bag! I had a private bathroom which was clean and functional, although I had trouble getting a balanced shower temperature and scalded myself a little.

It was comfortable though, no wifi in the rooms but free wifi downstairs and a basic breakfast.

No complaints, just cheap and average but good location with cheerful staff.

Room Tip: Try not to get a corner alcove room and knock your head repeatedly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mangoss76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed here one night whilst on a Shamrock tour.

This is a budget hostel that did the job, though the six bed dorm was pretty small. A couple of roommates felt a bit claustrophobic, though for me it was fine.

Reception didn't seem to have enough swipe keys, so initially we had to share one key between 6 (and leave it at reception). A few hours later we had two keys between six. Luckily our tour had gotten to know each other a bit by then.

Common area had two couches and one computer. There were some tables outside too. Wifi was only available from common area.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sipe2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Staff was ridiculously friendly as helpful. They can book bus tours/horseback riding session from the reception desk at no extra charge! Also, they're pretty fun to talk to when you're hanging out in the lobby using the wifi.

Rooms were clean and comfortable. They try to spread people out during the off-season so my friend and I had a six-person room all to ourselves!

Kitchen was very useful and a good way to meet people when preparing meals. Neptune's is a five-minute walk from the train station and is located right across from a Tesco, perfect for saving on food during your stay.

Overall it's clean, comfortable, social, friendly, and affordable. I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSolomon311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This was my first time in a hostel and it was very good. The staff were friendly, very fair, the bouncer by night was a true gentleman, very kind. The only problem is that there were no mirror in one of the rooms, only a tiny little one too high for shorter people on the door. A largish group of us traveled for our friends birthday, and there were a few girls, so which mirrors were of course needed to get ready to go out that night. But luckily there was a large mirror in the hallway. Only one other problem, the curtains in the bedroom were very light so a lot of light was shining through, hard to sleep with, but luckily enough there was a large wooden devide in the room which was very handy and I could sleep very well. Lovely lovely hostel, lovely lovely people. Will definetly be staying there again

Room Tip: Room 117 has a wooden seperator, makes the room seem so much bigger, and is also great for privacy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aoife-Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed here June of last year. Rooms are fine wouldn't expect anything more for the price. Receptionist was a bit frosty not very welcoming. Ideal locatin for guys/girls getaway at a budget. I wouldn't go bringing the partner here for a romantic night away!! Can be noisy before you go out but by the time you come home no noise will be heard. Night porter is a good idea makes the place a bit safer, Nice chipper on the lane also. I'd stay again for the price

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 39 in Killarney
665 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
867 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
1,316 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.2 mi away
Arbutus Hotel
Arbutus Hotel
#11 of 39 in Killarney
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptunes Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptunes Hostel

Property: Neptunes Hostel
Address: Bishop's Lane | New Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheap, Cheerful, Clean and Green!! Low prices, friendly and knowledgable staff, all the amenities you could ask for, free breakfast, free internet/wi-fi, satellite TV, clean and secure, and now as green as the landscape around us. We have recently received a Silver rating from Green tourism, an organization dedicated to reducing our impact on the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Neptunes Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing