We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand for the price”
Review of Neptunes Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Neptunes Hostel
County Kerry, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Grand for the price”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed here June of last year. Rooms are fine wouldn't expect anything more for the price. Receptionist was a bit frosty not very welcoming. Ideal locatin for guys/girls getaway at a budget. I wouldn't go bringing the partner here for a romantic night away!! Can be noisy before you go out but by the time you come home no noise will be heard. Night porter is a good idea makes the place a bit safer, Nice chipper on the lane also. I'd stay again for the price

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    130
    74
    23
    13
See reviews for
27
73
75
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I stayed for 5 nights. It was just OK. When showering sometimes the water would start off freezing, then get scolding hot. The bathrooms weren't always clean and for some reason the toilets don't always flush. The staff members seem to leave the windows open a lot... when it's cold outside. The complimentary breakfast was nice and the fully stocked kitchen as well. I liked being able to use their computer, because I didn't have room to bring my laptop. The bedroom was clean and I don't have any complaints about it really. Maybe some new pillows? I had to fold mine in half. The staff were really helpful in helping me plan my Ring of Kerry tour and recommending hiking paths. There's a security guard at the entrance checking ID's at night, which made me feel pretty safe.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahuff805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Stayed just for the 1 night. The facilities at this hostel are nothing over the top. What's good about it is the location. Secretly placed just off the high street and in good location to lots of the bars and clubs in town. The room was clean and the beds also clean, only slight let down was the shower in our room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We booked a private double room with ensuite which upon arrival was found to be a double bunk bed with another single bed in the room. This would have been fine if james had not kept banging his head on the bed above. The room and bathroom were both clean and a reasonable size, though both rooms were very cold. There was plenty of hot water in the morning.

Continental breakfast consisted of bread, cereal and toast - I would recommend going for something heartier somewhere else. The staff appeared to be friendly and helpful and there is free wifi if you have a smartphone (though this only works on the ground floor).

The best thing about this hostel is the location. It is central for shops, bars and cafes which is ideal when you don't want miles to walk in the cold and rain. However, in terms of cost I felt that this was a little overpriced and a bed and breakfast would have been more value for money. But then, I'm not a hostel kind of girl ;-)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shilpaandjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Based on my room:
Twin single room (in a separate building from the main hostel) with only one functioning socket(only one plug worked) and only one window in the roof. Room kinda smelled strange as a result. No wifi or internet in this separate building.
Also have to share two bathrooms and two showers with 6 or 7 other rooms.

If you come here, basically try and get a room in the main building unless of course you want to dress for irish weather to use the internet and kitchen.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delta m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Fantastic location and very clean rooms. Staff are extremely helpful. Ensuites are very small but clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallguy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

It was a hostel, with a bed a shower and breakfast , perhaps a little overpriced.

Room was fine, bathroom a little tired, but no hot water in the morning was an absolute disgrace. A push button type shower, a reflection of the guests or the owners?

Superbly well equipped kitchen

I would be disappointed if this was the best Killarney had to offer

Room Tip: get one with a bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chapapski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
731 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,484 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,217 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
908 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brook Lodge Hotel
Brook Lodge Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptunes Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptunes Hostel

Property: Neptunes Hostel
Address: Bishop's Lane | New Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheap, Cheerful, Clean and Green!! Low prices, friendly and knowledgable staff, all the amenities you could ask for, free breakfast, free internet/wi-fi, satellite TV, clean and secure, and now as green as the landscape around us. We have recently received a Silver rating from Green tourism, an organization dedicated to reducing our impact on the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Neptunes Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing